We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, wonderful food”
Review of El Matador

El Matador
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: To all our clients we want to inform you that due the low season, from August 15th to September 31st, this restaurant opens its doors only with reservation of at least one day in advance and for groups of 4 or more people. If you already have a confirmed reservation within this time, do not worry, your reservation is still active, it will be a pleasure to receive it. Thank you! El Matador is the finest restaurant in San Jose, owned by a former Matador, Pablo Velez. It boasts Mediterranean Mexican dining. It is in a neighborhood next to the Nun's Hospital. Their Scallopine Marsala is to die for as well as the other items on the menu. Please add this restaurant to your list. I can't imagine why it hasn't been on there as we have been eating there for at least 3 or 4 years. This
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Walked in and wondered whether or not to stay because we were the only customers. The house was so beautiful with an outside garden and a pretty inside settingthat we stayed and we were thrilled that we did. There was a reasonable wine list. The menu prices were fair for Cabo. There was a $14 chicken dish and fillet mignon was $27. We had the shrimp and the fillet mignon and both were presented beautifully with wonderful sauces. Dessert was a Mexican Key Lime pie that was delicious. They even had decaf coffee. The service was wonderful. Go past San Jose to Pescador Street, make a left, continue one block past Banorte, make a left, go past Gucamayas and continue several blocks (the street curves right a little bit) until you see an old house with lights on in the garden. It is on the left side of the street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NYWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

We are preparing delicious surprises for next season! It would be wonderful to see you again! Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 447 of 475 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

Pablo Velez is indeed a former Matador turned chef. His restaurant has sublime food and impeccable service. There is a courtyard outdoors area, as well as indoor seating among beautiful paintings and Pablo's Matador items in display cases. With very little coaxing, he will demonstrate for you his art of the dance with his cape (bullfighting). Pablo also has a catering business for events and weddings. See matadorfoods@prodigy.net.mx for more info.
The restaurant can be hard to find the first time. The address is Paseo Marinos/Balandra & Portaviones, Col. El Chamizal, San Jose del Cabo, B.C.S. You will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LadyDi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Propietario at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

To five years after your visit and to twelve years of having opened our doors and this place continues being estimated as a secret in the middle of a residential zone. Thank you for not giving up in the search of better places for your stay in Cabo. Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Off the beaten path although it is well known to the locals and seasoned travelers. The food is fantastic and you are treated as though you are a personal guest of the owner. Worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 2fun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Propietario at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Wow! The time has passed from your first review, and is wonderful to see how we have grown since then. Always there are new things to surprise our customers and always you will be special guests to come as the first time. Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Propietario at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing