We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laid back”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tommy's Barefoot Cantina - CLOSED

Tommy's Barefoot Cantina
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Laid back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great place to eat for a laid back time. My wife and I danced barefoot on the patio while the catina owner's dog sauntered around looking for a handout.

Food was better than average.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wmarkdendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palouse, Washington, Usa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Flavorful Cantina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Used to be harder to get to the "New port" now called the Puerto Los Cabos. We have stopped mostly for lunches (comida) while traveling. Dorado (Mahi Mahi) items and other seafoods have been great lunches, well prepared in a very relaxed atmosphere watching boats come and go. A lot of attention is now focused on the Puerto Los Cabos. It'll be interesting to see how Tommy's changes or doesn't change! Still a very enjoyable place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ESMotteram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Barriles, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Baj-licious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

A cool, inviting place to eat and relax with a cold drink. Liked it the minute I walked in. Good prices, great food, stellar service. Even my dog had a menu. Stayed much longer than we had planned, always a good sign. Give it a try. Good job!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank corndoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Barefoot Cantina has great food and is dog friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Best Linguini Alferedo ever! Also, loved being able to take my dogs to the restaurant and they even had a menu. Great place, lots of fun!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arwinycabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great casual dining with free wifi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We made the short drive over to the Marina to see what was going on over there and to have some lunch at Tommy's because we had read some good reviews. So here is what we found:
1. The food is damn good. I had a chile relleno and my wife had fish tacos. Both were just great. We asked for spicier salsa and the waiter smiled and brought us some killer salsa. It was really the perfect accent for her tacos.
2. A great little bar with super happy hour prices and every tequilla I have ever heard of.
3. Free Wifi, just ask the waiter for the password.
4. A very friendly bar pooch who sat under our table durnig lunch and for the hour or so after that we linger over a couple more tequilla rickys.
5. The view of the Marina is pretty much being blocked by the construction of a new resort across the street. Once construction is done there might be some view again, but for now you must be content with the very attractive outdoor patio dining area.
6. Excellent service. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful.

It is about a ten minute drive from downtown over to the Marina. There is a fair amount of development going on around here. The streets have all been paved with landscaped medians and there is security guys posted all over. Some pretty amazing boats in the marina. So take a nice drive, enjoy a very relaxed meal and a good drink at Tommy's.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Barefoot Cantina also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing