We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Surprise Gem”
Review of Cabo Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabo Surf Hotel
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Surprise Gem”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We booked this hotel last minute for our last night's stay in Cabo. It exceeded our expectations! It was like our own little bungalow. Small, quaint and right on the beach. Surf boards, boogie boards, snorkel gear....you can rent it all at the hotel. (Although know that the beach is a little rocky here, but everyone continued to surf and boogie board.) The room was nice and quite spacious for the 4 of us. (even had a small fridge) The food was very good, but a bit expensive. We plan to return next year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2011cici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboSurfHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your feed back, We hope your stay met your expectations.

The right surf brake favors the non rocky side. To swim there is also a space on the left where only sand is found

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    43
    8
    5
    13
See reviews for
72
95
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at Cabo Surf Hotel last March, which is the end of the whale watching season and Spring Break.
We chose the hotel because we didn't want to be in a crazy club like pool scene OR have tons of young children around. Cabo Surf was the PERFECT choice. The hotel is small, maybe 40 rooms max, beautifully landscaped, and every room has a view of the water.
We ate at the hotel most mornings and enjoyed whale watching from our table, they had binoculars on some of the tables for the guests to use.
The hotel is not over priced. Drinks at dinner and poolside are roughly $7-$9, i believe my manicure/pedicure was under $50 at the spa and the paddleboard & surf rentals were very competitive.
Overall it was a perfect hotel. very pretty, quite, relaxing, clean, well appointed rooms, and great surf instructors.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad one there! I think the larger rooms are located closer to water but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CassiefromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboSurfHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review

Happy to heard that your stay was so pleasant. we are lucky to receive gray whale visit every year!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I had our wedding here back in the beginning of October. Everything was immaculate and went perfectly as planned thanks to the amazing hotel staff and especially Martha. She made us feel completely chill about everything and our entire party of 70 people has an amazing time. I can't say enough good things about the facilities, rooms, massages, surf, & Martha. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboSurfHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review and congratulations!
We love to be part of such an important day, i will share your feedback with all our Staff

See you on your fist aniversary

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My family just met with my sister's family for a week in Cabo - there were 9 of us all together with 5 kids between 10 and 14. Everyone in our group absolutely loved the Cabo Surf Hotel! The entire staff is incredibly attentive, kind, and friendly, the private beach is beautiful, the margaritas are outstanding, the food is delicious and fresh, the views are spectacular, and the pools are relaxing. We are already plotting our next escape back! As this was our first trip to Cabo, we decided to split our time between Cabo Surf and a large all inclusive. We spent the second half of our vacation at the big hotel wishing we were back at the blissful Cabo Surf Hotel. If you want a calm, relaxing, beautiful small hotel with a first rate staff and restaurant, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We had a third floor ocean view double room. The view was outstanding! Just make sure you are okay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkkcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This little hidden hotel is spectacular in so many ways. We didn't have the good fortune of staying our entire trip here, but the next time we definitely will. Each room is like a private casita, overlooking a beautiful beach with incredible views of the sea. The food is unparalleled in the area for those who just love the freshest fish, salads, lovely breakfast, and general good spirit of California meets Mexico. Surfing is great and done at all levels so no need to feel intimidated or made to feel out of place.

The rooms - which I had the chance to peek at - from small to casita - are lovely with wonderful little terraces, ocean views, gardens. A truly out of the way place and unexpectedly beautiful secret find.

My husband surfed while our 4 year old son and I played on the beach and had wonderful lunches and breakfasts. There's jazz and other events at night. We're definitely coming back as this is a truly authentic experience in Cabo away from all the commercialism and vastness of other properties. Something really special. Many people come from far and wide just to sit on the terrace restaurant for lunch, breakfast and dinner. A must stay if you haven't already.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the Casitas off to the right of the main building or ask for an ocean front/facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMLEYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Just returned from a two-week stay at the Cabo Surf Hotel. The hotel is very nice. We had a king shore room on the third floor. The bed was very comfortable, the food was good, and the staff were absolutely wonderful. Especially appreciated Jesus and Carlos and the woman who cleaned our room. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is too far from town to walk, but the bus stops right in front of the hotel. Besides surfing, the highlights of our trip were taking the water taxi to the arches with a stay at the beach, a wonderful meal at Flora Farms, and my husband's hang glider tour with Ernesto, who owns Cabo Sky Tours. Carlos got us a good deal on a car rental and we enjoyed driving around the area for three days. Found the driving conditions to be similar to the US - not like other Mexico locations we have visited. Although Cabo in general is more expensive than other Mexico destinations we have visited, we had a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieKodiak_Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The only boutique hotel on the Cabo San Lucas to San Jose del Cabo corridor, the Cabo Surf is a gem: small scale; attention to detail; brilliant location; superb pool; amazing restaurant; great views; outstanding service; spacious room.
A bit on the pricey side, but this aspect easily forgiven!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JBVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
#25 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mar Adentro Cabos
Mar Adentro Cabos
#27 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Surf Hotel

Property: Cabo Surf Hotel
Address: Playa Acapulquito Km 28 | Bahía Palmilla, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#21 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabo Surf Hotel is a boutique beach resort located on one of the most privileged beaches in Los Cabos: Acapulquito, also known as "Old Man's". The hotel was voted the 7th best kept secret, out of 21, from Elle Magazine, and was listed in Lucky Magazine as one of the editor’s “no-apologies splurges”. The soothing sounds of rolling waves are heard all around the resort for our guests to enjoy.The quaint 36 rooms, seafood restaurant (the 7 Seas), and day spa (Sea spa & salon), face an ocean cove and sandy beach with rock formations and light jade green waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cabo Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabo Surf
Cabo Surf Hotel Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing