We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Decompression Surf Spot”
Review of Cabo Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cabo Surf Hotel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent four days here in Early May just to relax. never left the hotel grounds for the first few days. Very nice rooms, nice ambiance, and we hit the surf just right and got in about 6 hours a day right in front of the hotel. Staff could not have been any nicer and the food was excellent. Would highly recommend to anyone. Was just the wife and I and no kids. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roaddog949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you! I will share with our front desk, restaurant, kitchen and housekeeping members!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Cabo Surf Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 272 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently stayed at Cabo Surf for a week and had our wedding on the property with about 60 guests in attendance. As soon as we stepped on the property we were taken back with the level of service and attention to detail. We were blown away with how beautiful, quaint and clean the grounds were. The staff was so helpful and fun to be around, they remembered our names and welcomed us with a warm smile every time we ran into them. Our wedding coordinator, Martha, was wonderful to work with, she brought our vision to life flawlessly and went the extra mile to ensure our day was perfect. Our guests all raved about the food, fish tacos and french toast were the biggest hits! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The shore villas are worth the price, large rooms with a glass wall that slides open to the ocean
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJB412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you shared your experience. We were happy to accommodate and do our best for your wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Cabo and we decided to stay at three different hotel/resorts.
The first stop was the Cabo Surf. We stayed two nights and didn't want to leave.
Ultimately, this was our favorite of the three hotels we stayed in.

When we first landed at SJD airport, it can be a bit confusing looking for your ride. We booked transportation through the hotel, but unfortunately there was a mixup and we had to wait an hour or so before we got picked up. I thought this might be a back omen, but there is a bar right outside the airport serving Corona's, so we relaxed a while. Once the ride arrived, it was roughly a 25 minute drive to the Cabo Surf. When you pull in the gate you can't help but notice the waves crashing onto the surf. We were led up a path to the front desk. Our room was ready and a bellman carried our bags to our room. The property isn't made for the clumsy. The stairs are steep, there are slopes and inclines all over.

Once we arrived in our room, our jaws hit the floor at the beautiful views out the floor to ceiling sliding windows. We opened the screen door which led to the patio and there was a great breeze that filled the room. At night you can hear the ocean crashing onto the shore. It was a great sound to sleep to. The bathroom had a large, walk-in shower with good water pressure. Our room had a fridge which proved valuable for all the bottled water we stored. There is a grocery store called Mega about 2 miles down the road (only option is a cab), otherwise you can purchase a liter bottle of Evian for $9.

The grounds have two infinity like pools with attached jacuzzi's. Roughly 20 steps down and you are on the beach. The ocean was nice to put your feet and ankles in, but seemed a bit risky for swimming in. They offer onsite surf lessons as well. My wife used the spa for a pedicure and milk bath and was extremely happy.
The restaurant (7 Seas) offers breakfast/lunch/dinner. We ate all of our meals here and were not disappointed.

The clientele seemed to be more focused towards families and couples. By 10pm the resort was basically shut down. We went hot tubbing one night at 11p and there wasn't a sole to be found.

Room Tip: We had a shore villa with King bed. It faces the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trifocal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comment. You grasp the idea behind our small hotel philosophy. Big enough to provide full services but small to be comfortable. I will check on that transportation glitch. Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We recently spent a night and 2 days at the hotel. The rooms were gorgeous, with amazing views of the ocean, and in one room we had a sunken bath I could have swum in. We managed to have breakfast, lunch and dinner there, never feeling motivated to leave and eat elsewhere. The food was great, with a good selection to please everyone in our group. The breakfast with fresh smoothies and a view of the ocean was a highlight. . The staff in the restaurant were friendly and attentive, however this wasn't matched by the pool side service. We struggled to get dry towels or our drink order taken, however on balance these are minor complaints on what was a lovely stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. It keeps us motivated. The towels and pool service should be up to par with the rest of our services. We will look into it. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Truth be told, I had given up on Cabo a few years ago. I've been a bunch of times and it seemed the same year after year - full of drunk college kids, Sammy Hagar wannabes and tourist kitsch. When a girls' trip was being planned, Cabo was not my first choice. Given that the weather is almost always nice and I love a good margarita, I decided to go along with the idea.

My group picked the hotel so I came to the property fairly blind. Before the trip, I looked at the website and it seemed plenty alright. The website does not do this place justice! I was truly surprised. This place is REALLY nice!!! Seriously, the website and reviews don't do it justice. It's a small hotel on the San Jose side of Los Cabos (and not the Cabo side, which was a plus for me), offering only about 36 rooms and villas. It's small and quaint, but doesn't skimp on amenities or service.

I had a king villa room, with panoramic and up close views of the ocean. There is a roomy deck - a great spot to enjoy the sounds of the surf and the superclose ocean views. The bed was really comfortable -nice pillows and great linens. The bathroom was spacious and well-equipped with a roomy travertine shower. An in-room coffee maker and speedy, friendly room service was icing on this tasty cake.

There are two pool areas, with plenty of comfy loungers and fabulous views. There is no "get up early to put your towel on a chair" problem here. Plenty of space for all to enjoy. In fact, in the upper level pool, our group had the place and the infinite pool view to themselves during a time when the hotel was SOLD OUT! The upper level pool features a hot tub with spectacular views and lots of peace and quiet. The lower pool is closer to the bar/restaurant and plays low key music (think Bob Marley and Jack Johnson) throughout the day. Really relaxing.

There is a great restaurant offering tasty drinks, great food (with plenty of healthy options) for reasonable prices. Seriously, the restaurant food was really good. The workout room is small, but adequate. Mostly what impressed me, however, were the grounds. There is a ton of detail in the stone work, the finishes and the details. The beach was fairly private with relatively few salesman. The beach is actually swimmable (rare in Cabo) and there is a really nice surf break right in front of the hotel. Whether you like to get in the water and have a go yourself, or just watch the surfers and paddleboarders do their thing, it's really nice. The staff was polite and friendly and extraordinarily helpful. They made this utterly beautiful place feel homey and charming.

The hotel is a short 15-20 minute ride from the airport. There is not much within walking distance, so if you want to experience the town or try different restaurants, you'll have to cab it. We ate at Flora Farms (a farm-to-table place in a really pretty farm setting with live music and a great bar) and the Drunken Sailor (super casual palapa hut with really good ceviche, fish tacos and cold beers) and I'd recommend both. The town of San Jose was a nice change from Cabo - nary a drunken college kid in sight.

In short, this spot is a great choice for the more mature traveler who wants all of the beauty and charm of Mexico minus the spring break vibe.

Room Tip: The villas are worth the extra money as the view is pristine.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you! this is a great compliment and a good argument to pass it on to property owners that they did good in not putting a tower on this beautiful ocean cove. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Recently spent a weekend here for a friend's destination wedding.
Cabo Surf is a boutique hotel right on the beach - just 35 rooms are so. Great for a small-med wedding. It seemed like almost all the rooms had an ocean view- there might have been just a few that were garden view.

Location: On hotel corridor about 10 minutes from San Jose Del Cabo.

Room- We stayed in a junior villa. 2 queens and a sofa sleeper. Huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub. Mini-fridge. Spacious enough for groom and 5 groomsmen to get ready in. My only issue with the room was the toilet- broke multiple times.

Hotel grounds- well groomed. One main pool and a smaller "quiet pool" on the other side of the hotel.

Beach- surfer's beach. Surfboards and paddle boards avail for rent. Lessons avail. Minimal people on beach trying to sell you stuff.

Food- pretty good. Standard boutique hotel prices.

Value- a little pricey but Cabo tends to be expensive. We were also there during Ironman so that might have contributed.

Overall- highly recommended for a relaxing weekend especially if you're interested in surfing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for the review. As an add-on to your comment, we put promotions on less busy months such as January, February, first half of March, August, September and October. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently got married at the Cabo Surf and everything was absolutely perfect. The 7 Seas restaurant is amazing. I'm still dreaming about the shrimp ceviche! The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The spa is small, but the hot stone massage was a perfect pre-wedding treat. The hotel itself is located on a great surf beach, perfect for paddle boarding or surfing. The rooms were spacious and we woke to an incredible ocean view. We've stayed at a number of Cabo/San Jose hotels, and this is our absolute favorite. If you are looking for a boutique hotel, Cabo Surf is a "must book". We will be back!

Room Tip: We had room #27. Great view and part of the newer remodel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophdyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

We are flattered to read your review. We love to host weddings and more so with groups that enjoy every moment of their time in Cabo Surf. Thank you, I will pass it on to our staff. Looking forward to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
#28 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
261 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#19 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,754 reviews
2.7 mi away
Baja Point
Baja Point
#18 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Surf Hotel

Address: Playa Acapulquito Km 28 | Bahía Palmilla, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $338 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabo Surf Hotel is a boutique beach resort located on one of the most privileged beaches in Los Cabos: Acapulquito, also known as "Old Man's". The hotel was voted the 7th best kept secret, out of 21, from Elle Magazine, and was listed in Lucky Magazine as one of the editor’s “no-apologies splurges”. The soothing sounds of rolling waves are heard all around the resort for our guests to enjoy.The quaint 36 rooms, seafood restaurant (the 7 Seas), and day spa (Sea spa & salon), face an ocean cove and sandy beach with rock formations and light jade green waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cabo Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabo Surf
Cabo Surf Hotel Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing