We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful boutique hotel in Cabo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabo Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabo Surf Hotel
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel in Cabo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Recently spent a weekend here for a friend's destination wedding.
Cabo Surf is a boutique hotel right on the beach - just 35 rooms are so. Great for a small-med wedding. It seemed like almost all the rooms had an ocean view- there might have been just a few that were garden view.

Location: On hotel corridor about 10 minutes from San Jose Del Cabo.

Room- We stayed in a junior villa. 2 queens and a sofa sleeper. Huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub. Mini-fridge. Spacious enough for groom and 5 groomsmen to get ready in. My only issue with the room was the toilet- broke multiple times.

Hotel grounds- well groomed. One main pool and a smaller "quiet pool" on the other side of the hotel.

Beach- surfer's beach. Surfboards and paddle boards avail for rent. Lessons avail. Minimal people on beach trying to sell you stuff.

Food- pretty good. Standard boutique hotel prices.

Value- a little pricey but Cabo tends to be expensive. We were also there during Ironman so that might have contributed.

Overall- highly recommended for a relaxing weekend especially if you're interested in surfing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for the review. As an add-on to your comment, we put promotions on less busy months such as January, February, first half of March, August, September and October. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    42
    8
    5
    13
See reviews for
71
94
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently got married at the Cabo Surf and everything was absolutely perfect. The 7 Seas restaurant is amazing. I'm still dreaming about the shrimp ceviche! The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The spa is small, but the hot stone massage was a perfect pre-wedding treat. The hotel itself is located on a great surf beach, perfect for paddle boarding or surfing. The rooms were spacious and we woke to an incredible ocean view. We've stayed at a number of Cabo/San Jose hotels, and this is our absolute favorite. If you are looking for a boutique hotel, Cabo Surf is a "must book". We will be back!

Room Tip: We had room #27. Great view and part of the newer remodel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophdyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
We are flattered to read your review. We love to host weddings and more so with groups that enjoy every moment of their time in Cabo Surf. Thank you, I will pass it on to our staff. Looking forward to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
349 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

On a recent business trip to the area this was the hotel that was picked. The location is marginal and a bit tight but the grounds are well keep. The beach is somewhat secluded from the public and thus less cowarded but never the less well used. The rooms are spacious and clean, there are two sections, the older portion looks over the parking lot which makes it a bit noisy, especially for the price. There is a view but with people coming in and out not comfortable to just sit and gaze. The other section looks over the ocean and offers a grand sight. Seeing the whales was easy and a treat.
The spa is small while offering solid value and service, well worth the time. The on-site resturant had good service but the food was hit and miss, nothing special and actually rather blaw. Overall it was enjoyable but the value was NOT there, thus making it average at best.

Room Tip: If you do have breakfast stick with the fruit and yogurt and ask for additional yogurt when you orde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in November in order to take a couple days surfing and relax. I had heard the restaurant on the hotel grounds was good, and very popular. I had booked a junior suite, but upon viewing the room (roomy, but partial ocean view/ partial parking lot view), I decided to upgrade to a shore villa. The shore villa room is on the eastern wing of the hotel, which looks newer, and has a shared balcony with a full ocean view. It also has a separate pool and bathroom area, which is more private a quiet than the larger pool area. Very nice room, spacious, with a nice ,big, doorless walk in shower. Has a large flat screen tv, sink and refrigerator area. GREAT VIEWS. About 500 sq. ft.
The facilities in the hotel are very nice, they have a small workout room, surf lessons and surf shop, and an excellent restaurant. The parking lot is security gated, and it appeared they only let guests drive in with a car, so day visitors to the surf school and restaurant have to park outside. The spa facilities were very nice and very reasonable for a one hour deep-tissue massage.
The surf school operators are excellent and the enclosed beach area is great for beginners. There is also an area slightly to the east,and accessible from the hotel 'The Roca' or the rock, where the waves are bigger. Lessons are reasonable and the instructors are very generous with their time.
The Seven Seas restaurant has great food, an excellent view of the ocean, and the staff is very friendly and attentive. Room service food is also served from the restaurant. Several people i met on the airplane and in Cabo mentioned the restaurant as a great place to eat and well known.
Apparently, the hotel is very popular for weddings, and I can see why. It is a full service facility, and can be very private, if entirely booked out like it was the week before I got there. They even have a large separate dining room with an ocean view for large parties.
Overall, a very nice experience. I'd definitely recommend booking one of the villa rooms, if you are looking for a great view, or an ocean room or junior suite if you are looking to save money.

Room Tip: choose a villa room for a newer room with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently had our wedding at the Cabo Surf Hotel this February. It exceeded all our expectations. We initially sought out a boutique hotel where most of our guests could stay together and ended up renting out almost the entire place. It felt like a private resort with all of our wedding guests hanging out around the pools and down by the beach. During the day, there was surfing and paddle boarding, At night we had a bonfires on the sand. We had 125 guests on the wedding day which is on the larger side and the staff handled everything beautifully.

The service is amazing, personable, and relaxed. Despite being close to the airport, the hotel feels off the beaten path as it is removed from the chaos of Cabo San Lucas.

Food was good. Rooms were immaculate. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a laid back more personal experience as an alternative to the many all inclusives in the area.

Room Tip: Ocean rooms only have a partial ocean view and Shore villas have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Decided to take a chance on staying at this hotel, the reviews were all good. Had a great experience. I booked a deluxe ocean room, we had a slight ocean view but next to parking lot and the street noise kept me awake at night. I talked with the manager to switch. No problem and had a few choices. Very happy to help. Great room. So when booking be aware of this. Staff all friendly and helpful. Surf school offers rentals of all types. The restaurant is very reasonable and great food.Whenever we asked for something not on the menu it was no problem. We stayed here the beginning of Feb. I hear it gets crazy busy but it was the perfect time to stay. I would highly recommend this small hotel over the big ones. Can't wait to go back

Room Tip: the front of the hotel, room 21 was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoast_Girl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Did I even need to write yet another glowing review of the Cabo Surf Hotel? It seems that the tribe has spoken - and it absolutely lives up to all the accolades.

We got married here this past November and from the start, I knew we had made the right decision. The Cabo Surf is the antithesis of sprawling, anonymous all inclusive resorts rampant in Cabo. Rather, it is boutique, personal and all class. The staff is beyond amazing - accommodating, tireless in service and charm, and as one reviewer put it recently on here, you felt like family. Our wedding was flawless and our guests felt so well taken care of and content that many said they would be back for their own stay. The foods, the pools, the surfers out front to watch while you sip a nice, strong margarita made with love - I wouldn't have changed one thing. I had a massage on my wedding day and it was one of the best I have had. I was sad to leave. I could go on and on, but go see for yourself. While a bit steep room price wise, I never regretted it once there. The value lies in the experience you get once you arrive. I will most definitely be back. One word - amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VanBC_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, General Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and choosing us for your memorable event. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Costa Azul
Casa Costa Azul
#19 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#12 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#9 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mar Adentro Cabos
Mar Adentro Cabos
#29 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Surf Hotel

Property: Cabo Surf Hotel
Address: Playa Acapulquito Km 28 | Bahía Palmilla, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#21 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabo Surf Hotel is a boutique beach resort located on one of the most privileged beaches in Los Cabos: Acapulquito, also known as "Old Man's". The hotel was voted the 7th best kept secret, out of 21, from Elle Magazine, and was listed in Lucky Magazine as one of the editor’s “no-apologies splurges”. The soothing sounds of rolling waves are heard all around the resort for our guests to enjoy.The quaint 36 rooms, seafood restaurant (the 7 Seas), and day spa (Sea spa & salon), face an ocean cove and sandy beach with rock formations and light jade green waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cabo Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabo Surf
Cabo Surf Hotel Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing