We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabo Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabo Surf Hotel
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Cabo Surf Hotel was a perfect respite for fun on the beach surfing and moderately upscale, comfortable and generous rooms. You'll love the showers. The dining overlooking the ocean was scenic at every point in the day...breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ate two dinners at Seven Seas and were delighted by the excellent food and just tirelessly friendly, warm and enjoyable staff. We also found being positioned close to Cabo San Jose and on the way to Cabo San Lucas worked for our active family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, General Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Gracias, I will share with our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    42
    8
    5
    13
See reviews for
71
94
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Boutique hotel. Great restaurant on the premises. So you can spend the whole day by one of the two gorgeous pools or on the beach which is just steps from the hotel. The rooms are quite beautiful (I stayed in the new wing) and look much nicer than the hotel's pictures. The staff is super, friendly and smart. Jesus, at the front desk, was great in his advice. I will definitely return. This is a special place with gorgeous views.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsdeWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, General Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you!

Boutique hotel. Great restaurant on the premises. So you can spend the whole day by one of the two gorgeous pools or on the beach which is just steps from the hotel. The rooms are quite beautiful (I stayed in the new wing) and look much nicer than the hotel's pictures. The staff is super, friendly and smart. Jesus, at the front desk, was great in his advice. I will definitely return. This is a special place with gorgeous views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

My now husband & I first went to the Cabo Surf Hotel in August 2011 to surf at Old Man's while we were at a wedding in Cabo San Lucas. We loved the atmosphere of the hotel and the friendly attitudes of all the staff. When we started planning our November 2012 wedding we knew just the place! Their Wedding Coordinator, Martha, was unbelievable in her ability to help us keep as close as possible to our budget but still have the style of wedding we were after. I am still amazed at how everything turned out and there was not one ounce of stress through the entire event week. Our guest all raved about how wonderful the staff treated everyone and there was not one detail missed. Everyone loved the food too! The staff at Cabo Surf Hotel are all increadibly amazing people. We will forever be grateful for all they helped us with during our wedding and making it a truly memorable experience. Oh, and of course the rooms, pools and grounds are beyond amazing! We will absolutely be going back to surf and relax at Cabo Surf Hotel for years to come.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new section and had unbelievable views but ours didn't have a jacuzzi on the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, General Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Jamie and Andrew, we feel the same way too. Being part of your wedding memories was fun and gratifying, thank you for giving us the opportunity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Cabo Surf is a beautiful property in a great location! Well maintained, excellent service, really nice rooms, and a killer view no matter where you are in the hotel. Jesus and Flavia at the front desk were awesome. The food at the restaurant was very good, and again, service was excellent. Everyone we met in Mexico was very friendly.

We stayed 12/2 to 12/12. During this time of year, the waves in front of the hotel are not that good for surfing, but the paddleboarding was great! Surf shop has good selection of boards. My husband is a surfer and I am not, yet this hotel was perfect for us. I could take pictures of him surfing from one of two infinity pools where I was hanging out. Would love to go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing have a "wall" of glass doors that completely open to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TandP2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, General Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Heartfelt thank you for your kind words and support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Quiet, elegant, great service, amazing front desk people. 4 men on a guys week you would not think would like this kind of non party place but we did. If you want to have some partying fun it's no problem but head into cabo. Food, surfing and rooms were all excellent. I love the small boutique hotels and this is a great one. The views are great from every room and the ocean was our front yard.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FidelCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, General Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for visiting and having a good time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

You can be in the water within 30 minutes of landing at the Los Cabos airport. This hotel sits in front a forgiving break that goes both ways. Impeccable and discrete service, very nice food, large selection of rental boards at the hotel surf shop. Pretty much a little slice of heaven. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveSmithPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, General Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you!

You can be in the water within 30 minutes of landing at the Los Cabos airport. This hotel sits in front a forgiving break that goes both ways. Impeccable and discrete service, very nice food, large selection of rental boards at the hotel surf shop. Pretty much a little slice of heaven. Can't wait to go back

Stayed October 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our family of 6 arrived cabo san lucas on carnival cruise and wanted to go surfing. there is nothing offered through the ship. Did research and found we could take a taxi from the Marina to Cabo Surf Hotel we paid $35 each way. beautiful little crescent beach a little rocky but not bad. Can rent boards, take lessons have lunch. Was fabulous. Beginner to excellent surfers and paddle boarders. a photographer comes over from Costa Azul to take pics. Definitely have him take pics of your group he is amazing!! He downloads and burns a disc of all photos. We paid $60 and well worth it. Can rent umbrellas,lounge chairs, order food and drinks on the beach.
Daughter in law afraid of the water took a lesson and got up immediately! They make sure you are having a good time. Super cool guys. One of our group just swam didn't want to get out of the water. More info on the Cabo Surf Hotel site. It was so great we went back the next day and did it all again. Had terrific Lunch too.
If you've been to Cabo and want to get away from the scene this is for you.
Was so great we came back the next day.
If you want to do something different, do this

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earthbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabosurfhot, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
We are blessed to be around on this little paradise. Daniela our beach photographer is back to take your surf shots and save them to a usb stick. You will see her by the umbrella on the beach in front of the board rentals and surf school. If not, ask our instructors for her. Thank you for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Costa Azul
Casa Costa Azul
#19 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#12 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#9 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mar Adentro Cabos
Mar Adentro Cabos
#29 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Surf Hotel

Property: Cabo Surf Hotel
Address: Playa Acapulquito Km 28 | Bahía Palmilla, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#21 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabo Surf Hotel is a boutique beach resort located on one of the most privileged beaches in Los Cabos: Acapulquito, also known as "Old Man's". The hotel was voted the 7th best kept secret, out of 21, from Elle Magazine, and was listed in Lucky Magazine as one of the editor’s “no-apologies splurges”. The soothing sounds of rolling waves are heard all around the resort for our guests to enjoy.The quaint 36 rooms, seafood restaurant (the 7 Seas), and day spa (Sea spa & salon), face an ocean cove and sandy beach with rock formations and light jade green waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cabo Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabo Surf
Cabo Surf Hotel Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing