We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Tour was wonderful!”
Review of Land's End Tours

Land's End Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.98*
and up
Los Cabos Combo Tour: Glass-Bottom Boat Ride, City Sightseeing and Shopping...
More Info
$74.98*
and up
Todos Santos and Pescadero Combo Tour from Los Cabos: City Sightseeing and...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our Land and Sea Tours are the perfect way to discover the different aspects of Los Cabos like its art, culture, history, flora, fauna, legends, flavors, photogenic sights - above and below the sea - in a small group with a personable tour guide, while our experienced photographer who is familiar with the region and who knows the best places to shoot, will capture your experience in beautiful photos for FREE, making your visit to Los Cabos truly memorable!
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Excellente! Dennis was a fantastic guide! very knowledgeable and entertaining. Learned a lot and had fun! Definitely a wonderful way to see both Cabos!!

Thank cg648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandsEndTours, Owner at Land's End Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear cg648,

We are very pleased to read that you have had a wonderful time in San José del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas during your Photo City Tour Los Cabos, and that you have learned a lot in a very entertaining way from our guide Dennis. Hope to welcome you on one of our other Photo Tours the next time!

Best regards,

Customer Service
Land´s End Tours
Los Cabos, B.C.S., México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Land's End Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 323 of 374 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

As tourist we expect companies who are bringing us on tours are taking our money, and giving us what we see and described on the according to their website. Because there was NO other information regarding this tour, we expected to see greenery, waterfalls, and others that are seen in pictures of their site. The description on the site was not very informative because it did not state the experience of the hike, what was the ACTUAL HIKE LIKE, rather than what you see, and the VERY HOT WEATHER that causes suffocation in your breathing.

With a group of 8, it took 1.5 hours to get to the destination, when we first arrived at the location of the hike, it was deserted. There were only farm animals there, no human person in site., when we were told that we would have to pay a $6 entrance fee. The restroom were not flushing, basically a place no one was visiting.

We ignored that and assume that our tour guide Dennis was gonna take us to the right place. We started walking, it was DRY, the roads were STEEP, ROCKY, and NARROW. Really hard to hike through especially in weather that is that HOT. After we reached view of our first waterfall, it was nothing we expected. THERE WAS NO WATERFALL, it was dried up, DIRTY WATER that had ALOT of algae floating in it. NOTHING WHAT IT LOOKED LIKE ON PICTURES. According to Dennis who hasn't taken the hiking tour in SEVEN YEARS, that the waterfall was running "LAST WEEK." We stated that this NOTHING WHAT WE EXPECTED and HE DIDNT DENY ANYTHING. After, he gave us 2 options, one was to hike down to see that dried up, dirty, "so called" waterfall, or two to hike up and see another waterfall. We all decided to hike up, because we did not want to walk down there to see a dirty pond and having to hike back up. BUT, Dennis did not listen to us, he guided us down the hike to the so called waterfall that we did not want to see. It was dry and there was NOTHING GREEN in site. Most of the group was already getting sick at this point, and my cousin started to throw up. I was experiencing short of breath, and on the verge of throwing up, and so did my sisters.

We did not get why Dennis would guide us to a place we did not want to see, it was like HE PURPOSELY BROUGHT US TO A POND TO TAKE UP TIME AND TO MAKE TIME FOR THE MORE DISAPPOINTMENT AHEAD.
We had to end this tour way early because of the DANGEROUS situation the hike was.

When we started to book for this tour ahead of time, which was more than a week ahead of time, the hike listed on THEIR SITE specifically stated NOT AVAILABLE, so i don't get why they let us booked. ALSO, if the waterfall was dried up, they should've let us known, we would have been happily to cancel this tour, but they did not do that. They just took the money and gave us an experience of a lifetime, A EXPERIENCE THAT TOOK HALF OF OUR LIVES!

We are glad we did not include our parents in this hike, because you would not expect them to get out of it as safely as we could, with the weather and the hard to walk roads, ANYONE can SLIP off the mountain.

OVERALL, THIS WAS THE WORST TOUR I HAD MY WHOLE TRIP TO CABO. I would recommend others not to take this tour because you will be in for a BIG SURPRISE, reading from what their "PRECISE" description was. We thank Dennis for taking care of our cousin when she was on the verge of getting really sick, but other than that, THIS TOUR WAS A TOTAL SCAM.

FYI: WE ONLY TIPPED DENNIS BECAUSE HE USED HIS OWN MONEY TO BUY US DRINKS AND TAKE CARE OF HER. SO BASICALLY THE MONEY WAS NOT FOR THE EXPERIENCE OR THE HIKE, BUT MORE LIKE FOR THE DRINKS.

2  Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Well worth the Price! The guide was friendly and very knowledgeable. He kept the group moving but without making us feel rushed.

Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandsEndTours, Owner at Land's End Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Stephen D,

Thank you for recommending our Photo City Tour Los Cabos to the TripAdvisor community. We hope to receive you the next time you are here in Los Cabos for another Photo Tour.

Best regards,

Customer Service
Land´s End Tours
Los Cabos, B.C.S., México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Dennis - good
Hiking Tour - really bad
Office Customer Service - poor

We are a group of 8 that went on their photo hiking touring today. It was NOTHING like what they advertised on their website. It was a 1.5 hour drive there and we arrived at a completely deserted location with extreme high heat. Not a single soul in sight aside from some random animals in cages.

On our hike, it was nothing but rocks and manure. When we got to the waterfall, it was completely dried out and appeared to have been dried for months. There was no flora or fauna like advertised on their website, no greenery, no shade, nothing. I mentioned several times that this was not what we were promised from the website. No answer. After about half hour, members of our group started feeling ill from the heat and I myself threw up several times. We turned around to head back to our hotel which was of course another 1.5 hours back. Our entire day was wasted. If we had gotten to see what we were promised we would it would have at least been somewhat worth the suffering but it was not.

On our way back, Dennis the guide did his best to make sure I was okay but did not explain or apologize regarding why the tour was NOTHING like advertised. In fact, on the tour when asked, he said he had not been there for years. I called the office and spoke with Shirley to voice my complaints because we definitely did not get our moneys worth. Instead of discussing what they could do for us, she kept talking about a group that went last week and had no issues and how they cannot control the weather and had the nerve to say we already had a discount when first booked (so because we had a discounted, we could not have a real tour?) OUR COMPLAINT IS NOT ABOUT THE WEATHER and I do not care about what happened last week. I care about what happened today with my family. We understand that they have no control over the weather but we as clients and tourists relied on them as a local company to let us know if the weather would not be appropriate for a hike and if the tour would not be as advertised. I mean... You wouldn't send a boat of people into a storm right?

We relied on them as professionals to make sure that they provide what was advertised or at least notify us if it was to change so we could have an option to not go. Shirley also made us wait half an hour and then call back after we talked. When we did, she told me that the manager, Larry, was not available until Tue and could not handle our issue right now. Well why did I have to call back? Why didn't she tell us this in the first place. Poor customer service on her part.

Before I booked, I saw on their website that the tour is "temporarily not available" but did not know why. I emailed to ask if they would be able to take us in June and they confirmed yes. I trusted that the tour would be as described on the website.

This whole tour/situation feels like a scam. We had a good City Tour with them and Dennis on Thursday and thought we could trust them to provide another good but unfortunately it was a total disappointment and 5 hours of our day wasted.

Overall, Dennis is a great tour guide but this tour did not meet any expectations of what was sold and the fact that we cannot get the issue resolved appropriately further adds to our disappointment.

I will update TripAdvisor once I hear back from Larry regarding how they will handle our issue.

1  Thank AZ704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandsEndTours, Propietario at Land's End Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Amy Zhen:

You booked and paid for (except for the entrance fee of 6 USD p.p., 48 USD in total for your group of 8 people) the PHOTO HIKING TOUR DESERT OASIS. This hiking tour was offered to you as described on our website. We simply invite you to actually read the precise description on the website; so without making any assumptions, as we cannot be hold responible for that. Please find below some generally accepted defenitions of a Hiking Tour, Oasis and Desert:

HIKING TOUR: a guided outdoor activity which consists of an extended walk in a natural environment.
OASIS: a fertile green spot in a desert or wasteland, made so by the presence of water.
DESERT: a barren, desolate and dry area with high temperatures and sparse vegetation.

Your HIKING TOUR (NOT waterfall tour) took place on a totally SAFE TRAIL made by the local community and under supervision of the Federal Mexican Government in a Natural Protected Area (NPA).
The OASIS could be found inside this NPA. The greenery you mentioned would have been visited after your hiking tour in the small town of Santiago, however, as you wanted to leave we were not able to show this to you.
The Desert FAUNA was there; there were animals both inside (e.g. skins) as outside the cages (e.g. lizards, turtles, birds). You even mentioned the manure; a proof there is wildlife.
The Desert FLORA was there; there were several types of cacti, agave plants, palm trees and you were even in the shade of a wild fig.
So with respect with the Desert in the NPA, this one was in its NORMAL CONDITIONS for the time of the year concerning both the flora as fauna, and temperature (after all, a desert is a HOT place).
As a proof all these aspects were there, we have sent you some pictures which were taken by Dennis in the short time (30 minutes) before he had to take care of you. Of course, if we would have done the complete hiking tour, much more pictures could have been taken from the available flora, fauna, and greenery.

As we explained you during and after the tour, you suffered a BODY OVERHEATING, unfortunately a very personal situation, which could not be prevented by us. A common sign in the process of overheating is vomiting (as you did) and that the mental clarity begins to dull, and it is likely a person starts feeling irritable and unfocused, and might become confused and lose control of his physical coordination (e.g. you started getting of the trail). If these symptoms are left unchecked, one can become delirious and might even pass out. For this exact reason, during the tour absolute PRIORITY was given to YOUR HEALTH, in stead of discussing with you if this tour met your expectations or not. As we are a responsible and professional company, your health situation for us will always prevail.

Concerning the Customer Serivce, we asked you kindly to wait for just half an hour after your tour was over. On one hand in order to hear the version of our guides, after all there are always two sides of a story. On the other hand for you to have some time in order to calm down, as you were shouting during the first phone call even after Shirley asked you three times to keep your voice down and not to shout (probably your body overheating started again). We offered you to call you back, but you did not want to give us your number, so far that reason we had to wait for you to call us back.

After these 30 minutes you were again kindly asked to write us all your complaints as you did a couple of hours later by e-mail. All your complaints were properly answered in a personal mail to you within 24 hours. Please visit the following link for our COMPLETE answer: http://landsendtours.com/pdfs/Amy%20Zhen%20Anexo.pdf

You are free to review our service as terrible but only WITH VALID arguments and WITHOUT ASSUMPTIONS, but in a situation where you suffered a body overheating - which is a life threatening situation - out of which you recovered pretty fast due to excellent work of our guides is a NOT REALLY THANKFUL. However, three other members of your group showed their gratitude by TIPPING the guides at the end of your tour, making your review quit discutable.

Best regards,

Customer Service
Land´s End Tours
Los Cabos, B.C.S., Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a amazing time on this tour...Very informative...Dennis was a great tour guide...I would recommend this glass bottom boat tour!!!

Thank 82susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandsEndTours, Owner at Land's End Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear 82susie,

Thank you for recommending the Photo City Tour Los Cabos with its visit to Cabo San Lucas (including the Glass Bottom Boat tour to see the famous Arch, other rock formations, beaches, and tropcial fishes) and San José del Cabo (including the visit to the historical, the romantic gazebo, mission church and tequila tour and tasting).

Best regards,

Customer Service
Land´s End Tours
Los Cabos, B.C.S., México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Land's End Tours also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Land's End Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing