We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite restaurant in San Jose!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Dolce San Jose

La Dolce San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Nanaimo, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in San Jose!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have had a home in San Jose del Cabo for over 10 years and just started to go to La Dolce about 3 years ago. I eat there regularly now and have never had a bad meal or service. My favourite server is Albierto. I make sure that we sit in his section when possible. Great guy and great food. I highly recommend eating at La Dolce. Usually best to make reservations in advance as it is a very popular restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesson216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    93
    29
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Off Night? Thursday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We went for dinner at La Dolce on Thursday night, we had been there in 2013, sat outside and had a good meal. We did not have a reservation and were told we could be seated inside. Inside there are mostly tables for four, they had split them into tables for two. The tables were quite deep and very close to the next table which made for a very uncomfortable dinning experience. My wife had bacon carbonara and i had lasagna and we also had bruschetta. The bruschetta and carbonara were great. my lasagna was ........ the sauce was tasty but the noodles were like mush, very overcooked. Hopefully not there best work. We were never given any water and everyone else that was eating pasta had bread on there table that we didn't get. Our Order was taken and our food came in a timely manner. The poor people next to us, (barley 6 inches away) ordered drinks and there appy and meal, they got the drinks and appy but half an hour later were told that the restaurant was out of what they ordered. They reordered twice and finally picked something la dolce wasn't out of. They were not happy people, the lady had asked for water 3 times and never got that either. There awful experience in such close proximity to us didn't do anything for our experience. This was the most expensive meal we had this year in San Jose and was the worst meal that i had.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcesjc, Owner at La Dolce San Jose, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hello Robert,
My sincere apologies for the experience you had here with us. that thursday was a crazy night and we were short in staff. I will check on the lasagna since it shouldn´t had come out like that. I hope you give us another oportunity to fix this bad experience. Once again I am really sorry.
Regards
Juan Calderoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Art Walk and Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Nice place to have something different. Italian food was good and the outside dining was nice! Mid range prices and we all ordered something different. Meals were fine.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Faganpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Went twice in a week!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Fantastic Italian food in San Jose. We went twice during our weeklong visit to San Jose. We had a pizza and 2 pasta dishes and shared and they were all wonderful. Pricing was approximately $15 a dish give or take a little. There is no kids menu but they suggested that we have our 2 kids share an adult size meal and it was plenty. Kids ordered Spaghetti Bolognese with the sauce on the side just in case but they loved it and poured it on. We sat in the outdoor courtyard in the back and enjoyed ourselves after walking downtown from our Resort. Our service on our second visit wasn't as good as the first but it was adequate and after we mentioned they had forgotten an item they were gracious and helpful. The food was prepared quickly and the kids loved the bread they started with to keep them busy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABCanadaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balfour, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Had to go Back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a very good Italian restaurant. Lovely courtyard, wonderful atmosphere and exceptional food at reasonable prices. Both times we had their seafood pasta special with marinara - it is not on the menu, but they always have it as a special. It is absolutely delicious and big enough to share between two people. It comes with clams, mussels, fish, calamari and shrimp. The sauce is a thin tomato seafood broth. They will split it onto two plates for you if you ask. Their pizza's are also terrific, we ordered one to go to take with us - very authentic Italian, thin crust, top quality toppings. The second time we went was a Thursday during Art Walk and the place was a little understaffed, we had a hard time getting a waiter's attention and had to order our drinks twice, even then the wait was a little too long, but this aside, we would still go back again since the food is super good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce San Jose also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to La Dolce San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing