We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat in San Jose!”

Don Sanchez Restaurante
Reserve with OpenTable
Don Sanchez Restaurante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: Contemporary, Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Over the last year, Don Sanchez Restaurant has “re-defined” itself both in design as well our approach to your fine food and wine experience. Our food, service and quality are consistent with the same standards found in North America as we strive to constantly improve and innovate.Proudly, the majority of our high-quality produce is grown and harvested from local organic farms. Our seafood comes from local fisherman ensuring the best, freshest quality. Fresh oysters and clams are delivered 3 times a week and our fish daily. All of our produce and seafood are environmentally sustainable and checked regularly for consistency.One of our standards is to only serve “grass-fed” beef from Sonora or American choice beef, which is aged to perfection, and consistent with the same processing standards found in the U.S.A. All salt used in Don Sanchez Restaurant is natural un-iodized Sea salt from Guerrero Negro in the Northern Baja Peninsula.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in San Jose!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We loved the atmosphere in this restaurant. Service was excellent! We had excellent drinks and appetizers. Our steaks were way over cooked but it was still a great experience. All of the other food we ate was fantastic. We will definitely be returning and have recommended this to our friends several times already.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    683
    178
    37
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“meet your friends in San Jose del Cabo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to meet with friends, good music, excellent food and reasonable prices. Nice patio seating overlooking San Jose main street. Strolling Mariachi bands, Go upstairs for casuall fare and downstaris for dinner and dancing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Escaped5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow - Excellente!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I think this place was in the top 5 of the reviews here. We happened to head over to San Jose for a bit of schmoozing. Walk in town, we saw this place and knew the reviews were good so decided to give it a try. Most people were on the tapas terrace but we decided to dine inside, cool down and order off the menu. They have an excellent wine selection and I like the red pinot I selected very much. My wife did not care too much for the first white she tried but liked the second one enough to order a refill. Our starter salads were excellent, fresh and the dressings full of bright flavor, the home made rolls were also very fresh - as a little in between tasting, they bring out a small ceviche which I have only had once before - this one was fantastic. I had a chicken dish and my wife had a beef dish - both were excellent and for gourmet food, the portions were quite robust. My chicken was like a stuffed boneless breast section with skin and wing on, nicely crisp while the chicken was still very moist - the cheese, and stuffing were bursting with flavor too complex for me to accurately describe - but it was mostly mexican inspired spices and flavors with a base flavr coming from roasted red peppers. Of course a meal like this must end with a rich dessert. They thought they were out of the chocolate cake but managed to find a slice for me. It was fantastic as well - rich and moist with several different chocolate notes. This was one of the best meals I have ever had anywhere in the world - cost was about half what we would have paid in the US or Europe... highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Awesome Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were invited to see the restaurant by the lady outside and were delighted to see the amazing patio in the back. The quality of the food was outstanding, the service was excellent and the music was very decent. Definitely a must in San José.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We hosted a cocktail party here, while in Cabo for our parent's 25th anniversary. Everyone loved the food and drinks, the location was close to our resort, and the music and dance floor were perfect for the occasion! The staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a great evening!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megc1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Sanchez Restaurante also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Don Sanchez Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing