We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Sanchez Restaurante

Don Sanchez Restaurante
Reserve with OpenTable
Don Sanchez Restaurante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: Contemporary, Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Over the last year, Don Sanchez Restaurant has “re-defined” itself both in design as well our approach to your fine food and wine experience. Our food, service and quality are consistent with the same standards found in North America as we strive to constantly improve and innovate.Proudly, the majority of our high-quality produce is grown and harvested from local organic farms. Our seafood comes from local fisherman ensuring the best, freshest quality. Fresh oysters and clams are delivered 3 times a week and our fish daily. All of our produce and seafood are environmentally sustainable and checked regularly for consistency.One of our standards is to only serve “grass-fed” beef from Sonora or American choice beef, which is aged to perfection, and consistent with the same processing standards found in the U.S.A. All salt used in Don Sanchez Restaurant is natural un-iodized Sea salt from Guerrero Negro in the Northern Baja Peninsula.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Delicious cocktails, appetizers and entrees! The service was phenomenal. From the time you enter, you are treated to friendly faces, conversations and attention to detail. We had a saxophone player who serenaded us during our meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bman2md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    170
    37
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
219 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great food, relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Best thing about this restaurant is the food, which is a bit pricey compared to other restaurants in downtown San Jose Del Cabo, but it is worth every penny! The outdoor dining area is in an enclosed patio at the rear of the building, and it's very nice. Lots of manicured potted plants, tables well spaced apart, a small bar at one end. Quiet, off the street, no road or sidewalk noise, really a very beautiful location for an enjoyable meal.
Back to the food; we had lamb shank, which was served in a savory broth, a very big portion too, and was perfectly cooked. It was not a "Mexican" version, but simply prepared as it would be in any big city in the USA.
There was a musician playing the saxophone while we dinned and it was perfect background music, not too loud, and a nice change from the typical mariachi band often found roaming the local restaurants. Service was friendly and fast, we were greeted and thanked by the chef and other staff, made to feel welcome. I would return here. Next trip!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCTravelerandskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don Sanchez...Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We just had a wonderful dinner at Don Sanchez in San Jose del Cabo, Mexico. The decor was delightful, the service very courteous and attentive, and the food was incredible. The chef Tad combines flavors and textures that dance in your mouth. Tad's menu reminds me of Bobby Flay's restaurants in NYC. What a wonderful find for the Los Cabos area. We each (4 of us) had two appetizers for dinner, and a delicious Mulege Hispaniola with cinnamon ice cream for dessert.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarciaSutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redwood city
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OH MY LORD!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned from a great meal at Don Sanchez! Read the reviews and they were right on. You enter at street level and walk into a wine tasting/cellar. You proceed down a beautiful staircase to a wonderful outdoor patio. A heads up... This came up as Mexican food in trip advisor, in fact it is somewhat of a fusion. More steak,pasta,seafood . Our meal: My wife chose the Chile Wellington. the sauce a deep red Chile sauce with deep deep flavors. I went with the shirt steak with Gorgonzola cream sauce and garlic mash potatoes.
They offer two different ways to cook there cuts of beef. Typical grill and another which escapes me now... the second way takes 45 min to cook! I would suggest it would be better served with the finer cuts of beef they offer.
The shirt steak was unreal. The tenderness i have never experienced in a skirt steak before. I was truly depressed as the last bite went down my throat. My wife had a Mexican chardonnay @ 12 usd a glass and was over the top thrilled with it and will be searching in the U.S for it. Noel our server was professional and very nice treating us to a appetizer on the house. We enjoyed both meals 2 margaritas 2 glasses of wine and dessert for $73 USD. Worth every penny and a couple of buck on top of that. Enjoy your meal here folks... we sure did... were gonna need to skip breakfast tomorrow now!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The sax player at the restaurant made the expiance even better. The food was great as was the service. Good cuts of steak well prepared along with some very tasty desert options made the evening a great time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Sanchez Restaurante also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Don Sanchez Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing