We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OH MY LORD!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Sanchez Restaurante

Don Sanchez Restaurante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: Contemporary, Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Over the last year, Don Sanchez Restaurant has “re-defined” itself both in design as well our approach to your fine food and wine experience. Our food, service and quality are consistent with the same standards found in North America as we strive to constantly improve and innovate.Proudly, the majority of our high-quality produce is grown and harvested from local organic farms. Our seafood comes from local fisherman ensuring the best, freshest quality. Fresh oysters and clams are delivered 3 times a week and our fish daily. All of our produce and seafood are environmentally sustainable and checked regularly for consistency.One of our standards is to only serve “grass-fed” beef from Sonora or American choice beef, which is aged to perfection, and consistent with the same processing standards found in the U.S.A. All salt used in Don Sanchez Restaurant is natural un-iodized Sea salt from Guerrero Negro in the Northern Baja Peninsula.
redwood city
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OH MY LORD!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned from a great meal at Don Sanchez! Read the reviews and they were right on. You enter at street level and walk into a wine tasting/cellar. You proceed down a beautiful staircase to a wonderful outdoor patio. A heads up... This came up as Mexican food in trip advisor, in fact it is somewhat of a fusion. More steak,pasta,seafood . Our meal: My wife chose the Chile Wellington. the sauce a deep red Chile sauce with deep deep flavors. I went with the shirt steak with Gorgonzola cream sauce and garlic mash potatoes.
They offer two different ways to cook there cuts of beef. Typical grill and another which escapes me now... the second way takes 45 min to cook! I would suggest it would be better served with the finer cuts of beef they offer.
The shirt steak was unreal. The tenderness i have never experienced in a skirt steak before. I was truly depressed as the last bite went down my throat. My wife had a Mexican chardonnay @ 12 usd a glass and was over the top thrilled with it and will be searching in the U.S for it. Noel our server was professional and very nice treating us to a appetizer on the house. We enjoyed both meals 2 margaritas 2 glasses of wine and dessert for $73 USD. Worth every penny and a couple of buck on top of that. Enjoy your meal here folks... we sure did... were gonna need to skip breakfast tomorrow now!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    143
    33
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The sax player at the restaurant made the expiance even better. The food was great as was the service. Good cuts of steak well prepared along with some very tasty desert options made the evening a great time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

When you are a foodie and a wine snob like me, experiencing new restaurants is fun and sometimes disappointing. NOT LAST NIGHT. Starting with the hostess personally walking us to the outdoor seating to the beautiful live music, Don Sanchez Restaurant did not disappoint. An incredible dinner of scallops with baked apple, arugula salad with beets, delicious filet of beef and THE BEST Cioppino I have ever had the pleasure of tasting. The service was excellent and all the staff extremely friendly, lot's of smiling going on. We can't wait to go back and try all the other delicious sounding meals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moved2Cabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“If you don't stop here, you are missing out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Before coming to the area I had read reviews and knew that we needed to visit this place. The day before we came to Don Sanchez we were in town and decided to look at the place. It did not disappoint and knew we were coming back the next day. Everything was perfect, the tables, the view, the food and the service. They could not have done better. We had steak and lobster and coming from Canada this is hard to beat, but I do have to say I had the best steak AND lobster in Mexico. There was great background music from the saxophone player. They also have two levels to the restaurant, you can eat outside on the main level with all the beautiful tables and the live music or you can eat upstairs which only has a few tables and is private but kind of overlooks the whole restaurant. To top it off, I was surprised with a birthday dessert which was unbelievable and know that next time I come to San Jose del Cabo I will be ordering dessert. A definite must! This restaurant is beyond a 5 star!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Not your standard fair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

A transplant from Canada but a great interpretation of good food with a Mexican fusion. The best margaritas we had. Beautiful outdoor dining with amazing background music. Certainly a place to stop for a lovely evening out. They went out of their way to make sure our evening was special. Well priced compared to many restaurants in Cabo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FRParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Sanchez Restaurante also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Don Sanchez Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing