We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for fishing or a non-tourist experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Marina Inn
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for fishing or a non-tourist experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights and fished on a panga from the marina. I will admit first impression was kind of meh. Boyfriend who is typically okay with anything seemed to be considering looking for something else when we first arrived. Room appeared rough at first glance but a/c worked great, an absolute necessity in Cabo in June. Shower water pressure was just incredible. Beds were comfortable and room was plenty big and reasonably clean. If you can look past the the datedness and keep your expectations realistic you will not regret staying here. The restaurant on-site and pool area is a great place to hang out in the afternoon if you want to tell or be told a good fish tail. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would absolutely not think twice about returning. There is a swimming beach across the street that is quite and doesn't have the folks trying to sell you something every 5 seconds. Its also across the street from the marina. Puerto los cabos is definitely not to be missed. Its such a relaxed environment. We ate a little at the on-site restaurant. I've read mixed reviews and also heard mixed reviews while there. It seems to be hit or miss however we had no problem. The best I can figure out is the breakfest/lunch crew is the hit part and the dinner crew is the miss part but there are other options within a short walk so its not a huge deal. The local bus runs through the area was well for a good transportation option for $1. We talked to many people who return to this hotel every year. Go ahead and book this one and have a great time living the village life!

Room Tip: Room 210 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

La Marina Inn is right on La Playita one of the local spots for shore fishing and for Pangas in the the Cabo del San Jose Area. We didn't stay here but the prices looked really reasonable. We stopped in here for breakfast and the staff was really friendly and the food was decent.

The owner George is a nice gentlemen who was nice enough to give us a ride into town (cabs have to be called if you aren't leaving at a time when the boats are going out or coming in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDR0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

La Marina is small, but set in a fun and safe environment. The food was wonderful and great people we met even better. A hotel built right across the street but the owner doesn't care because he said he's protected from hurricanes. The beach is a quick walk where you can safely swim. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Its small and every room is just fine. They do have a couple nice penthouse suites. No elevator th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essnicksic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at the inn for a total of 4 weeks this December thru January 15 2014 and we had a great time. The Manager and Staff are very helpful pleasant and friendly. Especially Kelly who is a great front desk person. We think that this hotel could be even better with a few improvements, even though El Ganzo has blocked most of the beach view in front its a way better place to stay. The Restaurant in the courtyard serves great food and the music from several bands provides good ambiance.
We think the overall maintenance could do with a full time maintenance guy and some training for the housekeeping staff to keep those corners and behind beds a little cleaner. The owners don't operate the business and live elsewhere.

Room Tip: The kitchenettes are on the third floor and provide great views of the beach, but its a good climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KootenayCountryInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were checking out the marina and we decided to stop for a drink. What a great surprise! We sat down, ordered and proceeded to meet people enjoying there time in this great place. Bob, a friend of owner George told us "you have to meet this guy". He was so right. George is a great guy, when he told you the stories and history of his place he made you feel like you should stay or come back. When we mentioned getting a cab back to town George said he would drive us. Then a friend of George's came in, Freddie. He said he would take us. We were overwhelmed by the kindness and feeling we got of being like we had been there many times before. A great big thanks to George, Freddie, Bob, Mary and Gunner. With meeting you guys we will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGeorge62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is the place---GREAT people (George, Kelly, the kitchen / bar staff) the food is the BEST!! local atmosphere:)
We will be back. Don't waste your time at Hotel Ganzo--MUCH BETTER atmosphere here at La Marina!!!!!!
Fishing was GREAT!!!

Carmen from Minnesota

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nels0n53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

No elevators. Balcony view is good, but there is a newer hotel partially blocking the water view. Very close to the beach & marina. Nice place with a restaurant & bar, music. Very casual, friendly people running the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 679Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
2.4 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#22 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#23 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Aeropuerto
BEST WESTERN Aeropuerto
#28 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#31 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Colli
Hotel Colli
#33 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#11 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marina Inn

Property: La Marina Inn
Address: San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly La Playita Resort )
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
La Playita Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
La Marina Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing