We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet and Friendly Stay for Christmas and New Yearss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Marina Inn
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet and Friendly Stay for Christmas and New Yearss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at the inn for a total of 4 weeks this December thru January 15 2014 and we had a great time. The Manager and Staff are very helpful pleasant and friendly. Especially Kelly who is a great front desk person. We think that this hotel could be even better with a few improvements, even though El Ganzo has blocked most of the beach view in front its a way better place to stay. The Restaurant in the courtyard serves great food and the music from several bands provides good ambiance.
We think the overall maintenance could do with a full time maintenance guy and some training for the housekeeping staff to keep those corners and behind beds a little cleaner. The owners don't operate the business and live elsewhere.

Room Tip: The kitchenettes are on the third floor and provide great views of the beach, but its a good climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KootenayCountryInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were checking out the marina and we decided to stop for a drink. What a great surprise! We sat down, ordered and proceeded to meet people enjoying there time in this great place. Bob, a friend of owner George told us "you have to meet this guy". He was so right. George is a great guy, when he told you the stories and history of his place he made you feel like you should stay or come back. When we mentioned getting a cab back to town George said he would drive us. Then a friend of George's came in, Freddie. He said he would take us. We were overwhelmed by the kindness and feeling we got of being like we had been there many times before. A great big thanks to George, Freddie, Bob, Mary and Gunner. With meeting you guys we will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGeorge62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is the place---GREAT people (George, Kelly, the kitchen / bar staff) the food is the BEST!! local atmosphere:)
We will be back. Don't waste your time at Hotel Ganzo--MUCH BETTER atmosphere here at La Marina!!!!!!
Fishing was GREAT!!!

Carmen from Minnesota

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nels0n53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

No elevators. Balcony view is good, but there is a newer hotel partially blocking the water view. Very close to the beach & marina. Nice place with a restaurant & bar, music. Very casual, friendly people running the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 679Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binyamina, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were 10 days in Puerto Los Cabos at El Delfin Blanco resort, that we highly recommend!
Osa the owner of El Delfin Blanco recommended to eat at La Marina Inn.
First of all the place is very beautiful, and the music, the athmosphere are perfect...
The kitchen area is in front of the tables so that you can watch the cookings.
We first received a beautiful plate with chips, salsa...
I ordered a fresh white tuna with a tomato sauce, rice and vegetables.
Excellent.
My wife and the children ordered vegeterian plates that were delicious too.
All that at a reasonable price and with a warm and sweet service!
Definitively the best place to eat in La Playita!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredADDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We had the best time here- great margaritas, and the food was delicious. Prices were affordable. Great live music, and very close to the beach. Once you'be been here, you will want to come back again and again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We did not stay at La Marina Inn, but we had a delicious lunch there one day. That grill is so amazingly seasoned, I think you could put anything on it and it would come out YUMMY. The atmosphere was nice. Their view is being obstructed by a new hotel though...bigger, who knows about better. I would love to go back and check out the hotel sometime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LunaUndone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
2.4 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#22 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#21 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Colli
Hotel Colli
#33 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#31 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Aeropuerto
BEST WESTERN Aeropuerto
#28 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
2.3 mi away
Posada Terranova
Posada Terranova
#36 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marina Inn

Property: La Marina Inn
Address: San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly La Playita Resort )
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
La Playita Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
La Marina Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing