We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff and GORGEOUS rooms!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Lugoff, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Helpful staff and GORGEOUS rooms!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I was led to this place by looking for a non-tourist-laden respite for a peaceful vacation.... and it couldn't have been better. The most pleasant folks there (Domenica and Eduardo) were answering my e-mails about the the rooms, steering me to where I needed to go. You know, things that one would hope local staff would do, but actually rarely do.

This beautiful hotel was immaculate, flowers, coconut trees, iguanas... within steps of restaurants and art galleries. I had a 2nd floor pool view room (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED), with stunning views of the mtns, flowers courtyard..... and visiuted th the pool daily.

I have reviewed a few places I've visited and always like adding that one things that could be improved... well here goes all that I could literally think of:

They didn't sell the lovely lounge robes with the "El Encato Hotel" crest... I had such a phenomenal time I was (and am still) willing to pay $100 or so dollars for the memories made there, it was that good. So this is the WORST thing I could think of about this hotel and its folks....

I opted for the breakfast included in the rate... and the restaurant (Jasmine) had a great selection, great food and truly friendly wait staff (look for my review of Jasmine)

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are beautiful, but the pool view are EXCELLENT!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoCar_Consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Thank you for the time and kind words regarding the El Encanto Inn.
We try very hard to bring the warmth and beauty of our historic town to
everyone's visit.
Safe Travels and the best from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    119
    30
    14
    17
See reviews for
64
167
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This nice and cosy posada will welcome you in th best way possible. It is located in the most beautiful part of the city and has a useful parking area nearby. It is also very quiet and close to the greatest restaurants of Los Cabos.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the time to review and you kind comments.
We are glad you enjoyed the historic town of San Jose and the Art and Restaurant district.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Cliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This beautiful little hotel is what it is supposed to be like when you visit Mexico. It is not a huge, sprawling resort but rather a tidy, well maintained slice of Mexico. From the well appointed rooms, to the pleasant pool, to the lush garden - it is a splendid place to relax. In the middle of the art district it is just steps away from galleries, shops and restaurants. I highly recommend this as a relaxing get-a-way.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pacothom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We share all reviews in our
weekly meetings and the staff is very appreciative.
We are glad you got to enjoy the Art District and Historic Downtown.
Art walk on Thursdays is always a well attended event
The owner has always tried to maintain a authentic "Mexican" feel to the
grounds and landscape, your comments are much appreciated.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, CA
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were headed on a car trip across Baja California Sur and did not wish to start our journey in the evening (flight arrived at SJD at 5PM). So what we needed was a comfortable place to stay which was near the airport and close to downtown San Jose Del Cabo. We decided on one night at El Encanto and easily booked the reservation online. The hotel is a historic building right in the downtown area. The building and grounds, including the pool were in good repair. Although the room showed some signs of needed touch-ups, it was spacious and the shower was generous size too. Miguel was very helpful on check-in and everything went very smoothly. The hotel was comfortable, clean and the location was great. The off-season special is a very good value. We were able to see a bit of downtown, enjoy supper in San Jose and get a good rest before hitting the road. I might choose an upstairs room next time, to avoid being on ground level in the courtyard (more privacy) but the hotel was pleasant and just what we were looking for.

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs, but felt like there would be more privacy upstairs. Pool courtyard view is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMGregH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hope you enjoyed your car trip across Baja.
We have done it several times and is always amazing
the changing landscape. Thank you for your time to review
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have stayed at the El Encanto for years and each year the price is bumped up just a little bit and I(we) feel the price has reached the level where we will be looking elsewhere to stay next March when we go to Mexico. We've stayed there for about 9 years now and the economics dictate that we look around for a place to stay that offers more for the money, such as a kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tomjul777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your time to review we hope we can re interest you
you a return visit. We have many promotions this time of year and
specials for return guests, If you would ask for any management personal
they can present them to you.
Thank you again for your time and constructive comments
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Barriles, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My daughter and I stayed in an upper poolside balcony room in April and fell in Love with this Hotel and Spa ! First of all , the room is very big with high ceilings and the most comfortable bed . We we specially enjoyed the black bottom pool area surrounded by tropical plants , trees and Birds from the nearby Estuary . It was amazingly relaxing to soak in the Mexican sun while listening to all the different species of birds singing their songs. We of course had to visit the Spa and get an adjustment from the ever so kind Dr. Allen . The spa was one of the most beautiful spas I've ever been to and I've been to spas all over the world ! We had wonderful massages with essential oils that was perfect for just getting off the plane . The location of El Encanto Inn is perfect for walking around the Spanish colonial town of San Jose Del Cabo and only two minute drive to the beach !!
All this for very reasonable prices . We are going back in July !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We are looking forward to your return visit!
Thank you so much for the kind words and information about the Estuary.
For some reason the birds this year seem to sing all day.
All the staff get these comments and it brings a smile and they send a thankyou!
Safe travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We booked for an overnight stay between timeshare villas. We had a pool side room. Staff were great and all arrangements were handled very professionally. We found the facilities comfortable but could use an update. Bathroom is very outdated and we were reluctant to shower. Pool and grounds are beautiful. We would stay again but only a short visit as we like more modern conveniences.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FX35-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your time to review and constructive comments.
We always act on guests suggestions.
Your transition time is important to us as we would like your
stay in SanJose to be as pleasant as possible.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#21 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
257 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#33 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
92 reviews
1.4 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Terranova
Hotel Posada Terranova
#37 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel

Property: El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Jose Maria Morelos 133 | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#21 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, on Thursdays you can enjoy the Art Walk, just a few steps from the mission of San Jose, surrounded by craft shops, galleries, restaurants and bars. Located to less than 500 meters from the transpeninsular highway and just 5 minutes from the beach by car. On Saturdays you can enjoy the organic market located to 5 minutes by walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing