We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last Night in the Baja” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Last Night in the Baja”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

. We spent one night here on the final day of a 9 day trip to the Baja. We chose the hotel on a referral from a friend and were pleasantly relieved when we arrived. The pool side room was charming, with a comfortable bed, a seating area and french doors looking out onto the pool and garden. The concierge was very polite and accomodating.A comfortable spot within walking distance of all the great restaurants and galleries to enjoy in old San Jose. We will definitely return for a night or 2 on our next Baja trip.

Room Tip: The pool side suite on the ground floor was great. Looked out over the pool and gardens thru french...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJM_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Sounds like you had a great 9 days, It was a climate perfect time
and you got to enjoy the famous cool evenings and warm afternoons.
One of our favorite times of the year.
Thanks for the time to Review
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    117
    27
    13
    15
See reviews for
58
160
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Nice small hotel right in the "old" part of town, within walking distance of restaurants, art galleries... Rooms in the annex across the street are adequate. Only complaint was a noisy air conditioning unit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
The spring starts the beach music events and street art festivals.
It is a great time to enjoy SanJose del Cabo.
Thank you for your time to review.
Safe travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

It was nice to find an affordable hotel in the Art District of San Jose Del Cabo. What wonderful setting both outside and inside the rooms, the garden around the pool also very charming. Service was excellent & reception staff very helpful. It was too bad that San Jose music scene overpowered the serenity of the hotel. It was quite hard to sleep without ear plugs.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EevaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your time to review, we are working with the municipality on the music
curfew and apologize for your disturbance. We are all glad you got to see and enjoy
the central historical art district.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

On our way to a dive trip in the Socorros, we spent a night at this hotel. The property is a little difficult to find (our taxi driver got lost) but it is right on the edge of the art district and very convenient to the shops and the central square. It is divided into two parts, one of which is comprised of suites, which are gorgeous. The other is across the street and is accessed by a small gate in a wall. You walk into a walled garden that has very much the feel of a private residence. The rooms were good-sized and well-appointed and very quiet. We had a lot of fun doing the art walk in the square that night, and the restaurant across the street from the hotel had great margaritas and a fascinating menu. I would try it if I came back.

Room Tip: The garden suits are gorgeous, but the less expensive rooms are also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eiswein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Its great you took the time to enjoy the area and a Margarita!
Great ambience, food and galleries, the Art District has been a great experience for
a lot of our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

As others have noted, El Encanto is perfectly situated in the art district of San José and within easy walking distance of the plaza and restaurants. The desk and housekeeping staffs are efficient, friendly and professional. The grounds and pool are meticulously maintained. We took one of the poolside suites and were very pleased. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Take a poolside suite! They are well worth the few additional dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Our owner has just completed a seasonal landscaping adding new local
plants and trees. The downtown art district has been enjoying the new walkways
and remodel of the area. We are glad you were able to enjoy.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

...if looking for quiet and intimate room in the heart of the arts district in San Jose del Cabo. Staff polite and helpful. Room was clean and quiet. Excellent location to galleries and restaurants. Free and convenient parking.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motmot66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for you kind review.
Our staff sends a grateful Thanks!
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

El Encanto Inn is a beautiful, intimate hotel located in the heart of the arts community of San Jose Del Cabo. The two-story inn overlooking the lovely garden and pool offers large, comfortable rooms containing antique furnishings and touches of art. While not five star level the beauty of the courtyard raises the experience above the normal. The staff was great - friendly, responsive and efficient. The location of the Inn is one of its strongest features. You walk out the gates of the hotel and you are in the art community of San Jose with the galleries commencing directly across and up the street. From El Encanto you can walk to everything that you will want: galleries, restaurants, coffee shops, stores, etc. - all in the heart of San Jose.

Room Tip: I suggest a second floor room overlooking the pool. The view of the courtyard at night is just beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review the hotel Our owner has been putting in overtime to make certain the gardens are beautiful and the new restaurant is open soon.
All of our staff are kept informed of the reviews and send their thanks.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
4.5 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#20 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#21 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#13 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#9 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#3 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel

Property: El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Jose Maria Morelos 133 | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, on Thursdays you can enjoy the Art Walk, just a few steps from the mission of San Jose, surrounded by craft shops, galleries, restaurants and bars. Located to less than 500 meters from the transpeninsular highway and just 5 minutes from the beach by car. On Saturdays you can enjoy the organic market located to 5 minutes by walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing