We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel on edge of the arts district”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel on edge of the arts district”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

On our way to a dive trip in the Socorros, we spent a night at this hotel. The property is a little difficult to find (our taxi driver got lost) but it is right on the edge of the art district and very convenient to the shops and the central square. It is divided into two parts, one of which is comprised of suites, which are gorgeous. The other is across the street and is accessed by a small gate in a wall. You walk into a walled garden that has very much the feel of a private residence. The rooms were good-sized and well-appointed and very quiet. We had a lot of fun doing the art walk in the square that night, and the restaurant across the street from the hotel had great margaritas and a fascinating menu. I would try it if I came back.

Room Tip: The garden suits are gorgeous, but the less expensive rooms are also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eiswein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Its great you took the time to enjoy the area and a Margarita!
Great ambience, food and galleries, the Art District has been a great experience for
a lot of our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    118
    28
    13
    16
See reviews for
61
163
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

As others have noted, El Encanto is perfectly situated in the art district of San José and within easy walking distance of the plaza and restaurants. The desk and housekeeping staffs are efficient, friendly and professional. The grounds and pool are meticulously maintained. We took one of the poolside suites and were very pleased. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Take a poolside suite! They are well worth the few additional dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Our owner has just completed a seasonal landscaping adding new local
plants and trees. The downtown art district has been enjoying the new walkways
and remodel of the area. We are glad you were able to enjoy.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

...if looking for quiet and intimate room in the heart of the arts district in San Jose del Cabo. Staff polite and helpful. Room was clean and quiet. Excellent location to galleries and restaurants. Free and convenient parking.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motmot66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for you kind review.
Our staff sends a grateful Thanks!
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

El Encanto Inn is a beautiful, intimate hotel located in the heart of the arts community of San Jose Del Cabo. The two-story inn overlooking the lovely garden and pool offers large, comfortable rooms containing antique furnishings and touches of art. While not five star level the beauty of the courtyard raises the experience above the normal. The staff was great - friendly, responsive and efficient. The location of the Inn is one of its strongest features. You walk out the gates of the hotel and you are in the art community of San Jose with the galleries commencing directly across and up the street. From El Encanto you can walk to everything that you will want: galleries, restaurants, coffee shops, stores, etc. - all in the heart of San Jose.

Room Tip: I suggest a second floor room overlooking the pool. The view of the courtyard at night is just beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review the hotel Our owner has been putting in overtime to make certain the gardens are beautiful and the new restaurant is open soon.
All of our staff are kept informed of the reviews and send their thanks.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here one night before our flight and would say this is a good alternative to one of the hotels out by the airport. The locations is ideal for walking and taking in the historic district, with art galleries and restaurants close by. The actual hotel is small and is divided into two separate buildings. The annex, where we stayed, is okay but definitely inferior compared to the main building. This is an area with beggars and such on the street, as we found out upon returning to our room to find an elderly man in the courtyard of the annex. He was not a problem, but some people might be troubled by the lack of security in the annex. The courtyard of the main building is very nicely landscaped with a nice pool. At the time we were staying, there was no food or drink service, but we were told that both were in the works, which we can attest to by the noise of a construction crew just off to the side of the pool area. Do realize that this place is on the edge of the historic area: behind the hotel is a four-lane busy highway. However, it is not intrusive. Again, with so many Mexican hotels, high walls and landscaping create the illusion of rural tranquility. The staff was helpful, but one gentleman in particular gave us spectacularly wrong walking directions to a restaurant. By the time we realized that we had been sent off in the wrong directions and walked back to the hotel, he personally and with profound apologies walked us to the restaurant, which it turned out was a mere three-minute walk, around the corner and up the side street. Finally, we felt completely safe in the area. I would suggest that you specify you wish to stay in the main building, not the annex.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank You for your helpful comments, We will discuss with staff and increase our nightly
checks in the area by the Annex. We have not had a problem, there are two new
restaurants, under renovation that may be affecting us.
We will immediately put request into the city for addle service to the area.
It is very helpful to receive your review.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. It was lovely and in the heart of the art district of San Jose del Cabo. The pool and grounds were nice and clean. There is a chapel on the property and in the courtyard in front of the chapel there is a farmers market there one night of the week. You are across the street from an art gallery and that continues for many blocks. There are restaurants on the next block and the city square is only a few blocks walk. We loved it here and would go back again in a heartbeat. The room was nicely appointed with a big bed and a comfy couch. I liked the look of the whole place.

Room Tip: San Jose del Cabo is a lovely slow city, be sure to walk down to the central square in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Walking to the Central square is still one of my favorite things to do.
The plaza is full of life with activities and performances going on regularly.
Great restaurants line the plaza, vendors with carts full of local sweets and
staples attract the whole family. It's a great night out, back to a simpler time, with lots of
nice people.
Thanks for your time to review.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The charming Encanto Inn is made up of 2 facilities - the pool area rooms are in the main building while the garden rooms are down the street. We stayed in a clean, comfortable pool suite/room - lovely gardens, inviting pool area and quiet spaces. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast options were provided by Jazmin's Restaurant - a short walk up the street. Vouchers were available at the front desk. A new hospitality area is being constructed so that in the future, guests may have their breakfast at the pool area facility. The Art Walk on Thursday evening is a great way to explore the Old Town galleries - there is something for everyone plus a festive air as you stroll through the streets made into pedestrian walkways for the evening. Restaurants abound in the area. We chose to dine at "Voila" in the Plaza Paulina complex - good food, good drink under a star studded sky. Parking is free and located just behind Plaza Paulina.

Room Tip: If you have mobility concerns, request a ground floor room - pool side facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
You have said it all! Thank you so much for taking the time to review but more importantly
thank you for the time to enjoy all the beautiful sites in Historic San Jose.
The restaurant should be open in less than a month, we can all enjoy great pool service
and a traditional Breakfast or Lunch on the property.
Safe travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropicana Inn
Hotel Tropicana Inn
#21 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#30 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel

Property: El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Jose Maria Morelos 133 | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, on Thursdays you can enjoy the Art Walk, just a few steps from the mission of San Jose, surrounded by craft shops, galleries, restaurants and bars. Located to less than 500 meters from the transpeninsular highway and just 5 minutes from the beach by car. On Saturdays you can enjoy the organic market located to 5 minutes by walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing