We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location right in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful location right in the city”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

At the end of our honeymoon my wife and I stayed at El Encanto. It was a beautiful and tranquil place to stay while in San Jose del Cabo. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff (especially Eduardo) was very helpful and friendly, the pool was well maintained and the spa was a tranquil experience (great massages). It was one of the best boutique hotels we have stayed in and would recommend it to anyone that wants a relaxing time near Cabo.

Room Tip: Pool suites are awesome, can't say anything about the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillieVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your considerate comments to our staff. They very much appreciate them.
We do enjoy a great location in the historic District San Jose del Cabo, close to many fine restaurants and galleries. We hope you will return to celebrate your honeymoon again.
We look forward to your next visit.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    119
    30
    14
    17
See reviews for
64
167
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this charming inn. It has a lot of old Mexican charm and is very centrally located to old town. Our room was nice, but on the dark side - hence the 4 star. The people at the front desk were extremely helpful with making dinner reservations and help with directions. We didn't care for the breakfast and only ate once. They don't have the facilities to cook so you walk down the street to a little restaurant to eat. There was a great Thai restaurant about a block away. Hopefully it's still there - we visited in May. All in all we would stay there again. We had been in Cabo for a week and always wanted to check out San Jose and it was well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carole1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are very appreciative you took the time to visit San Jose Area.
The Thai restaurant is indeed still here and the head chef has been serving quality meals there for almost 15 years. We are in the process of putting a restaurant on the property which should be open by Christmas. Our Staff thanks you for your compliments.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We love this hotel! It is so quiet and relaxing with authentic charm. Whether poolside or in the garden suites/rooms, the setting is wonderful. It is right in the middle of the art district and a couple blocks from the town center. Great shopping and restaurants nearby. The staff is super friendly and the accommodations are very clean and comfortable. We have been many times and stayed in all the room types and have enjoyed each visit. We were even married there in 2010. We filled the entire hotel with our friends and family (65-70ppl), held the ceremony in the chapel, cocktail hour around the pool, and our reception in the courtyard (in front of the chapel). It was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank danamyohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
And A great Event it was!!! Great to hear from you and glad to know You are as happy as
you were in 2010. Was that a big smile!
Best to You and all Your Family. and Safe Travels
From all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have stayed at this Inn twice and are planning on another stay in the spring. We love this place! It is charming and everyone is so friendly. The town is also very charming with great restaurants. We have a timeshare in Cabo San Lucas and like to stay at the end of our vacation at the El Encanto. It is a slower pace there and close to the airport. The last time we stayed our room was in the inn adjacent to the larger inn ( we didn't even know it was there) and the room was every bit as nice as the room we had stayed in before.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank You for your return visit. We read the reviews each week with our staff and it very helpful to know they are appreciated.
Best Regards and Safe Travels from The El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We returned to El Encanto on our trip to Cabo/SJC....While the cabo area has changed so much that we almost didn't recognize it, the El Encanto has not. It has kept its charm, quality, serene gardens, accomodating staff..The pool was inviting. I think because the San Jose del Cabo village center is just outside the door, the Inn never feels full. There is always room at the pool or outside, and often with few others enjoying the setting. With all the greenery around, there is plenty of space and "separation" from all but the birds and flowers. We started with a reservation at the El Encanto suites (?) across the street, but when we were registering and saw the inside gardens and pool, we upgraded back to the Inn and were glad we did. We did experience an unhappy customer at checkout. They had not been clear on the terms of the reservation (same as ours) and were not happy. While the young man at the desk was doing everything he could to accommodate, other than comp them their stay, they didn't budget. The wife then said pay, we know how to fix this, we'll write about it on trip advisor. Their snootiness and obvious sense of the importance of the reviews made me uncomfortable. The check in person also was uncomfortable having us see this when we were just checking in. Fortunately we travel enough to read situations like this and said so to the check in person after the others left.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank goonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind considerations and complimentary comments on the staff.
We are all anticipating a great year and look forward to providing service to experienced travers like your self.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Those big resorts on the beach are so impersonal, and not our style. We loved the Encanto Inn, not only for the location, but the personable staff that helped us with changing our activity reservations and suggesting places for dinner. The room was spotless and comfortable and we took advantage of the free 10 minute chair massage at the spa downstairs. The hotel is walking distance to everything and yet just far enough away to avoid the noise. We'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kander27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Our staff enjoys so much the compliments from our guests. It is a real pleasure for them to know thier work is appreciated. The downtown Historic Center and Art District is full of fun activiities and peaceful walks. Enjoy the fine Galleries and Restaurants or go for a simple walk along the quiet cobblestone street!
Best Regards and Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

None of those American-type hotels for me. The hotel was small and charming and located in the centre of town allowing us to walk to fabulous restaurants and to enjoy the art walk on Thursday evenings.

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms are across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaMaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Being located in the Center of Historical Downtown is always alot of fun for our guests.
Thank you for the time to review.
Safe Teavels from all of us at the El Encanto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#21 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
257 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#33 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
92 reviews
1.4 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Terranova
Hotel Posada Terranova
#37 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel

Property: El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Jose Maria Morelos 133 | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#21 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, on Thursdays you can enjoy the Art Walk, just a few steps from the mission of San Jose, surrounded by craft shops, galleries, restaurants and bars. Located to less than 500 meters from the transpeninsular highway and just 5 minutes from the beach by car. On Saturdays you can enjoy the organic market located to 5 minutes by walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing