We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sweet Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The historic Encanto Inn in San Jose is a lovely hideaway with comfortable luxury poolside. This hotel is worth checking out, the staff are fabulous and the rooms are very comfortable. The location is right downtown San Jose,perfect for the Thursday night art walk.

Room Tip: Choose poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlingirl150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
The Thursday night Art Walk is a lot of fun as is Friday night Movie's at Flora's farms a unique experience. There are alot of close events to walk to including Saturday morning Farmers market just down the road. Thank you fro the very positive comments to staff. They are much appreciated and we read them in our weekly meetings.
Thanks Again and Safe Travels to You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    117
    27
    13
    15
See reviews for
58
160
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We made a last minute change in plans to spend a couple of days in San Jose del Cabo after several in Todos Santos. We felt fortunate to end up at the El Encanto. The room was large and comfortable, although a bit dark in the bathroom. The bathroom is created by a high wall that is more of a partition, so it isn't that private.

The front desk people were very helpful, friendly and efficient. We had one problem when a blown light bulb left us without any power in the room. They were on it immediately.

The grounds are beautiful and the pool great. It's actually heated! We liked the location on the edge of the historic district. Quiet, but easy to walk to anywhere you might want to go in the beautiful historic centro.

The breakfast provided was at the restaurant down the street. We enjoyed it both mornings. Coffee was great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
ThankYou for your time to review and letting our staff know how important it is to resolve any issues as quickly as possible. The downtown historical district has been like magic the last 2 months with the completion of the historical work. There have been great food and art events that support our local charities for Children. and lots of music events..
We are very pleased we could play our part in helping you to have a good visit and we hope to have you return.
Best Regards and Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

After visiting La Paz and Loreto we thought it was time for Cabo. Not San Lucas, but the real Cabo, Cabo del San Jose. We read too many reviews online and in travel books. I had no desire to have the mega-resort, all-inclusive, don't-experience-real-local-life experience. I finally called El Encanto direct and spoke with Eduardo. That call sealed the deal. Eduardo was extremely helpful and I was convinced that I made the right choice.
After we arrived and saw the garden and the pool we knew this hotel was magic. The entire staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the location is incredible. The art district of San Jose is outside the front door. Restaurants, galleries, and gift shops surround you once you are on the street. If you require more privacy and aren't interested in the pool, there are rooms located across the street and that setting is also beautiful.
If you want to get a feel for the town, bring some good walking shoes and try El Encanto. The main town plaza and church is 5 minutes from your room. The beach and mega-resorts are a 25 minute walk away. If you stay, try to make sure your visit includes a Thursday night. The art district is alive that night with an art walk-don't miss it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlinDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
ThankYou so much for your review and comments. With the downtown remodel finished and all the new street lighting and area parking the Art/Restaurant district has been very busy and fun to visit. Your considerate comments will be passed directly to reception and other staff in our morning meetings. They are very much appreciated and help everyone here feel noticed for thier hard work. We hope that you can visit with us again and wish you the best of safe travels whereever you adventure!
Our best to You, from the El Encanto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great place. Great people. Will return. Place is perfect if you don't want to stay at a huge resort. We recommend checking it out while in the area . Place has to buildings. We stayed in the smaller building and it was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertKerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank You for the time to review!
Our staff always enjoys in the morning meetings to hear from our guests. With the new downtown remodel almost complete you literally can walk out the Inn's front gate and be in the middle of some of the best Restaurants and Galleries.
We have added Room service and Pool service from Viola a fine restaurant next door.
We look forward to Your next visit!
Safe Travels from all of us at El Encanto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Helpful staff, lovely room.

Initially we were allocated a downstairs room in the annex which seemed quite dark. Having seen the main building with gardens when we checked in we asked to switch and were given a lovely room on the top floor of the main building overlooking the gardens and pool. The front desk staff were very helpful in accommodating our request. Great location - close to the Art District and lots of good restaurants nearby

Sadly when we stayed when we stayed in mid Feb 2013 there was some construction noise outside but thats no fault of the hotel. One slight complaint was that the room walls seemed a bit thin as one night we had issues with TV noise on one side and loud party goers downstairs.

Room Tip: Main building rooms are nicer especially those on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mynci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your time to review and we are glad you enjoyed the local Art District and restaurants. We are installing a fireplace and new walkways in the garden side which shoukd open up some of the bottom areas. The construction is complete with some detail work on the electrical all the new lighting should be in by end of march.
Thanks agin from all our Staff
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Originally booked a room in the second building down the street - it's nice enough, but feels way more motel-y than the main building, which has the courtyard and pool that you see advertised. So we upgraded...pricey, but we think worth the splurge in the end.

Courtyard is very peaceful and lovely, and the pool is great. We had a well-appointed room on the bottom floor that opens right up to the courtyard. Parking is free in the back lot, super convenient. Neighborhood and location are both great. About a 20 min walk to beach; great for a morning or late afternoon run.

One warning - the breakfast that comes with the room is at a nearby restaurant called Jasmin. The food is pretty terrible, so if you're booking this place in part for the included breakfast, keep that in mind.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie_the_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank You for your time to review and give us constructive input. Jazmins has usually been very good. We eat there on occasion to check. They however slipped as you let us know. I reported to the owner and we will check quality and service immediately.
Thank You very much for letting us know.
Safe Travels and Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Location note as good as expected. Pool not heated and debris left floating in pool. We were in standard room in old hotel that is across the street and down the block. So much dust the first nite we had trouble sleeping. The maid cleaned the floors and it was much better.
We chose hotel to be near the town square, which was not as charming as I expected.
Would stay on the main hotel zone near the water if we did it again.
Dust caused by recent construction that tore out trees behind hotel.
Hotel is on edge of historic district and art galleries. Few services. Breakfast at restaurant over a block away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We certainly apologise for any inconvenience you experienced. Our area is part of the historical downtown renovation and we had had some work related inconvenience, we have accomodated guests with an upgrade to the poolside when that occurs. Again all our staff is very responsive to our guests so any problems should be reported to the front desk. We hope you will visit our area again.
Safe Travels and our Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
4.5 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#20 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#21 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#9 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#3 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel

Property: El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Jose Maria Morelos 133 | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, on Thursdays you can enjoy the Art Walk, just a few steps from the mission of San Jose, surrounded by craft shops, galleries, restaurants and bars. Located to less than 500 meters from the transpeninsular highway and just 5 minutes from the beach by car. On Saturdays you can enjoy the organic market located to 5 minutes by walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing