We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Basic No Frills All-Inclusive in San Jose Del Cabo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Basic No Frills All-Inclusive in San Jose Del Cabo”
Reviewed December 13, 2008

I stayed at this hotel from Nov 29/08 to Dec 3/08.

It's a basic, no frills all-inclusive.

Pro's: free parking; landscaping is quite nice; inexpensive; location is fine - right on the ocean; a rope on the beach keeps out most of the necklace and trinket vendors; staff were all quite attentive ($1 tips made a small difference); 8 minute walk to the huge Mega super-store; pool was fine.

Con's: I agree with most of the other reviews - the food was not good - the omelettes for breakfast were great, but the lunches and dinners were bland and very cheap basic filler-food; the beach is not safe to swim in; the beach (right where the ocean meets the beach) is kind of black from mud or something; the hotel hallways are cheap looking; there's no elevators; the pool-side bar and lobby bars do not have a lot of seats.

There couldn't have been more than 40 guests at the hotel while I was there. Probably due to the US economy.

Do not stay at this hotel if you are expecting Hilton-style quality or service.

Do stay at this hotel if you're on a budget and want a place close to the airport.

For those who are renting a car, please see my article on how to not get ripped off at the Pemex stations in the Los Cabos area and by the airport. Enter "Pemex" in the search field, and it will be one of the entries that comes up.

  • Liked — Value and convenient location
  • Disliked — Food, Unable to swim in ocean
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    494
    233
    81
    66
See reviews for
317
521
59
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We spent a week at a timeshare and needed to stay here for one night only before heading back to the U.S. We were very pleased with the location and the food was excellent. Our room was a bit musty and tired but for one night it was fine. There are no elevators so the trip up and down the stairs w/luggage was a hassle. The "hot tub" was lukewarm but perfect for evenings. The pool temp was perfect and the swim up bar great. Service was impeccable and drinks and food were abundant and delicious. Would definitely recommend. We arrived at 11:00 but they wouldn't allow us to check in until 1:00 or so.

  • Liked — Food and location
  • Disliked — no elevators and musty smell in our room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannieluvstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

If you're traveling on a budget and don't need to be pampered hand and foot, the Posada Real is a good option. First the good:

-whole hotel was clean, never saw any bugs in the room. Maid service was good, fresh towels and amenities everyday
-The pool/beach area is awesome. Liked the option of going to the ocean (not swimmable) or lounging in the poolside bar with a drink. we had quesadillas and margaritas by the beach, which is what vacation should be
-staff was nice for the most part. sometimes it felt like the language barrier was a problem, but it is mexico
-fairly close to the mega store/mall (about a 10 min. walk)
-wasn't crowded at all. There was some noise around midnight our last night (people talking, doors slamming) but that was it.
-Decent bar/drinks

The downside:
-Beds were hard (had a sore back the 2nd night)
-not much around the immediate area, besides other hotels
-Didn't like the set times for meals especially breakfast. I'm a late sleeper and when I got up breakfast was over, so we walked over to the mega to get pastries and etc. For dinner some nights were better than others regarding variety of food. Dessert cakes were pretty good.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salaciouscrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

I vacationed with a friend in Cabo for a week in September at the Riu Palace, and had an amazing time up until the last day. The night before we were set to leave, my friend got very ill with food poisoning (from tacos we ate in Cabo, not at the hotel). She was still so sick the next day that they would not let us on the plane, and we were stranded in Cabo for an extra night. In an attempt to find an inexpensive hotel room near the airport, I booked a room at the Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos. We arrived to check in at 9:30pm after spending a horrible day at the hospital. We were exhausted, ill, and very hungry. We opted for the non-all-inclusive at $140/night, which we were told included drinks. Starving, we were told the only option was the dinner buffet, free for the all-inclusive, but $16 each for us. It was a sad little buffet of taco fixings, very unappealing. Because she was sick, my friend could only eat plain rice, which they refused to make her. She could also only drink water or gatorade - the hotel had mini bottles of gatorade, but for $3 each, which for some reason were not included in our "drinks included" price. So, I found myself at 10pm walking down a dark, sidewalk-less street in Mexico to the only place in the area where I could get food - a Mega Mart. The room itself was dirty, old, dingy, disgusting. There was no elevator. There was no remote control for the TV, and after I called down a couple times, one was brought to the room. It didn't work. The breakfast buffet the next day was also not that impressive. It did look like they had a nice beach, but that was the only thing this hotel had going for it. Now, for the all inclusive option they were charging $200 a night. That is how much we paid to stay at the Riu Palace, (including airfare) which was big, beautiful, with a gorgeous beach and pools, and had huge buffets with unlimited options. To anyone looking for a hotel in Cabo - choose wisely! And don't eat any street tacos!

  • Liked — Inexpensive cab to the airport
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porltand, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

A great place to stay if you just want to relax and soak up the sun. The hotel had great food and drinks. The best thing about this place is the staff! They went above and beyond to help us and you could tell they really cared. The all-inclusive was great. At no point was I every hungry cause there was always too much good food at anytime of day and before I finished my drink they were bringing me another.(If you like your drinks a little stiff just ask for a double and they"ll do it free of charge) Wonderful Wonderful service!!! The only down fall is the ocean in front of the hotel is to rough to swim in. We could see people swimming in the water about a 200 yards north and south of our hotel but I can't say for sure if its safe there either.
I don't reccomend the town of San Jose Dell Cabo if you are looking for activities outside of the hotel. Not much to see or do in town. If you want action and night life stay in Cabo San Lucas or be willing to pay the cab fare there around $70 roundtrip.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Can't swim in the ocean.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnnLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Los Cabos for the first part of our trip. It was absolutely beautiful! We stayed at the Best Western the last two nights of our vacation. It's not the nicest hotel and needs alot of updating. I had to laugh at the fact that we needed to keep our room key in the slot by the door to work the electric in the room. The pool is nice and quiet which is where we spent most of our visit. The service is excellent with the exception of reception. The gentleman at reception acted like we were bothering him when we checked in. Movie night's a great idea - if you can understand Spanish! The food for the most part was very good. Just make sure you go to dinner EARLY!!! After dusk you will be dodging bats flying around and "Mexican Firecrackers" (roaches) crawling all over the floor. One went up my leg and that was it! Time to go back to the room for the night! Don't worry, there were no bugs in the room.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beda40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stayed in the Cabo area from May 8 to May 15 2008. For the first 4 nights, we stayed at a more upscale resort in the middle of San Jose and San Lucas. The second half of the trip was spent at the Posada Real. Upon entering our room, we discovered that we needed a remote for the air conditioning and the tv, neither of which were in the room. We called the front desk and they advised they would send one right to the room. We didn't get it, so on our way out for the evening, we got one at the front desk and it worked when we got back. The food was not great. I've never been to an all-inclusive place before, so maybe it's what is expected, but in my opinion, I would have rather paid for food. Drinks were good and there was definitely friendly service. When a place is right on the beach, how can you really go wrong? It was an excellent price and a great location and how much time do you really spend in the room anyway? I'd recommend it.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#60 of 115 in Los Cabos
2,013 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
550 reviews
17.7 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#23 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,696 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Property: Posada Real Los Cabos
Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing