We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good value in San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
SAN DIEGO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good value in San Jose”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is very nice and clean. They have good customer service. The have option to have all inclusive or free breakfast only, with open bar, free national drinks. This hotel is great for families and people that want to relax. It's 30 minutes away from San Lucas, downtown cabo. So if you need to go to Cabo San Lucas daily this hotel is not for you. Also, if you like the beach, you can' swim at the beach in Posada Real is "red flag" zone do to strong current and waves, so this is not for you if you are a beach swimmer. Overall hotel is nice and clean, great option for those that like the pool, open bar, and buffet. Daily live music all nights. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOLAONROADTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    494
    233
    81
    66
See reviews for
317
521
59
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The people were great, the grounds were very nice. The food was decent. It was a great vacation if you have no intention of partying and you just want to relax and get away. There was not a lot of food options but the snack bar at the beach was great for quick lunch and drinks.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is an inexpensive option in San Jose del Cabo, right on the beach. Most of the other hotels on the beach charge much more for their all-inclusive stays. The all-inclusive rate, which we had, at this property is very accessible and for that price you get ok rooms, which could use some upgrading, especially of the linens and towels. The rooms were large enough, and the beds were fine, but not great. The bathrooms weren't too bad, but could use some sprucing up and a better hairdryer, more plugs. The doors are not sound-proof, so the sound level from the hallway is quite loud--doors slamming, people talking/shouting with no regard for other guests. All I can say is be prepared. Regarding the food, I would have to say there was a poor selection of food for the meals and most of the food was pretty bland and tasteless. We're not picky eaters, but we never once could say we were completely satisfied after a meal. The hotel was not at full capacity and the trays were always empty and when we asked if they were bringing out more, we always had to wait. Also, the setup for the food line is not very well-planned. Only two lesser-known brands of Mexican beer were included in the options for beer for the all-inclusive. The snack bar/pool bar selection of food is fine. The grounds are nicely landscaped, the pool is nice, the beach area is nice and the service at the beach and pool are pretty good. If you reserve on-line, be sure to specify the bed type in the requests or you may be assigned a room that doesn't quite meet your needs. We booked a Deluxe room and wanted a King and were assigned 2 doubles. The front desk tried it's best to NOT change our room, but they finally gave in and gave us a King room. I understand that a hotel can not always make these kinds of adjustments, so it's best to make sure to request it and bring a copy of your request/reservation to help support your point, just in case, which I admit, I had forgotten to do this time. We did appreciate the wi-fi, although the signal was not always great, it worked for being on vacation for a few days. I would consider this hotel again as a low cost option to stay, but not as an all-inclusive, and I would take advantage of all the great restaurants in San Jose for meals. If you want an all-inclusive experience, I would recommend you pay a little more to get a nicer room and better quality food and drinks at one of the other all-inclusive resorts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laGuera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We loved this place. i read the reviews and went in with low expectations and i was pleasantly surprised! Yes the linens and towels need to be replaced and there is some wear and tear here...but for the prices..its awesome! Staff was great, breakfast was great with fresh fruit and homemade tortillas for the brekky tacos:) The beach was great and we swam and body surfed and had a blast! i would stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a large construction project going on next door to the south so they started a little early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsoloSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent 8 days at the Posada Real over Christmas and really enjoyed our time there. We had two kids, 10 and 12, as well as grandma-and everyone had a great time. The hotel is a bit older, but the staff works very hard at keeping it clean and fresh. Our room was very clean, well maintained, and had a nice view of the garden and ocean.
The food was always good. Breakfast had a good variety of fruit, juices, breads, made-to-order eggs and omeletts, and a few Mexican dishes. Lunch was pretty standard, but we did enjoy fresh tuna steaks griled to our liking one day-very tasty. Lunch was also available at the pool side snack bar. Dinner was always a good selection of fish, beef, chicken and pork, as well as ceviche, salad, and soups. The menu wasn't overly large, but the whole family enjoyed it. You could also get fresh made quesadillas almost every day-hand pressed torrillas filled with a good choice of fillings per your request.
The service was always great! Whether sitting at the pool, under a palapa on the beach, at the poolside bar, or in the restaurant or lounge, the servers kept you happy with food and drinks-always with a smile. One server, Joel, stood out as the best of the bunch.
The activities desk was a great help in setting reservations for the Dolphin Discovery at a nicely discounted price. The rental car agency on site made it easy to rent a car for the day (not cheap in Mexico).
Were there challenges? Sure. The water stopped mid-shower one morning, but one call to the desk and the staff was there immediately-great job! We also had to call for a AC that didn't seem to work and it was also fixed within minutes.
Customer service is taken seriously at Posada Real.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent 10 days just before Christmas at the Posada Real - family of four, two adults and our daughters aged 20 and 16.

We loved it - the place is old and dated, but very clean. The amount of work the staff put into keeping it clean and well maintained and keeping the guests happy is amazing!

The food was good - a good mix of Mexican and other food - lots of it and a great variety. The fresh fruit and omelettes at breakfast were great, not to mention the tubs of fresh avocado and salsa everywhere....

The drinks were good - not too strong early in the day, and a little stronger at night...Even the red wine was surprisingly good!

Service was excellent - the front desk and housekeeping staff were friendly, the kitchen staff excelled, and the wait staff at the bars, restaurant and outside area were the best I have ever encountered at any resort.

Benito was the best and made me feel small and humble and spoiled rotten - he is old enough to be my father, yet he never stopped serving drinks, cleaning up, making sure your glass stayed full and even remembering what your last round of drinks was - and then brought refills without being asked! Jeremias, Estevan, Ismail and too many others too mention, made our stay perfect with their great sense of humour and incredible service!

The various managers were on the ball and made sure that nothing was left to chance - great job there too...

The pool, beach and grounds were always clean, always well maintained and staff worked from very early to very late to keep it that way.

The guests were an interesting mix of locals, with a lot of Canadians (even met almost neighbours there ;-) and Americans.

It was interesting to see that the staff were treated badly on occasion by some of the local guests - from being talked down to, to utter rudeness in some cases...

Of course a few "free spirited" pot smoking idiots had to "share" their early morning and late night puffs with anybody unlucky enough to want to enjoy the fresh air and view outside from the balconies, and their equally bad mannered kids thought it was OK to destroy a very creative and cute marriage proposal (that the staff worked on for days!) just because it was there, and before the couple whom it was meant for had even seen it...
But a lack of basic manners in guests is not the resort's fault.....

Overall it was great - the evening entertainment was good, and nothing more was needed - if I wanted to have a regimented activity filled holiday I would have gone to a party spot - for a leisurely quiet R&R getaway from a wet and cold Vancouver, nothing can beat this...We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We upgraded after one night to a suite, simple because four adults are too much for one room...All t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the last three days of our vacation to Los Cabos. As we often use Trip Advisor, we wanted to give our honest review of this resort. We first spent a week in a 5-star time share resort, so we knew we were downgrading. However, we were ill-prepared for the shabby, run-down condition of this hotel. After spending one night in our room, we decided that after breakfast we would asked to be moved to a room that had been upgraded. The front desk staff moved us to a room on the main floor that had been minimally upgraded; some of the wooden furniture had been given a fresh coat of paint. The rest of the room, especially the bathroom was still awful - ugly, mouldy grout, cracked tiles, discoloured mirror and generally very dirty. The first thing we did was wash the toothpaste and make-up off the wall in the bathroom, and could have washed the headboard, where pop or coffee appeared to have been splashed. I Did become very well acquainted with the washroom later in the afternoon, as I spent a lot of time there sick from something I had eaten at the hotel. We realize that hotel stars in Mexico are not the same as North America, but even by Mexican standards this does not warrant anything higher than two stars. The food was mediocre, the wait staff seemed to be unhappy and indifferent, the beds were extremely uncomfortable and the hotel was worn out and dirty. Trip Advisor, they were apparently awarded a certificate of excellence in 2011. Please send someone there to retrieve it - there is nothing excellent about this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PRgirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear guest;
We are sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations during your stay with us.

In Posada Real Los Cabos we always take care of our guests in the best way and saddens us know when we are unable to do so.

We hope that in the future you will give us the chance to serve you again to change your perception toward our services.

In the meantime, we offer our sincere apologies T

he Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#59 of 115 in Los Cabos
2,014 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
550 reviews
17.7 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#23 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#18 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,702 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Property: Posada Real Los Cabos
Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing