We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Lovely little resort that has been well maintained. The rooms were very clean and the staff is great. Benito served us drinks all day on the beach and was still working serving us at dinner, always with a smile and a handshake. The snack bar served great food while the actual restaurant could use a little more variety. Breakfast was usually pretty good but dinner left more than a little to be desired. Having said that, we did have delicious fish a few nights.

Overall, we had a great time and really loved the size of the resort and its proximity to so many amenities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenellephoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    492
    231
    80
    63
See reviews for
313
518
59
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Quiet and quaint and perfect for what our family wanted for a winter getaway. Spent most of the trip by the pool. Poolside service was great, drinks were great and we enjoyed our daily dose of guacamole and cheviche from the snack bar. The staff are all hardworking and friendly. Our room was clean, nice view of the ocean and pool. Food was decent. While they do not have any "kids activities", they do have mini golf, tennis, and table tennis available. And yes, the beds are pretty rock hard, but that would be the only "bad" thing I could say about this resort. Great value for the price. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Posada Real is a small/quaint resort that within a few days one can almost know all the other tourists. Rooms I found to be very clean, no problems w/plumbing, lights, etc. All rooms have a tad view of the ocean, with the rooms at the very end catching more of a view. Yes the beds are a tad hard but it didn't break my back. The food is so, so; nothing outstanding. The beach service is exceptional; always drinks/food offered out on the sand. There is absolutely no games or activities around the pool, with the pool being ice cold so very few people sit at the swim-up bar. The staff are very nice; tend to stick to themselves and not mingle much with us tourists, but when spoken to they are very, very pleasant and ready to accommodate your needs. This is a resort for the quiet and reserved tourist. The average age is 50+. The evening entertainment shuts completely down by 11:00 pm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BettyJDustan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two-week vacation at the Posada Real. The hotel is small, but very welcoming. Each evening's entertainment was held in the lobby which felt like a family event. The staff were amazing!! Very friendly and helpful in any way they could. The food was plentiful with lots of fresh fruit and salads. If you couldn't find anything to please your taste, there was bread, ham and cheese to make your own sandwich. Janet makes the absolute BEST hand made corn tortillas which was my personal favourite!!

The pool area is small, but there are plenty of chairs, either around the pool or on the beach under the palapas. The waiters were extremely efficient in providing drinks and food when you wanted it. The beach is absolutely beautiful and we could walk for miles and miles enjoying the surf and sun.

The location of this hotel is good. The Mega store (similar to Walmart) is a 10 minute walk where you can catch the bus into Cabo San Lucas. It is also a 25 minute walk into the town of San Jose del Cabo or a $5 taxi ride.

My only complaint would be the voices echoing through the hallways, or footsteps from the room above. But as that wasn't constant, it definitely was tolerable. And it certainly didn't have any effect on our wonderful vacation. We will definitely be going back to this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south have a view of the most amazing sunrises!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brendamackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wild Rose, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a great time, the Posada Real is a very good value. The resort is in a great location, close to town, mega store, and so much more. I don't have too much else to say, you'll have to book at the Posada and see and experience your self.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel could easily be so much better but the layout was majorly flawed. They take up a large amount of their property with a garden full of cacti. Waste of space when you consider the place has 1 small pool and not enough seats.

Then there is the food. The taco bar wasn't bad when it was open noon till 5:30. But the buffet is far too small with a poor selection of food. A salad bar and 5 or 6 trays of food total to feed a hotel? they must have expected this by making the dining area so small that if you wanna eat during a regular meal time (9-10a 5-7p) youll be waiting for some time, the food itself isnt even that good. Id honestly just go out and eat at restaurants the foods cheap enough and some good dining can be found in los cabos.

Room Tip: dont go all inclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept our apologizes for not fulfill your expectations about our hotel and services.

We really appreciate your comments and we will take in consideration your suggestion to improve our food services.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Best Western Posada Real, San Jose del Cabo
My wife and I stayed at this resort for ten days during December 2012. I have read some of the reviews about this resort before our trip and was a bit worried with some of the complaints about the resort size and their food. But we had a great time there!

First impressions
Our first impression at Posada Real Los Cabos hotel was its small appearance from the outside and a big entrance covered with beautiful marble floor lobby. The hotel has central air conditioning and luxurious, but casual, wicker furniture. We were received by very friendly bilingual receptionist Lluvia, ready to assist us in any way possible. We had option to select between two types of rooms, depending on our view preferences. We chose room on the third floor (338) in the left wing, with the partial ocean view, which was facing the cactus garden and pool area. All their rooms are beautifully decorated and have all of the comforts expected of a three star class hotel. We paid for all inclusive and received red bracelets to carry on for next 9 days. Yes, the resort isn't as big as the others but it definitely has a quiet relaxing atmosphere. Staff was great and always friendly and catering to our needs.

Rooms
Our room (338 in the left wing of the ‘U’ shaped hotel), was on the 3rd Floor facing the ocean. The room was extremely clean including the bathroom, bedding was fresh and clean, and the house keeping women did a great job every day. Actually the cleaning staff was beyond good! They'd make little towel animals in the bathroom, and even organize our toiletries for us! Plus they were very friendly. The rooms were a little out dated but it was still cute and we didn't mind. All the rooms have balconies, and the ones that face the courtyard all have partial ocean views. We also had free internet access, an A/C and a flat screen TV in the room, which we just turned on in the mornings to watch the news, but did not sit in a room watching TV during the day.

We had some very small issues with our air conditioning, and they sent someone out right away. A few more power outlets would have been nice, but it was manageable.

There's a store near by called ‘Mega’, that's about 6 minutes walking distance from the resort. That’s kind of like WalMart in Mexico. Along there are also several other shops like Dairy Queen, Starbucks and McDonald's.

Food
Their Cactus restaurant offers ambient that will surely please everyone: an indoor air-conditioned saloon and a lovely porch outside, with a view of the central court yard, cactus gardens and the ocean. It is open day long for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They served delicious International food… great variety. The buffet style food in general was good, however after staying there and having it for 9 days straight, it got old and we ended up going out for meals on some days. Occasionally food was lucking flavor, some dishes were bland, and that reminded me on food in Cuba. The atmosphere was casual and relaxing during the daytime, distinguished and romantic during the evening.

For breakfast, David the cook, was serving elegant folded omelets every day, made with my choice of toppings combined with fresh fruit salad. Also they have had 2 types of fresh juice. With my first coffee I had delicious mango juice each morning. What else can you ask for?

Lunch can be had also at the beach. There is ‘Wahoo Snack bar’ with a restaurant, which has great chicken/fish tacos, and serves fries, burgers, and salads in case you’re missing the real American food. They also serve Quesadillas, nachos, even club sandwiches.

Dinner has about 6 -7 types of items on buffet - a different theme every night. Cuisine ranging from the soup of the day, the quick sandwich and the light salad or pasta, to delightful fish, meat and foul platters. I enjoyed the different types of fish.

A variety of domestic beer, wines and deserts to go along. A large variety every night for dinner. Sometimes chocolate cake or flan for desert. Free beer is Tecate light or dark is a Modelo Negro. Both are very good. Other drinks are really good too and there was different live entertainment on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.
I didn’t like the fact that they were serving drinks in plastic cups…

My biggest concern about food was luck of the fresh bread, as I eat bread with every meal. They were serving warmed up bread or toast, but no fresh bread from local bakery…

Resort
Grounds are beautiful with 50 or so cactus species. Take a walk around and really appreciate the grounds. Staff is super friendly. 5 star staff. Ask for a safe key.

We had no problems using wireless internet. Free fast internet was available throughout resort. It was nice to lay down around the pool and browse the internet. Put phone on airport mode and just get internet and e-mail through free Wi-fi. The resort gives 2 water bottles (in your room) as they want to reduce plastic use. There are 5 gallon water coolers everywhere to refill your water cups. We did not need bottled water at all.

The resort was not too crowded. Only about 2 of the 9 days the pool seemed to have a lot of swimmers and the palapas were crowded. But typically there was no problem getting a palapa on the beach, or a table by the pool-side kitchen.

I like the fact that this is not a huge mega-luxury resort. There are no activities planned at the resort, and not many luxury amenities, but that is why I enjoyed it so much! It is a very down-to-earth place with all the basic vacation necessities. If you want super expensive, high-end, mega-resort this is not your place. If you like small, affordable and drama-free vacations, this place is for you.

The pool
The pool, swim-up bar, beach area, are all very good. The pool was a decent size, clean and heated. There was a shallow end for kids, but adults hung out there too. It has a swim-up bar which is nice, and a public hot tub. There are tables set up around the pool for dining, and padded chairs with umbrellas around the pool and on the beach. The poolside taco bar is great, and the servers will bring food and drinks to you right on the beach. No need to get up. A young fellow Jeremias, who was serving us most of the time, was very fast and served us with smile on his face and great effort to speak English.

The pool bar opened at 10 a.m. and played popular American/Mexican music most of the afternoon. There were numerous lawn chairs around the pool in the cement area and then many more near-by in the sand underneath "palapa" umbrellas.

Hotel towels can be picked up at the Wahoo pool bar from 10 a.m. until 6 p.m. Before or after this time window towels can be requested at the front desk. There is a massage therapist on the beach who offers $40 USD ½ hour massages.

There’s a man on the resort who sits by the pool area and sells jewelry, and a few cool hand made things. He is so sweet… I recommend buying souvenirs and gifts from him. We went to downtown a few times and found the same things he was selling but for a more expensive price.

The ‘Playa Hotelera’ beach
We went to the beach every day (for few minutes only) to catch some waves.
This beach is generally not safe for swimming, but its central location makes it popular. The beach is gorgeous and goes for several kilometers. I went into the water and the ocean was warm. I was playing with the waves which were not that big or dangerous. In general they don't recommend swimming in the ocean due to strong undertow and very high waves hammering the beach every minute. But I haven’t experience any of this. The red flags were posted on hotel fence all the time, but I think they never change them just to send the message that they will not take any responsibilities for the swimmers (in the ocean). It is nice to take a walk along this long beach or engage in one of the many beach activities, like games of volleyball or making sand castles. Walking up and down the beach is great exercise especially early in the morning or at the end of the day.

There will be vendors walking up and down the beach selling everything Mexican, from rugs, to kites, to jewelry. They are not allowed to step onto resort property, unless you invite them. They will walk up to your chair if you like and make deals with you. If you don't want to talk to them give them a firm no and they will move on. Most of the time they were grouped on the beach in front of the Royal Solaris resort, because they had more American tourists there.

The service
The service at this resort was outstanding. We had everything we hoped for: good food and drinks, a gorgeous beach, clean rooms and a great convenient location. The manager there was very helpful and seemed very concerned with situations with guests. Staff greeted us every time we walked by.

From morning until night we were welcomed with smiles and hospitality. The boys at the front desk answered all our questions and guided us to San Jose with a small map and also instructed us on how to use the bus systems. They spoke VERY good English and were so nice to us.

Exchange rate at desk is 11 pesos for $1 CAD. Bank is $1 for 12 pesos. No fees at desk just walk up and exchange. Tips were 20 peso at the restaurants and for the room service. I had a problem with tipping because I wasn’t sure whether I should tip after each meal, drink or just once a day! I thought that I paid for ‘all inclusive’ so I don’t have to worry about money and expenses while there. But that was not the case…

In general – Good value
The Posada Real resort is a good value for the money. It is small hotel but had everything we had hoped for: good food and drinks, a gorgeous beach, clean rooms and a great convenient location. It's clean and the staff is very friendly. It is close to Cabo San Lucas where most of the shopping and adventures are found.

We loved being able take a quick walk to Mega store; catch a bus for only 8 pesos to San Jose, or 23 pesos to Cabo San Lucas, but it takes one hour to go 28 kilometers due to all the stops. The buses are not air conditioned. A taxi ride to Cabo San Lucas costs $35 one way with a tip. Every evening we went for a walk along the Paseo Malecon San Jose… wide Boulevard (two lane in each direction) which connects all hotels in this area. A little tip: if you want to go downtown into San Jose, which has excellent restaurants, and shops, just stand at the edge of the Hotel driveway, a city bus passes every 20 minutes, just put you hand in the air and it stops for you, the cost is just 8 pesos. You get back on the bus the same way, just stand on any curb and put your hand in the air, and they will stop for you. I tipped the bus drivers and they were very helpful.

Small resort with down-to-earth attitude
Rating this hotel, I would say it is a high-end Three Star Hotel, which some of the so-called Four Star Hotels, can't compare. I would recommend this hotel for couples and families. You will feel at home here. If you are looking for a luxury resort, or a romantic honeymoon location this is not it. If you are on a budget and looking for an inexpensive resort, this place is a good bang for your buck, and a great place to stay for a fun Mexican vacation! We felt very safe everywhere we went and will definitely come back again in the future.

We had a great time at this small resort and made the most of it.

This review is also posted on my blog site here (with pictures):

http://zkahlina.ca/eng/2013/01/16/posada-real-resort-in-cabo/

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Neno09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#60 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,250 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Property: Posada Real Los Cabos
Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing