We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Reviewed January 2, 2013

There are some good things about this place, and some things that really need improving. First the good:

The Posada Los Cabos has some really great staff. The front desk persons were very nice and helpful (when needed) and the pool snack bar/pool bar staff were outstanding. The staff working breakfast in the morning were good. The grounds were very nice, and for the age of the place, the staff do a pretty good job of keeping it operating. The food at the snack bar is actually pretty good. While they don't have "top shelf" liquor they did have some variety and stuff like Bacardi Rum, Black Velvet Whiskey and Passport Scotch - overall wasn't a big deal. The beer was cold, and two types (Tecate light and Indio dark). It is the first hotel I've had to put a key into a slot to get power in the room - but it wasn't that big of a deal because it was pleasant during the day and evenings got chilly enough where air conditioning wasn't needed.

Needs improvement:
They say the pool is heated to 80 or so degrees - it isn't. The hot tub was 76 degrees and the regular pool around 75 to 78 when I checked them. The rooms are a little dated, but functional. The drapery on the patio doors could use some attention - they won't close all the way. The food at buffet is mediocre at best, but there is generally something you could find. Breakfast is probably the best meal at the buffet, because someone will make you an omelet and you can get fresh fruit. The room safe/removeable lock thing is a little odd. Invest in new room safes.

Unacceptable:
My wife had articles of clothing stolen from her suitcase.

We went to this place because the whole family was going there, and it would have cost significantly more to stay elsewhere in San Jose del Cabo. If it were just two people, I wouldn't consider staying here again - if it were a large family, I might consider it, but would definately think hard about it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTBgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate it.

With regards to the pool, we have solar panels to heat it but some times in winter there are no sunny days. In that case we use to heat the pool with a boiler, but in the days you stayed with us the boiler was failed. Unfortunatelly is hard to find many equipments in Cabo so we have to request them in Mexico City and the delivery time is about a week or more. Fortunately the problem was solved.

We will talk with our Executive Chef to revise our menus and make changes to improve our variety and quality of food.

We are sorry by the theft of your clothing. Most of our employees have years working with us and it is not usual to have this kind of problems. Any way we are investigating what happened.

Please accept our apologizes for the inconveniences during your staying with us.

Sincerely

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,258)
There are newer reviews for Posada Real Los Cabos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Travelocity adverts this as a 3-star quality hotel, but this is not even 1-star. The rooms were dirty (not just unclean, but structurally dirty). The hotel corridor, building and rooms are ugly. The room floor was not cleaned in months, and was dirty. The free internet gets disconnected often, and the breakfast area is humming with bees. The only comfort was king size bed. We spent 0 time at the hotel other than sleeping. Much of the hotel reception does not speak English.

The worst thing was, the key for safe in the room would not come out of the lock so we were carrying our passports and other valuables with us all the time. From US standards, this was worse than a motel, and they claim to be a 3 star hotel. If you want to have a vacation, this is not the place to stay at.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NickFromSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Guest;

Please accept our apologizes for the inconveniences you had during your stay with us.
I have talked with our Room Division Manager about the cleaning of your room to avoid in the future to have the same problem with our guest.

We had problems with our Internet service in November but we bought a new master device and since that date we didn´t have problems or complaints from our guests.

With regards the safety box, if we could have your name we can track your complaint in Front Desk, because the problem could be solved just giving you another key.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences and we just want to say that we will work even more to give a satisfied service to our guest.

Sincerely

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I spent a week in November 2012 at the Posada Real Los Cabo. This was our first time to this part of Mexico and we were impressed. The hotel is nothing fancy or new but this is a beachfront property with a nice pool and beach. We had internet service the first few days then the wireless signal had problems with intermitant service. Drinks were includes in our room rate and the grill at the pool had very affordable lunches.

You can stay next door for triple the cost for a 5 star luxury resort. We often took the city bus for under a dollar in the evening to the downtown LosCabo area for several fine Mexican restaurants and shopping for jewelry and souvenirs. The cost for a car ride to the airport is about $20.00 plus tip, We arranged our incoming trip through the LosCabo Concierge and were charged over double the going rate through one of their buddies they recommended. There is also a great store called the Mega which is about a 2 block walk that has food, bakery, expresso bar that is huge, well stocked and much more than just a grocery store. If you are a beach lover on budget, the Posada Real is a good choice. Over the general area is clean and safe with paved roads.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bob1cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Needing some miles to maintain MVP status, a trip to Cabo seemed in order. Chose to stay in San Jose to explore art scene. As other reviewers have stated, the service at this hotel is outstanding. The food is just okay but plentiful, the drinks are better. The rooms are in need of updating, but are clean, and the air conditioning works very well. My view of the cactus garden and ocean was relaxing from my balcony. The pool is pristine, as are the grounds. The beach chairs are very comfortable and there are enough for everyone and service around the pool and beach is prompt. Provided beach towels are large and fluffy. Walking distance to town. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We booked and currently are staying in room 325. The ocean view is fantastic, hospitality is amazing, and was well worth the nominal fee for an upgrade. The staff have been very accommodating to our requests. Our room overlooks the tennis court and golf course (mini-golf :) ) The coconuts are growing so close to our balcony that we can almost reach out and pick one!

Despite suggestions not to go swimming in the ocean, we've seen a lot of people going in and jumping the waves anyway. The pool usually isn't busy either.

If you're expecting a 5 star, this isn't the place for you. But if you want a great place to relax and not break the pocketbook, this will fit your needs perfectly.

Room Tip: Pick one of the 8 suites - well worth the money!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is the second time to the Posada Real. The first was quite a few years ago. The rooms are basic, but actually very nice. Nice balconies. Had a good view of the cactus garden and of the ocean. A/C stopped one morning, but they had it fixed very quickly. The staff are all great. The location is excellent. You can walk to San Jose Del Cabo, which is a great town. Excellent restaurants, stores and galleries. The cab to San Jose Del Cabo is only $5. We only tried the breakfast buffet a couple of times, but it was fine. As others have mentioned, Benito at the pool bar is great. The food at the pool snack bar is good, the beer good and cold, and tasty pina coladas. The pool itself is really pleasant, and the beach is right there. Plenty of seating by the pool and on the beach. All around a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jldjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

There is absolutely nothing positive I can say about this place. Horribly dirty rooms, rock hard beds and all around yuk. I have traveled a lot and this was one of my top 2 worst places I've stayed of all time! With all the other options in Cabo go elsewhere....

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skibuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear guest:

Sorry not having fulfilled yor expectations of lodging.

The only thing we can say is that we do our best effort to have our guests happy.
Fortunately the number of happy guests that we have is very high.
We understand that we can't satisfy to all alike.

Our sincere apologies.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#61 of 118 in Los Cabos
2,045 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
611 reviews
16.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#17 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,863 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $95 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing