We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time in San Jose del Cabo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great time in San Jose del Cabo”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a great time and it is right on the beach but the water is too rough and unswimmable. It is a short walk to the Mega store and right on the bus route to downtown San Jose. We would stay here again. Also, the bartender Francisco was awesome and all the staff was very very nice.

Room Tip: Small hotel and all the rooms face the beach. The 3rd floor is probably the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Utah_traveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    485
    229
    78
    63
See reviews for
310
511
59
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel need some up dates like posted earlier, The rooms need a new coat off paint. But other then that its not bad for the price, We were there for 10 days and had the all inclusive package, Which was ok for the price again. The food is nothing to write home about , But its not bad either just ok. The staff at the hotel were ok as well nothing great, No one went out of there way to be overly friendly. Over all it was ok, The Ac worked great. We were in room 216 . The pool was ok. Over all it was ok not great put like anything you get what you pay for. So a long as you are ok with that you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you're expecting 5 star quality at a 3 star resort, PLEASE PEOPLE, Don't stay here. Yes, it's an older resort, but, check in was quick, our room was clean, air conditioning worked, the grounds were manicured and kept clean. The pool was cleaned every morning. There's one small buffet restaurant, and the food was average. There was always something to chose from. You could order food from the pool bar as well. Benito and Luis (waiters) were exceptional. Thank you for the great service. Thank you everyone for the great service. We were always looked after by everyone and promptly.
The price was right, location was great, What more do you want? I don't go on a holiday to live in my room. Small resort, without the hoard of people that come from a large resort, was a pleasant change. I'd definitely come back here. And if you get lucky, like I did, you may just get to witness baby turtles hatching on the beach and making their way to the ocean. Best experience on any vacation I've ever been.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wandahtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My daughter and I spent a week here from sept 23-30, 2012. Was a little disgusted with all the flies around the buffet but all in all the food was alright. Would have been good to have a little more variety....not a lot of choices. The rooms were ok. I found the beds to be quite comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean. Definitely not a 5 star but didn't expect it for the price! People need to remember that you get what you pay for.
Entertainment was non-existent except some karaoke and an organ player one night. Thank goodness for wifi! There's really nothing within walking distance except the mega store so evenings were a little boring. Definitely not the place for people who want to party.
Benito at the bar pool was awesome! Great service!
I wouldn't stay again but only because there wasn't much to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank porcina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

With pleasure I inform you that we have covered our salad buffet with a cover of glass to avoid the flies that we had this year because a lot of rainy days, unsual for Los Cabos.

About the entertainment we use to have in low season two days of live music with the organ player and one beach party. We organize karoekes one or two days per week.

For high season we use to have live music every night.

Effectively for people who are looking for parties, San Jose del Cabo is not the place. The night life is in Cabo San Lucas where there are a lot of bars and restaurants opened after midnight.
San Jose del Cabo is quiet but has some places where to go to have fun.

We really appreciate your comments and will help us to reconsider our services and activities.
By the same token, We would appreciate to consider us in the future for your next trip to Los Cabos. We can show you the different places to visit and have fun.

Warm regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were in Cabo to attend a wedding and everyone was staying at the Barcelo next door. We chose the Posada Real because of the price and proximity. Most of the reviews were good or at least satisfactory. We had both stayed at B&Bs, low rent motels and hostels around the world so figured this would be fine. The checkin was neither friendly nor rude. Just mediocre. The grounds weren't spectacular nor disgusting. Just mediocre. The room had mold growing on the wall below the a/c. The beds were harder than the tiled floor. The shower grout was yellow and the shower didn't drain properly. None of the preceding is actually my complaint. My complaint is a buffet that is held on a patio in 90 degree heat without proper cooling. Pasta salads (presumably with mayo) on some ice. I took some to test the temperature and it was room temperature. There were cakes with whipped cream frosting sitting out completely without being chilled. We were seated at a table with a dead moth in the chair. The waiter didn't even take care of the moth when he saw it, my friend had to. Flies were all over the place because the doors were left open for "cooling." We walked over to the Barcelo, called the Posada to cancel the remainder of our stay, hung out at the Barcelo with our friends all day and paid $50 to eat dinner at the restaurant across the street until we could check in at the Barcelo the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank w0lfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest;

I am really sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay with us.
We work hard to do our best to offer an excellent services to our guest accordingly our facilities.
Some times is not enough for some of our guests, we understand.

With regards to your comments about our breakfast buffet, we inform you that we have installed a glass cover to protect the food from flies and weather. It has helped a lot.

Please accept our apologizes if we didn't fulfill your expectation.

We hope in the future you can give us the opportunity to stay again with us and see that we can do much better.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This is my worst all inclusive experience ever! Booked a king bed garden view room. Arrived and was given an outward facing room with two doubles. The manager said this is normal then went after us for $50 per night for an upgrade. The room was filthy. The AC was broken. That night a pipe broke above us and the room flooded. The next day we waited all day for repairs.

The food is TERRIBLE! Constant swarm of flies over the unprotected buffet ... Probably cause the dining room is filthy. Ants crawling all over and on every table.

Lunch was dried out and horrible. My wife couldn't eat anything but the rice. Supper was worse. Cut up wieners on a red sauce billed as sausage. Dried out chicken. Pork so dried out I have up trying to chew it.

No one seems to care. A very poorly run hotel. Stench in the lobby. I could go on and on. Save your money for something worthwhile!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayde P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest;

We are sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay with us.
I have talked with the Restaurant Manager and the Executive Chef in order to improve the our services in this area inmediately.

This kind of services is not what we use to offer to our guest and we are not happy when this kind of incidents happen.

Our goal is to continue working hard to give our guest the service quality they are looking for.

Please accept our sincere apologizes.

Cordially

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is definitley dated but acceptable. I stayed for a week while fishing out of La Playita marina. The food was ok out at the Taco Bar, but too many flies in the restuarant.The staff was very accomodating for the most part however, someone on the staff stole 10 bags of my fish (dorado and snapper) out of the "working freezer". When I asked them to store it for me, the key to the guest freezer wasn't working so they suggested I put it in the regular freezer. I think I know who did it (the only person who knew it was there) however, since I am not sure, Im not going to out R*mon. Thats the only problem we had. Luis 1 and 2, Benito, Francisco are all good guys and made our stay fun.

Room Tip: stay on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCPappyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest;

We are surprised with your comment about the stolen fish. The Front Desk Manager and or the Management didn't receive any complaint about your fish.

If we had received it, you can be shure that we have investigated and clarified this situation.
What we do when we discover that some of our employees is dishonest we just fire him because affect not only our hotel, but also our destinaton.

We are sorry for this inconveniences and we will try to find out what happened.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 116 in Los Cabos
1,976 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#18 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,199 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Property: Posada Real Los Cabos
Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing