We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cement city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cement city”
Reviewed January 3, 2007

Las Palmas is located on highway 1
a highway rated with the most accidents in the world by USA today
the traffic noise is troublesome there are no views
movie theatre is long gone
san jose a once beautiful little community is now a cement jungle wall to wall hotels condos and sightings of the ocean are few and far between. the only thing that remains constant is nice weather for the most part.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank ColoradoLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
28
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2006

My room was small, but nicely furnished,air-conditioned, and spotlesslly clean. The room faced the back of the mall(the hotel is located in a shopping mall) facing a quiet residential area.The pool seemed o.k. although I never used it.Internet acces,which could be expensive in this area, was free, and provided by the hotel. Service was very cordial.
The fact that the hotel was in a mall turned out to be an advantage. Any possible thing needed,such as drugs,laundary service,restaurants,or beauty aids ,were easily found in the stores below.They even have a movie theatre.
Best, beleive it or not ,are the two bus stops for public transport, just outside of the hotel. Hop on a public bus, and for a few cents, ride to any of the gorgeous beaches along the Corridor, in just minutes.
Or, if you want to walk downtown, or to any of the big malls, its only a very short walk.
The only negative was the labyrinth of a walkway,in getting to your room.It sometimes felt long. But for the inexpensive rates, and all the other assets, it did not matter much

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank jsohmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio N, Gerente at Hotel & Suites Las Palmas, responded to this review, November 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to see that you found our service prompt and our rooms comfortable. We are centrally located with a walmart and many other services within walking distance. We pride ourselves on providing a comfortable relaxing experience for all of our guests

We sincerely appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to having you with us again as our guest.

Sincerely,
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2005

Suites Las Palmas is a basic hotel located above a strip mall. It was right on the main road, but the doors/windows didn't let the sound through, so road noise wasn't an issue, unless something was open. The room was clean and the staff was friendly, although English speaking wasn't guaranteed. The pool was a nice touch. My husband and I stayed here on the cheap (we got it at a bargain price thru the skyauction website) and we needed a place to decompress and fully relax for a few days before we headed to the luxury timeshare resort and would feel guilty for not taking advantage of the amenties. The restaurant in the mall was fine, but if you've rented a car you are close to San Jose del Cabo and finer dining. There was also a pharmacy and movie theater in the mall. As with most of SJdC, this was not so much a tourist area, this was more of a locals place, a lot more authentic then Cabo San Lucas. I was a little scared making a reservation at a place I could find almost nothing about, but was pleasantly surprised with the result. Don't expect the Ritz, or catering to American tourists, but a basic, clean, decent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
46 Thank jjsm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio N, Gerente at Hotel & Suites Las Palmas, responded to this review, November 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, makes us happy to see that we helped making your trip to Los Cabos easier and that our staff was friendly. We work hard to keep our rooms as our facilities clean to provide you a comfortable stay.

Our location is very convenient for our guests, airport is just 20 minutes away and downtown San Jose is less than 10 minutes distance. We have a Walmart supermarket just across the street and many other services within walking distance.

We look forward to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Terranova
Hotel Posada Terranova
#37 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Los Cabos
Hotel Aeropuerto Los Cabos
#28 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colli
Hotel Colli
#34 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Suites Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Suites Las Palmas

Property: Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular KM 31 | Col. Magisterial, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel & Suites Las Palmas)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Suites Las Palmas 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in San José del Cabo, just 15 minutes away from the international airport. Our rooms are equipped with everything necessary for a pleasant stay for business or pleasure. We offer coffee service and free wireless internet in every room. Enjoy a fresh american buffet breakfast every morning and an outdoor swimming pool to make your day more pleasant. Our location is ideal, being close to shopping centers, grocery stores, restaurants, banks and other basic services at walking distance. San Jose's city center is located just 5 minutes away as is the beach and main golf courses. Suites las Palmas is commited to our planet by making green environmental practices: We save energy by using peek surpressor harmonizers, saving bulbs and photocells. Likewise, we use solar panels to heat water in our rooms and outdoor pool, in addition to a good recycling practice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Vacatia, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Suites Las Palmas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel And Suites Las Palmas
Hotel Las Palmas
Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing