We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“We Love it and can't wait to return!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose del Cabo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Jolla de Los Cabos
Vancouver
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We Love it and can't wait to return!”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Well, we just got back from San Jose del Cabo and absolutely loved it! We stayed at La Jolla Condominiums. Just as others have noted, La Jolla is NOT a hotel. It is an immaculately groomed condominium complex owned by private owners who rent out their condos. Lucky us - we happen to know the owner of G304 - otherwise known as www.bluepalms.ca. It was a home away from home! We were travelling with another couple and the condo was perfect! Two king-size bedrooms each with their own private ensuite bathroom. Everything was provided from a welcome beer in the fridge to free wifi to snorkeling gear for the beach.

The complex itself offered two pools and an expansive beach - which we loved to walk every day!

The highlights were:

- walking to Zippers for lunch - a beach bar to the south
- dinner at Deckmans just two blocks away - can't go wrong with a Michelin chef can you?
- lunch on the patio of Cabo Surf Hotel - a $5 cab ride away
- New Years eve at Javiers (Cabo Azul Resort) was really special
- Did I mention the desert buggie riding through Sierra Buggies. They pick you up right at the BelAir Hotel Lobby which is adjacent to the La Jolla Condominium complex
- Scuba diving with Cabo Adventures (they also pick you up)
- Christmas Dinner at Voila! was great
- The Art Walk on Thursday evening

Ok.....I need to plan another return vacation!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pantix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    1
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

As an owner who rents their condo, it's amazing that for all these years TribAdvisor can't get this right. At the La Jolla Condominium complex there is no one hotel, but instead a few hundred property owners who either rent their units directly to the public themselves, each condo rented directly from the actual owner, OR, they don't rent them at all. The only other option at the La Jolla area is a small hotel which has changed names over the years, many years ago calling themselves the La Jolla Hotel, then later Playa Del Sol and now Belair Hotel, has nothing to do with what looks like an adjoining property, the La Jolla Condominium complex. When the hotel was under former ownership they got bad reviews. We hear good things about Belair, the new owner. For those renting through a private owner, each property owner is different. Some are better than others. The odds are you'll find a good one that will provide you a nice vacation. Don't rent from anyone with a bad review. But, don't, for crying out loud, listen to this list of complaints about La Jolla, when 90% of the complains were for the former owners of the Bel Air hotel, when it was called Playa Del Sol. Playa Del Sol has NOTHING to do with La Jolla and it's privately owned condos, some of which can be rented from the homeowners themselves.

Room Tip: Go to VRBO.com and find a La Jollse Condo for rent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank msutherlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Better late than never. We had a wonderful time for spring break. There was a total of 10 families on this trip. Most of us stayed at La Jolla. Beautiful views from all units. Enjoyed many whale shows - extraodinary! Tropical landscaping, very clean property. Guard gate entrance coming in from north. From the south no guard gate. Fully equipped kitchen used it for breakfast/lunch/snaks. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank firsttime1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We got this condo through VRBO and were very pleased. A beautiful corner unit with panoramic views of the pristine beach, gorgeous sunrises and moonrises. Looked like a Corona ad! The condo was spotless and well appointed. The pools were great, and we found the location superb. The beach was clean and almost empty, since we're far enough away from the big hotels, but only a fifteen minute walk up the beach to the Mega for shopping. (if you walk the beach cut inland when you see the palm covered shade structure and take the path between the hotels.. you'll end up at the Mega). A nice guy named Victor gave my wife and kids one hour horseback ride up the beach one morning for only $25, and he brought the horses up the beach right to our condo. Couldn't be easier.

Room Tip: Condo G-206 is listed on VRBO. Good owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJR950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

My family and I have stayed in D203 for five years in a row. We travel with three children under the age of 10 and have nothing but great things to say about the condo, the location, the beach and the fantastic people.
In 2010 we stayed from Dec 22nd to the 9th of January. We love the clean, safe pool and beaches, great location close to town and the value that we get from a two bedroom condo with a full kitchen. The condo unit is like a home away from home. Three beds, two bathrooms and two TVs. iPod player, full set of cooking gear and all the spices and condiments you would ever need.
I would highly reccomend renting the unit if it is available. The property manager, Isabelle, is on site and can deal with any problems immediately. The Unit is clean and has the most fantastic views from the balcony. You can see the unit from the pool which is great if your young ones want to run back to the unit for a extra towel or snack.
I would highly reccomend the unit and the location to anyone looking to stay in San Jose Del Cabo.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otishiltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We rent our unit out, as do many owners, directly, or through third parties. The hotel at La Jolla used to be called La Jolla, but is now Playa del Sol, as another poster stated. Most, the vast majority, of condos rented directly from homeowners are very nice. The condo section, or homeowner area of La Jolla is not on the same grounds as the Playa del Sol hotel. Anything to do with Playa del Sol is totally separate, as there are no connections between the two complexes, though they are directly next to each other.

The mistake was made here when whoever it was that submitted La Jolla as a hotel listing, did so back when the hotel was called the La Jolla Hotel. For many years now it has been called the Playa del Sol, under new owners I am told. La Jolla is actually the condominium complex right next door. This listing needs to be corrected, so as not to confuse the public who might prefer a hotel over a condo, or a condo over a hotel room.

After reading the incredible story above about D-308, all I can say is, check the renter's listing of references. The La Jolla complex is very well cared for, has the largest beachfront access of any hotel or condominium complex in all of San Jose del Cabo. It's a beautiful place to vacation. Of all of our rentals, we have an average of 45% return customers, which is probably typical for others in the complex.

I highly encourage you to come and enjoy our condos and our amenities. La Jolla is second to none. We've owned there now for about eight years.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ucluelet, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Our family has been here for 1 week, for Christmas, with another 10 days to go. What a great Christmas we've had!!! This is not a scam as written in other reviews. We are renting unit D-104, a ground level unit with the large heated pool on one side, and a pristine sandy white beach on the other - it doesn't get much better!!! This is not the Playa del Sol, as previously written, that is true. The Playa del Sol is right beside us - a very nice hotel. This is a private condo complex with lots of wonderful owners and renters. The beach is not the most kid-friendly swimming beach, due to the waves, but great for boogie boarding! When you get past the waves crashing on the beach, it's definately swimmable. My husband was out snorkeling yesterday and saw all kinds of fish - although there are better snorkeling beaches about 15 minutes down the road towards Cabo - Playa Chileno & Santa Maria. I would come back here in a heart beat, as many families do. There are owners and renters that come here every year for Christmas...it's a very friendly, safe, environment. You are about a 3 minute drive to the town center, and about 20 minutes to Cabo (I don't recommend Cabo - too crowded)
I would definately recommend La Jolla to anyone wanting to relax in the sun!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanya007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
1.3 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,690 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,749 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
#24 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Krystal Grand Los Cabos Hotel
Krystal Grand Los Cabos Hotel
#28 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla de Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla de Los Cabos

Property: La Jolla de Los Cabos
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km. 29, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 193
Also Known As:
La Jolla De Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
La Jolla De Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing