We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“5th floor, no elevator and no service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose del Cabo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Jolla de Los Cabos
Reviewed November 17, 2007

We expected to be in the new Playa del Sol that we had booked through HSI (and are Playa del Sol owners.)

When we arrived we were WALKED up 5 flights of windy tile stairs to a very used 2 bedroom unit in La Jolla. The place had never been updated
and one toilet was broken. The stove was OLD and unclean and the front
door had been broken so often it was a joke. The elevator was broken and never fixed.

Being disabled, I was stuck on the 5th floor for 2 days. No food or drinking water was even offered. I finally got down on the third day and planned to stay in the lobby if we were not moved to the new Playa
de Sol.

We were finally moved into a small studio unit in Playa del Sol. We had paid for a 2 bedroom. We managed okay in the new place, except for
the mouse and bugs in the bed.

Only one staff member really helped; she is the overworked Customer Service woman.

No one else seemed to care that they were housing people in the old La Jolla when these customers had, in fact, paid or traded for the new Playa del Sol.

The timeshare sharks that got us last year, were useless. Be very aware that the primary goal of this oddly combined resort is to sell, sell, sell timeshares.

Customers are minor inconveniences that are seen, but not heard. Check the condition your room is in before you accept it. If you book the La Jolla expect an old place. If you book Playa del Sol and get La Jolla refuse it. Argue, demand do what ever you have to do to get moved.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Melali8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 52 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2007

My husband and I just got back from an incredible vacation in San Jose del Cabo and I can't wait to tell everyone about this wonderful place.

First of all, I want to mention we were very worried about the condos at LaJolla before we left because of a review that posted after we had already booked and paid for our accomodations. Fortunately, we did not encounter any of these issues.

We travelled to Mexico for our wedding and booked 6 rooms next door at Playa del Sol. We still needed additional accomodations as we had more guests than planned. We wanted to have everyone centrally located, so I scoured the internet and came up with La Jolla. It was perfect and literally right next door...just across the pool area. The spectacular view from our condo unit at La Jolla was a combination of the beautiful beach and Playa del Sol's newly renovated pool. We couldn't have been happier. We originally rented two - 2 BR units and one Studio, but plans changed with a couple or our guests and the owner, Thane Pope, helped us to arrange even better room scenarios at no extra charge. Thane was incredible! We spoke with him regarding our situation and he accommodated all our requests. Thane gave us directions, insider tips regarding local restaurants and sites, and answered e-mails and calls promptly. He even hooked us up with Captain Julio who gave us a great deal on deep-sea fishing out of Palmilla.

My husband and I stayed in one of Thane's units - D308. We would definitely request it again. The condo was equipped with a full kitchen, 2 full baths and bedrooms, AC throughout, flat screen TV's, Internet, Satellite service, a Vonage phone line, XM radio, and a George Foreman grill on the patio. The condo was very clean and had all the utensils one would require to live in this unit. It was furnished nicely and the beds were comfortable. Everything was in working order and there were plenty of extra towels and linens for our 10 day stay. Thane even offered to arrange for a maid to come in and do a mid-week cleaning. Everyone who visited our unit said it felt like being at home.

There are three private pools for La Jolla guests and the grounds are meticulously maintained. The security guards and the staff in the HOA office are very helpful and kind. We spent some time in the large pool and met a few of the private owners. Most of the owners that we met were friendly, but a bit older and appreciated a quieter visit, so we brought our music and coolers to the beach.

The La Jolla complex is conveniently located near Trader Dick's mini-mart and several small places to eat. A little further down the road is a bank and a store called Mega (like a Super Wal-mart).

Locally, the authentic Mexican food was outstanding. We suggest Guacamaya (one of Thane's recommendations) and the Sardina Cantina which is very close. The owner of the Sardina Cantina actually offered to and prepared our catch the day after 10 of us went fishing. It was amazing.

We have been back 5 days and still find ourselves wishing we were back in Cabo listening to the waves break just steps away from our balcony.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mtb1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

We rented from Thane Pope. We arrived to find that we had no hot water for 2 days. On the 3rd day we had no water at all and had to carry pool water up 3 flights of stairs to flush toilets. The food we purchased from the store the first night had to be thrown away due to small ant-type insects. The telephone would not work and there were no directions at the condo re: how to use the TV/DVD, etc. We called the owner and let him know the problems we were having. He said the on-site manager would take care of everything, he didn't. We paid a $300 deposit, in addition to the rental fee. It's been several months and he has never returned our deposit. We traveled with 2 other families who also rented from Thane Pope and they had similar problems with their condos and he has never returned their deposits either. Please be careful who you rent from. This man will not return any of our calls, nor our e-mails. It's so disappointing to know that people like this are out there.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Zinnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

Where to start!!! The front door, sliding patio door and fridge did not work. If you were the first one in the shower - you got warm water - everyone else got cold. Although we figured out that cold water is better than no water! We left the room one day without any running water. We returned to running water all over the place. The maid must have attempted to wash dishes, but left the faucet open and
left. One extreme to the other - but at least the floors were cleaner
than I'm sure they ever have been! The grounds were pretty, but deserted! There was a swim up bar, but no one tending bar in the 7 days we were there. There were no bartenders at either of the other two outdoor bars either. You could order drinks from the restaurant
- but it takes 20 to 30 minutes per round. And - beware of timeshare sharks at the resort. The only thing they ever did was put down all the other resorts and tell us everyone else were liers! Needless to say - after being at the resort for the second day we decided not to attend the timeshare presentation. We did however, attend one at Mayan - and purchased a 4 week per year timeshare. Now that's a resort! Very professional! At LaJolla, if you can't find the concierge, Kathy, - try hiking up the hill to the Sardina Cantina - she is usually bellied up to the bar there. The place didn't seem to concerned about the people staying there - just the potential timesharers. Definately would not recommend to anyone! We loved the area and can't wait to go back next year and stay at the Mayan!!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WisconsinSconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2007

Resort is single 5-story building with mix of timeshare and whole ownership. Most, or all, of timeshare has been acquired by Playa del Sol group, who are building 7-story timeshare in front of existing building. This has reduced 180 degree ocean views to roughly 90 degrees. New name is Playa del Sol la Jolla. You will be offered a tour of new model and be pressured to buy "fractional" ownership. Do not buy from developer under any circumstances; they make the most exaggerated claims of almost any Mexican timeshare developer.

Resort is older but in generally good shape. Unit furnishings, appliances and fixtures are average comfort and condition, however, cabinetry and doors are in rough shape. More storage room than you could use for even an extended vacation. Air conditioning worked well, except older unit in second bedroom was weak. Noise from busy highway was 24-hours in back bedroom but air conditioner tended to muffle the traffic noise. Entire suite is served by a 10 US gallon hot water tank, which takes at least 30 minutes to reheat. Just so you don't get spoiled, the resort does not heat their pools or hot tub either. Resort has about 15 channels of satellite television but reception is generally poor. Dining room chairs are very uncomfortable.

Very quiet resort well away from Cabo San Lucas party scene. Taxi is $30 one-way to CSL and about half that to San Jose (historic town). You should have your choice of comfortable lounge chairs at either of two pools (one oceanside) and resort is on good, wide beach (swim at your own risk due to undertow). Have to track down waiters for service to poolside loungers, swim up bar and deck tables but they are friendly and helpful once you get their attention. On-site restaurant is OK. Concierge is rarely present. Activities office is staffed and you can get good discounts if you do take the timeshare tour (just remember to say no).

Apparently taxi union is very strong so 10-minute ride from airport to the resort is $55 (shuttle van is $12 per person). Return taxi to airport is $25. On arrival by air, you will have to swim the shark tank (i.e. visitors are funneled through a room full of timeshare arrangers). The incentives to attend a presentation are attractive. Hold out for at least $300 retail value plus round trip taxi from/to airport plus round trip taxi to/from presenation. Ensure full offer is in writing.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Explorerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

This place was an absolute dump - when we arrived, we were taken to our room which looked out over the highway and dirt parking lot. When out on the patio, you looked down to see garbage. The place is being renovated and only had 25 rooms available which of course they could not move us to a different room. There is a lot of construction noise all around you, stains on the walls and furniture and a bad smell in the rooms. We left within 2 hours of checking in and were ready to turn around and go home. However, we made light of it by staying in Cabo San Lucas.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zacksalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

After renting from an owner, and spending a whole month at La Jolla, we think we found most of the warts, but also enjoyed all the good stuff. If you're here for a few days or a week, you probably won't be disappointed, and will have a great time, much longer than that, prepare for some of the shine to wear off.

The great stuff is the location, a decent beach for sitting and walking on, but swimming is very iffy, and not realistic during this time of the year at least. You'll have to travel elsewhere for that. The buildings are generally ok, but may be starting to show some wear and tear. We had a week of leaky toilet and plumbing problems, got all that fixed, and then the power started going out for minutes, then hours, and then 2 days to get some major electrical panel replaced. Then the water went out city wide for a day and night. No fun that!

Eventually, we started having fun. We're pretty lowkey, and not very demanding, so we took it where we found it. Great places to eat in San Jose, with the Tulip Restaurant and Cabo Coffee Company our favorite. The Havana was all around awesome, Mi Ensalada was consistently pretty good with very friendly folks, Zippers was decent food with a great beachside location, and all within walking distance. Domino's pizza was OK, just different.

The Sardina Cantina which seems to be highly rated most places did NOT do it for us. Three visits, the first was OK, the next two were both busts, terrible service, LONG wait times, weird happy hour service, crummy food, maybe there's been a change of some kind there, be forewarned.

The MEGA store has it all at good prices, just be careful of the guys in the orange shirts, they're very helpful, but will get you into a timeshare presentation faster than you ever thought possible. We made around 400 bucks cash going to a couple of those things, which almost paid for a months groceries, plus some cheap/free activities.

The pools were great, security was constant and very friendly, the grounds are beautiful, and well kept, and the month was over way too fast

Stayed: January 2007
7  Thank Geezers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.6 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#25 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,397 reviews
0.9 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
678 reviews
3.0 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla de Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla de Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km. 29, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $160 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 193
Also Known As:
La Jolla De Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
La Jolla De Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing