We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a couple of days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okay for a couple of days”
Reviewed May 24, 2006

We stayed at the Casa Del Mar in May 2006.

Overall grounds are lovely, probably the best in Cabo. When we stayed there the hotel was half empty and not a lot of people in the condos so the hotel was very quiet, but at full occupancy it could be a problem. The hotel is small but the complex is very large when you consider all the condos that are attached to the property. Rooms were very comfortable and clean.

This is not a hotel that will not pamper you. You will have to get your own towels (at theBar), and the service staff is very nice but slow and not very attentive. Watch out for the food prices. Overall food is pricey like the rest of Cabo, but they gouge you on small items($16 for two bottles of water).

Good hotel for a couple of days to lay around on the beach, read a book and relax. If going to Cabo we would consider staying again.
Tip: when coming in from airport stop at MEGA store and stock up on water, snacks, etc.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjmm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    174
    57
    28
    20
See reviews for
103
541
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2006

What a wonderful place to visit. My wife and I took our honeymoon at the Casa del Mar and loved every minute of it. The grounds are amazing, the rooms spacious and comfortable, and the staff incredibly attentive and fun. This is an incredibly quiet and relaxing resort, not too big and not crowded either. Lots of pool space and great ocean views. Food was good, not totally outrageously priced, and for variety the bell staff will take you in a golf cart down to one of the other resorts if you like. We're not big golfers, but there's easy access to all the nice courses in the area.

Visit Casa del Mar if you like to relax, be pampered but not bothered, and get lost in the sun and scenery. Don't go if you like to be entertained 24X7 and like lots of people, noise, and crowded pools. Cabo san Lucas is only a short cab ride away as well.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gdg2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2006

My husband and I spent 9 amazing days at Casa del Mar. Their unspoken philiosophy is they want you to enjoy yourself. And did we enjoy ourselves!! They go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy yourself. The hotel and grounds are absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Aquarius suites and loved our room and the view from the living room and the bedroom. We sat on the balcony and marveled at the ocean view. The bathroom had a huge jacuzzi tub, a separate powerful shower and a separate dressing area. The food was very good.

While we were at the resort it never felt crowded. The resort is small - 56 rooms - and even though there are condo buildings around the property, it's so spread out that you don't feel like you are having to share your vacation with 25 other people.

We played pool, ping pong, ate out at the beach, had drinks on the beach under giant umbrellas. The pool at the beach is adult only which is very nice. The larger pool close to the hotel allows children and it's a great place for them to play.

One thing to know - you can't swim in the ocean. The undertow is too strong. The concierge at the hotel told us where to go to swim and we rented a car and drove about 15 minutes away to go swimming in the ocean. I thought I would be upset about not being able to swim in the ocean, but the pools are so wonderful at the resort that I didn't miss it.

The service at the resort is wonderful. Their energy is lovely. They want you to enjoy your stay. And they do everything they can to ensure you do. The whole experience was perfect!

The concierge was terrific. He gave us great tips on restaurants, places to visit. We drove to Todos Santos for lunch one day. It's a scarey drive. Two lane road with steep cliffs and no guard rails. Once you get there though, you'll be glad you made the trip. You could also hire someone to drive you there. It's green, lush with good art galleries and restaurants.

We went into San Jose del Cabo and ate dinner at excellent restaurants - La Panga, Tequila, Morgans, to name a few. There are wonderful art galleries in old town San Jose. Lovely people and no time shares, unlike Cabo. The resort doesn't provide transportation to San Jose del Cabo and it's only an $18- each way - cab ride. Well worth it.

We checked out One and Only Palmilla and I'm so thankful we didn't stay there. It is a "scene" place. Great if you like that sort of thing. The meal we had there was mediocre and expensive. I don't like to stay in resorts where the food isn't good, especially when it isn't good and it's expensive. And it was so crowded that people at the pool looked like sardines. The view is spectacular though. Worth a look and maybe a drink.

We had dinner at Ventanas close to the ocean. It was wonderful. The meal was very expensive The resort is beautiful. Just not our kind of place. We like to feel more relaxed and carefree. We came away realizing we wouldn't have felt comfortable at Ventanas. And since it's right next door, you might want to splurge.

Several nights we had room service and loved being off by ourselves, eating really good food and enjoying our lovely suite. I brought candles for the table and we bought wine in town and had some wonderfully quiet evenings.

The hotel has several restaurants - one in the main hotel, 2 pool side, and one out on the beach. That was fabulous to eat dinner (only) right on the beach where they grill everything on a mesquite grill.

They also make the best margaritas I've ever had. They give you one when you arrive to get you in the mood. I want to retain the wonderful mood and energy of Casa del Mar for as long as I can.

Our travel agent told us about Casa del Mar and she earned our business for a lifetime. It was a truly magical vacation and we will return - often!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HawaiiHappy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 14, 2006

Just returned from Casa Del Mar Condos, booked through Letscabo. I originally had booked through the hotel but am so happy that I found Letscabo---. When we arrived Elmar the Concierge promptly arrived to make us chips with guacamole and pico de gallo. He also mixed us up the best margaritas my husband and I have ever tasted. He then sat with us on our beautiful porch with a full close up view of the ocean and recommended many restaurants and activies. He was able to answer all of our questions and give us prices on acitivities that we were interested in.

The resort is gorgeous and the grounds our kept immaculate. 7 pools and very private. We rented a car which I defenitely recommend if you are interested in driving the 15 minutes to Cabo San Lucas, but beware, they drive like crazy people there, so get the insurance. Dont miss The Office and Mi Casa restaurants, both in Cabo. My only complaint were the people peddling silver, hats, and blankets on the beach. They were relentless, as soon as they saw you coming down from the resort to walk on the beach, they pick up their suitcases and begin to stalk you. They even came up to the guests that were swimming in the adult pool that is located on the beach to bug them, and they don't take no for an answer. I think it would be in the hotels best interest to do something about this. I could not even sit out on the beach and read a book because they kept interrupting me. Besides that, we are planning a trip here again next year, this time with the kids.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2006

I just returned from a 5 day stay at Casa Del Mar Condo's with 5 friends.
We had previously stayed at the Resort but this year decided to rent one of the condo's through a company called LETSCABO. The condo was as beautiful as it looked in the pictures and it was amazingly clean. When we arrived we were greeted by our conceirge in the unit with margarittas and chips. He then planned out all the activities for us over the next several days. He also made trips to the market for us when we ran out of water and beer! As you can see from the other reviews for the resort it is top notch wiht a profesisonal and polite staff, the resort is small but never ever seems crowded.
We are already planning our trip back next year and will stay in the condo's again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at the Casa Del Mar. We chose this resort after much research on the internet and TripAdvisor recommendations.

Our airport transportation was on time and the staff was very professional. Our suite was very well appointed, however we did feel that the bed linens and chair cushions needed to be updated and/or cleaned. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious with a large tiled shower. Lots of water pressure and hot water. The towels were changed twice a day and overall the room was quite clean, except for the mats beside the bed which looked dirty. We left a small tip for our maid every morning.

We were not overly impressed with the front desk staff or the concierge. They made car and dinner reservations for us but other than that we didn't find them very helpful. We were a little put off by the $6 charge for 30 min of internet use. The tennis courts were always available and we never had to wait in line. We only ate breakfasts in the hotel restaurant and the staff there were not great either. The best staff at the resort were definitely the waiters at the Mezquite Grill on the beach. They were very friendly, attentive and polite. We ate dinner on the beach our first night and the seafood was amazing. We had a couple of lunches on the beach and the food was very good and reasonably priced with impeccable service from the staff. You definitely didn't have to wait long to have a fresh drink in your hand.

The highlight of this resort was definitely the beaches. Beautiful, clean and lots of chairs and umbrellas. There were very few people on the beach at one time and we usually had as much privacy as we wanted. We were glad we left our children at home as the beach and pools had a very adult feel to them. It was a wonderfully relaxing couples vacation. The only annoyance was the people constantly selling trinkets on the beach.

We had dinners in both Cabo and San Jose and the best thing we did was take the bus both ways. The bus stops right outside the gates of the hotel and seems to be there every 10 or 15 minutes. It is very cheap and we never felt uncomfortable or unsafe. The last bus leaves Cabo at 10pm every night. We saved hundreds of dollars in cab fare by doing this.

We were surprised to find that a lot of restaurants and souvenir shops would only accept cash. Mi Casa restaurant in Cabo told us their Visa machine wasn't working after they brought us the bill. We heard from others that this is quite common and you should always have enough cash on hand in case this happens. The bank machine at the Hilton is a way better deal for getting cash than going through the hotel. The front desk staff at the Casa Del Mar told us they would charge $10 for every $100 cash they gave us.

Overall, our experience at the Casa Del Mar was a positive one. No crowds, screaming children or waiting in line for a beach chair. Our feelings about Mexico in general were not so positive. We found Cabo to be very crowded, dirty and expensive and we will likely not return there. The most positive experience we had outside our resort was a trip to Todos Santos which is a small village filled with artisans. Very quaint and a much better shopping experience than Cabo. Worth the one hour drive if you have a car.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank telters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington heights, illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2006

Just returned from a week stay we booked through Letscabo, we stayed in a beautiful 2 bdrm, 2 bath unit Duna 203. The unit was decorated very nicely and the kitchen had all the immenities like home (down to the spices in the cabinet). The staff at Casa Del Mar could not be more helpful and the grounds made us feel like we were in Hawaii. There are several pools throughout the resort besides the main hotel pool so nothing ever felt over crowded. Letscabo also recommended we pre-rent a car prior to going which was great advice since this resort is midway between San Jose and Cabo. They also offered to have groceries brought to the unit for a minimal charge prior to our arrival. We can't wait to go back there!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MSS811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
6.9 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,692 reviews
7.3 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,162 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,819 reviews
4.2 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 19.5 | Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23405, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the tourist corridor of Los Cabos conveniently on the beachfront, overlooking the Sea of Cortez, Casa del Mar Golf Resort and Spa, is your hacienda oasis in Los Cabos, Mexico. An intimate 50 room ocean view luxury boutique hotel where you can experience the warm Mexican hospitality and personalized service. Casa del Mar offers luxury amenities and accommodations, providing the perfect options and facilities for a relaxing escape, spectacular wedding or romantic honeymoon, a rewarding business travel experience, or a golfer's haven. The spacious rooms and suites are all entirely within a peaceful oasis of lush gardens, fountains and pools. Enjoy your quiet, relaxing vacation on an expansive beach. Rejuvenate body and spirit at our renewed luxury spa, enjoy our championship golf courses or venture out to explore the excitement of Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoetry Casa Del Mar Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Casa Del Mar Golf Resort & Spa Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing