We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2005

My wife and I recently completed a wonderful 5 nite stay as Casa Del Mar. The service/staff was amazing. When they found out that it was our 10 year anniversary a bottle of champagne and plate of chocolate covered strawberries was delivered to our room. Hotel was at capacity but was very quiet and peaceful. Location is ideal being 15 minutes out of downtown, just a $1 bus ride that you catch outside the main gate (beats $50 round trip cab fare).

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    158
    54
    28
    19
See reviews for
89
516
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2005

Loved the smaller scale size of the resort property and booked the suite which was AMAZING. Had our own private terrace and views of th ocean. The service was great and really liked the secluded beach with pool for adults only. The margaritas at the pool bar prepared by Julio were the best!! There were families and children but still quiet and relaxing. Would definitely recommend. Only downside is that dining options for dinner were limited and a bit pricey...but worth it.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank j_dean2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

The condo we stayed in was great at Casa Del Mar. Oceanfront one way, pool right outside our door. We took our 2 children 9, 14. They had a blast at the beach. If you want to swim in the ocean you can drive a little ways down to the Cabo Surf Hotel where they rent boogie boards and surf boards. Drinks are pricey at Casa Del Mar, we bought our own at the Mega store and kept in our kitchen.

The condo was so homey and clean. It had everything we needed including magazines, movies, games, laundry room.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2005

We just got back (we were supposed to be in Playa Del Carmen but Emily got in the way!) We rented one of the condos and thoroughly enjoyed it - it was clean and had all the items we needed (from kitchen utensils to a cd player). It was not very crowded, which we enjoyed - in fact, most of the time we had the pool to ourselves. We did not eat at the hotel (we had breakfast and lunch in our condo) but did use their internet service, so our connection with the hotel was very limited. Although we prefer to go to a place where you can get in the water, this three day excursion provided us exactly what we needed which was rest and relaxation. We rented a car and drove every evening into Cabo (that would be my recommendation instead of relying on taxis). Hope everyone who goes enjoys it as much!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2005

Mexico. How shall I begin. What a GREAT trip. The resort is very beautiful and VERY clean. The staff VERY helpful, although be prepared- Many do not speak english. But your in Mexico! Kick back, relax. We had a one bedroom suite and I have to say we didnt want to leave the room. Very large and I think it was cleaned 3 times a day!!! The room service prices were not bad at all. Drinks WAY overpriced. (Bring your own) The spa was SOOO relaxing. Every night from 6-7pm is happy hour in the bar. Appetizers and 2 for 1 drinks. The hotel was totally full and I think we saw maybe 8 people at one time AT THE MOST. This is a great place to relax and get rid of stress. I am planning another trip today, and we just got back yesterday...

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Baronent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2005

We just got back from Cabo. Casa del Mar is beautiful. We booked our trip through (---). We were so impressed. When we arrived at our rented condo, the air conditioning was on and there was ice in the freezer. What an amazing start to our trip. The condos were beutiful and were very well maintained. The people at (---) were very orgaized and cordial. Overall it was a great experience. We are already planning our next trip through (---)

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2005

We just returned a few weeks ago from a wonderful honeymoon at the Casa Del Mar. As soon as we arrived the staff was very helpful and friendly. During check in they upgraded us to a suite (since we were on our honeymoon)! Our room was located in the main hotel building and overlooked the main pool with the Sea of Cortez behind it. It was absolutely amazing! Our room was very spacious with a separate living room area that opens up to the balcony, which overlooks the ocean. It was very clean and comfortable. Every night they turn down your room by closing the curtains, turning the bed linens down, replenishing the towels, and placing chocolates on the bed! It was a nice little touch.

Being that neither of us had been to Cabo before it was very difficult to decide on where to stay. I did a lot of research on Tripadvisor and frequently reviewed comments that other travelers posted to make my final descision. We visited two of the other hotels that we were debating against (Westin Regina and Palmilla) and we were so thankful that we chose to stay at the Casa Del Mar. The other two hotels were so big with so many rooms whereas the Casa Del Mar is much smaller and more intimate. It feels like a place that you discovered that very few people know about, even though it's very popular.

The hotel itself is beautifully landscaped with rich Spanish architecture and textiles. The main pool has a swim up bar, small water slide for children, and a jacuzzi. There is also a smaller pool that is right on the beach and is adults only. It also has a swim up bar and jacuzzi. At both pools you can order appetizers (chips, salsa, nachos, shrimp cocktail) and lunch (hamburgers, quesadilla, fish tacos) for a reasonable price. The pool staff was very helpful and friendly. They bring you towels and put the umbrella up for you when you decide where you are going to layout. The service was exceptional! The only drawback is that the pool and jacuzzi both close at 8:00 p.m. I thought that it should at least be open until 9:00 p.m. especially the jacuzzi.

We had breakfast every morning at the El Tampaco restaurant since it was included in our package. It's a breakfast buffet filled with pastries, sausage, potatoes, fried bananas, fruit and much more. It was great because breakfast was served until 12:00 p.m. We were able to sleep in, have a late breakfast, and then layout, swim, and relax all day. We would normally order appetizers at the pool to snack on and then go out for dinner. This saved us a lot of money since all of cabo even downtown cabo is pretty pricey unless you eat at a taco stand etc. One night we ordered Dominoes pizza and they delivered right to the hotel. By far this was the cheapest ($15.00 U.S.) dinner we had during our stay! Although we never tried the El Tampaco for dinner we did however try the Mesquite Grill. The Mesquite grill is right on the sand near the adults only pool. They set up about eight tables which are surrounded by tiki torches and a fire pit. They grill steaks, fish, and chicken right on the beach at sunset. It was so romantic! My husband and I were dining on the sand under the stars (literally) with the sounds of the waves crashing in front of us. It was a perfect way to spend our last night in cabo. It was about $100.00 U.S. but worth every penny.

The hotel also has a small bar, Maguey, which is directly across from El Tampaco. We would go there after dinner to shoot pool and order drinks. The only downfall is that it closes at 11:00 p.m. But we didn't mind too much because we are not heavy drinkers/partiers .. . well at least not on our honeymoon. If you want to stay at a loud party like hotel than the Casa Del Mar is not for you. Your best bet would be to stay in Cabo San Lucas and not in the Corridor. The Corridor is much quieter with an older more mellow crowd. The Casa Del mar is really quiet and relaxing which is what we liked. People that stay there sort of treat it like a library. They don't act obnoxious!

We both got the suenos massage, which is a full body massage, right on the beach in the palapa. It was 50 minutes and every minute felt great. I've only had one other massage in my life and it was not good at all so I went in with low expectations. However, this massage felt so good! They are licensed therapists and really know how to relieve all your tension. We both liked it so much that we booked another one for our last day but I got so badly sunburned from lying out that I had to cancel it. I was so upset at myself!

Without a doubt we will stay at the Casa Del Mar when we go back to Cabo San Lucas. If you need additional information or have questions feel free to e-mail me.

Quick Helpful Tips:

Most of the people speak English but it is always nice and respectful to try to speak a little Spanish. I'm whiter than white and I did it!

Most of the hotels including Casa Del Mar are on non-swimable beaches. If this is really important to you make sure you pick the right location.

Rent a car if you plan on straying from your hotel a lot. Our car from Hertz was about $30.00 a day. This way your free to come and go as you please without getting ripped off. The taxi's charge $20.00 to $40.00 U.S. one-way into town. It is not difficult to drive in Cabo. Everything is on one highway and it is very easy to get around. Just be cautious of the taxi drivers, they drive nutty!

Remember that you are in a foreign country so don't try anything stupid or the Policia will get you and that can't be too much fun.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
29 Thank jensagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
6.9 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#13 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
7.3 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cabo Surf Hotel
Cabo Surf Hotel
#26 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#7 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
12.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 19.5 | Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23405, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the tourist corridor of Los Cabos conveniently on the beachfront, overlooking the Sea of Cortez, Casa del Mar Golf Resort and Spa, is your hacienda oasis in Los Cabos, Mexico. An intimate 54 room ocean view luxury boutique hotel where you can experience the warm Mexican hospitality and personalized service. Casa del Mar offers luxury amenities and accommodations, providing the perfect options and facilities for a relaxing escape, spectacular wedding or romantic honeymoon, a rewarding business travel experience, or a golfer's haven. The spacious rooms and suites are all entirely within a peaceful oasis of lush gardens, fountains and pools. Enjoy your quiet, relaxing vacation on an expansive beach. Rejuvenate body and spirit at our renewed luxury spa, enjoy our championship golf courses or venture out to explore the excitement of Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoetry Casa Del Mar Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Casa Del Mar Golf Resort & Spa Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing