We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect small central hotel”
Review of Casa Natalia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Natalia
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect small central hotel”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

So glad we chose this instead of one of the huge impersonal 'prison like' monstrosities on the beach! It is hard to describe the charm and beauty of the public areas here - it takes your breath away on first sight. What a clever use of space! Beautiful open air restaurant flowing onto lovely little pool area with hammocks, loungers and scented flowers & shrubs. Our room had a small private sitting area separated from public area by little hedge and flowers. The room and bathroom are a little quirky - fun but still practical. The staff could not be faulted - all were exceptionally helpful, kind, funny and charming. The location is perfect - central but quiet. The walk down to the beach takes about 20 mins but there is a circular bus that you can flag down if you want - very very cheap as well. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented - almost too pretty to eat. (Suggest you have it in the restaurant and not brought to your room.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TA2-Peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaNatalia, Propietario at Casa Natalia, responded to this review, December 7, 2016
Thank you and it is always wonderful to get lovely comments like yours!
We wanted to invite you to visit our new website and we would love to welcoming you again soon!

saludos
nathalie tenoux & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    79
    18
    7
    11
See reviews for
38
285
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Local friends wanted us to try their latest "find": a truly good restaurant amid a sea of tourist restaurants in the Cabo area. So we stopped for a delicious lunch at the outdoor restaurant with the Casa Natalia boutique hotel, in the old town area of San Jose del Cabo. Our lunch was very fresh seared Ahi tuna, served as "fish tacos", with a very beautiful plate presentation. They had a nice wine list, and the service was friendly and efficient. The patio setting, under the palm trees and umbrellas was charming.
Don't forget to leave a few hours for wandering the galleries and shops of old town San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaNatalia, Director General at Casa Natalia, responded to this review, December 7, 2016
Hope you will visit our Mi Cocina @ Casa Natalia and discover our Baja Oyster Bar, our new addition to our special place!

come and discover!

nathalie buchler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in Casa Natalia for our first night of our trip, prior to heading to our timeshare. I booked one of the two Spa Suites. What a cool room!!! The desk lady escorted us to our room to introduce us to its features. The king size bed was decorated with rose petals and a couple other flowers to make charming and beautiful first impression. Later, the bed turned out to be quite comfortable, for a good nights sleep. The room had a nice television, with a love seat for viewing, but we never got to try it. The room also had a generous sized bathroom area with a great step down into shower. The 3rd floor room also had a large deck area! On the deck were two lounge chairs, a double sized hammock, a table with chairs and a hot tub! After lounging around in the sun, we went out and roved about town a bit. The hotel is very close to the town square, and a very well attended talent competition was being held. Very entertaining! After a bite to eat, we returned to the room and tried out the hot tub! Very relaxing! That and some wine allowed us to sleep like babies! The Cactus Suite, ours, is in closer proximity to the public street than the Sol Suite. We had some road noise, but a foam ear plug handled that! In the morning, a complimentary, pre-ordered breakfast was delivered to the room, where we dined on the deck on the previously mentioned table and chairs. The breakfast was great!! Later, we also had lunch in the open restaurant. Also quite good! On our next stay here, we will have dinner at this hotel. The room was a little pricey, but it surpassed my expectations! We'll be back!

Room Tip: The Sol Suite would probably be a bit quiter than the Cactus Suite, but lacks nthe territorial view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLeonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaNatalia, Propietario at Casa Natalia, responded to this review, December 7, 2016
Thank you and it is always wonderful to get lovely comments like yours!
We wanted to invite you to visit our new website and we would love to welcoming you again soon!

saludos
nathalie tenoux & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

After staying 5 days on the beach, we spent our last 3 days at this beautiful hotel in the heart of old San Jose. We arrived after dark and finding the hotel and parking the car were a bit challenging, so make sure you have good directions before you go.

Positives:
* Fantastic service! Probably the best thing about the hotel. All of the staff were warm, welcoming and helpful!
* Unique location. Adjacent to the historic city square and close to shops, galleries, restaurants and a large estuary and bird sanctuary. Great location for walking, shopping and exploring, but far from the beach. Some reviewers complained of noise, but even though we were there during a large festival, once you entered the hotel it was surprisingly peaceful.
* Tons of charm. The walled-in garden courtyard is beautifully designed and surprisingly tranquil. Nice spaces for socializing, reading or relaxing while listing to the "waterfall" and chirping birds. We didn't swim in the pool, but enjoyed lounging near it.
* Restaurant had great service, ambiance and food and although a little pricey, was comparable to other local restaurants.
* Room was spacious and nicely decorated, includes a private patio and swinging hammock. Some people complained of not having hot water available for showers. We never experienced this, so maybe the problem was fixed.

Needs improvement:
* Bed was very hard and uncomfortable. This was probably the biggest problem and other reviewers have complained about it as well. The hotel needs to add some foam or pillow toppers to the beds to soften then up a little. The bedding also looked a little worn.
* Room was very dark. Hotel needs to add some sheers to the windows along with the heavy drapes (especially on the 1st floor) so you can have some privacy without blocking out all the sunshine. Lighting in the bathroom was also very dim.
* Bottled water should be provided free of charge. This is the only hotel we've stayed at in Mexico that did not provide complimentary bottled water.
* An alarm clock, phone and clothes iron should also be provided in the room. These are basic necessities for a four star hotel.
* It would be nice to have a minibar in the room since there are no shops close by that sell drinks or snacks.

Room Tip: For more privacy and sunshine, ask for a room on an upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vblund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaNatalia, Propietario at Casa Natalia, responded to this review, December 7, 2016
Thank you and it is always wonderful to get lovely comments like yours!
We wanted to invite you to visit our new website and we would love to welcoming you again soon!

saludos
nathalie tenoux & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed a week ( march 1-8/13) at Casa Natalia. The location was perfect as it was close to boutiques, restaurants and art galleries. The hotel itself is intimate and has an air of elegant simplicity. All the staff are endlessly helpful and courteous.Edwardo at the front desk was particularly helpful to us.
Our room was spacious and the bed and pillows were very comfortable.We enjoyed opening the windows over top the bed to let the sounds of the birds chirping start our day. Breakfast on the deck was delicous and you hear the water flowing in the courtyard and wind in the tall palms.
The gift shop carries some lovely lotions and different items than other shops.
We like to walk and found a path around the estuary and along the beach to the Marina. You can walk over the bridge to the Marina about half hour walk. You can have lunch or swim with the dolphins at the marina. For more adventurous walk up the dirt path to Baja Books and ring the bell to see a great selection of english books on the area and more.
San Jose Del Cabo is freindly has great bus service and you can get the bus for $3.00 and head in Los cabos for the day. Ask the bus driver about the Todos Santso for $14.00 ( one way) you get an air condtioned bus with a movie from Los Cabos.
There is good food everywhere in San Jose Del Cabo we liked Nana's down the block, Molly's across the square, Mia Casa a few blocks away and Teo for a good burger. Tropicana has a good five person band most nights. Casa Natalia has excellent food and we heard good singer there on Wednesday nights.
We had a 10 out 10 experince at Casa Natalia and would go back in heart beat. Thank you to owners and staff for making our stay so fanastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blangf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaNatalia, Propietario at Casa Natalia, responded to this review, December 7, 2016
Thank you and it is always wonderful to get lovely comments like yours!
We wanted to invite you to visit our new website and we would love to welcoming you again soon!

saludos
nathalie tenoux & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor,Ontario Canada)
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Natalia. It's location was the very best as it was close to boutiques, restaurants and art galleries. The setting was absolutely beautiful. It's amazing what can be done on a narrow lot in Mexico! Our room was pretty basic but with a very comfortable bed and pillows.
The hotel workers were very friendly and courteous. My suggestions to kick it up a notch would be to have better lighting in the room. I found it to be too dark to put on makeup either in the bathroom or in the bedroom. I had to go out to our terrace to get better lighting. We missed having a phone in our room. The food was very good as was the entertainment on Wednesday night. I would consider going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vitabella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaNatalia, Director General at Casa Natalia, responded to this review, December 7, 2016
Thank you and it is always wonderful to get lovely comments like yours!
We wanted to invite you to visit our new website and we would love to welcoming you again soon!

saludos
nathalie tenoux & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful anniversary vacation celebration in San Jose del Cabo. We found a hidden boutique hotel gem located on the end of the main street in town and an easy walk to restaurants, art galleries, the Thursday night artwalk, etc. We found this hotel last year when we were staying at the Grand Mayan (timeshare banditos), where it seems once they get your money, they do not care about their guests/owners.

We couldn’t have been more pleased with the friendly and attentive service, provided by the well-trained front desk staff and the husband and wife owners, who are from Europe, were frequently onsite and making sure everything was running smoothly. We enjoyed several outstanding meals prepared by Chef Joaquin and our room was upscale with nice upgrades and at a very affordable price.

We were so happy with our experience there that we have already booked a two-week stay for next year. We have stayed at two other inns in San Jose, neither of which compares with this very chic and classy European style hotel. You simply can’t go wrong with Casa Natalia and we can’t wait to get back for more fine food and fun!

Marc and Elisabeth Matson
From Sonoma County Wine Country in Northern California

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaNatalia, Propietario at Casa Natalia, responded to this review, December 12, 2016
Even this message has been a long time ago,
I thought this was a great way to say hello and say that we have missed you...
hope to see you both again very soon at Casa Natalia, and try our new Baja Oyster Bar.

saludos from all !
happy Holiday season

nathalie, Loic & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
1.2 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,710 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#18 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
438 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#21 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
338 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Natalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Natalia

Property: Casa Natalia
Address: Boulevard Antonio Mijares 4 | In the heart of the Historic Downtown, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Natalia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Natalia is an intimate 18 room European-style boutique hotel located in the historic village of San Jose del Cabo in Baja California Sur since 1999. Nestled in the art district of San Jose del Cabo, Casa Natalia is right in the midst of Spanish Colonial buildings, quaint shops, romantic restaurants and a lush nature preserve estuary. The grounds are an oasis of 39 full-grown palm trees and tropical bougainvilles. The outdoor palapa lounge indulges guests with views of the hotel's cascading waterfalls, heated swimming pool and open flame braziers. Here, you can meet the owners and staff of this gem of leisure, luxury and romance. We are proud of our working family, and enthusiastic to meet with you at our 'Casa'. Casa Natalia is renowned for its personalized service and attention to details, as well as for its innovative cuisine served at Mi Cocina Restaurant and Baja Oyster Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Natalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Natalia Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Casa Natalia Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing