We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three hotels in one -- make sure you stay at the right one” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Three hotels in one -- make sure you stay at the right one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

The staff at this place are awesome. We booked through Orbitz who somehow managed to not transmit our reservation down to the Holiday Inn and as such when we arrived on site they not only didn't have our room but were fully booked. The evening manager, David, found a place for us at a nearby hotel, got us transportation there, and picked up the tab until a room at the Holiday Inn opened up for us.

Once we got back to the Holiday Inn the staff continued to impress; while everything else about the place was Average-ish, the staff more than made up for it. That and the daily taco stand that runs from noon to 5pm every day -- easily the best food at the place, though that's a relatively low bar since the food was pretty meh overall.

While very happy with our stay, it was almost by chance we didn't have a horrible time. Parts of the resort can be very, very loud, and vastly different crowds inhabit each of the pool areas. We totally lucked out in having a room facing the ocean overlooking the Family Pool, and found the Estuary Pool on the second day, which I think has the best bar. As a result we had a largely good and relaxing time, though it's difficult to not run into screaming children and/or almost offensively drunk folks going from room to pool to dining. As a final warning, most every night has a show as the Explanada, which will be boomingly loud until 8:30 - 9:00. If noise is a concern, be sure to check with the staff where your room is and which way your windows (and doors!) face.

Room Tip: Lots of kids and families and quiet nights at the Family Pool near the 5, 6, and 7000 rooms, and som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBSanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    1,179
    554
    243
    132
See reviews for
859
1,231
40
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poteau
Level Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We recently stayed 4 days at the Holiday Inn in San Jose del Cabo and had a nice time. The food was not great but good. The only complain I would have is they did not have all the restaurants open and you had a hour wait to eat dinner or go to the beach side buffet. The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were fine and the price was very good. Three pools in three different areas, kids-activity-adults. Really enjoyed the bike ride with Samantha but sign up a day or two before because only 10 can go. The location was also good, next to a wildlife preserve, on the beach and a short distance from downtown. I like this area better than Cabo San Luis, less touristy and more like old Mexico.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at Holiday Inn Resort - Feb 27 - Mar 6, 2014. This was our first all inclusive ever and not so sure we had chosen the right place. But again we love to explore so not really sure if it was the resort or the all inclusive part of it. The service is fantastic and the resort is so clean. The food was okay - we didn't starve, but gets boring after a couple of days. Much like a cruise. There were alot of choices for all meals and breakfast being the best. The coffee is really good also. When it was out and when there were some left. Everyone was like dying hawks for their last drop of water waiting for the coffee every morning...LOL.

The mornings were the best - so peaceful - alot of birds. You could watch the whales breach in the distance. The resort has 3 pools. One for the families with a kids area. The adult only / quite pool and the activities pool. It was great in the morning and all day until about 7pm. Then it dies way way down. There is really only one bar which stays open and they have a lady that comes in 5 nights of the week which she sings along to her computer. Just okay. The other 2 nights they had a Mariachi band come in and they were fantastic - really got the crowd going. Down fall - all entertainment was for one hour. Over at the buffet there was a show every night. Okay but again - only limited things to do. We also noticed a large number of older people. Some of which we talked to said they have been coming back for 15 years. Beds - OMG they were so so hard. New / Clean but hard as rock. We left there with sore achy hips.

Also a lack of coordination with the restaurants. They had the outdoor buffet every night. And the a la carte was only avail. 4 nights that we recall. Our last night there it was inside the smallest portion of the resort which only had about 30 tables. So long line ups and long waits.

The resort however is the perfect location to walk to San Jose which is one of the most beautiful towns I have been in. So that is a plus. And really geared more towards older and more low key people. If you want relaxation and nothing else - this is def. the place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5208 - blding 5 / floor 2 - which was right near the gym and over looking the fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newfie_penney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, ab
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was our third trip to San Jose Del Cabo, but our first stay at this hotel. Overall, we loved it here, it's location right next to the bird sanctuary couldn't be better. Our check-in was slow because so many of us arrived at the same time, but it was worth the wait to be upgraded to a ground floor unit facing the adult pool - lovely!! On looking around the complex, we realized that we would have hated being closer to the loud activity pool. But, we will be back if we can be guaranteed getting the same sort of room by the adult pool again.

One thing that the front desk personnel should warn about is that while we had no trouble changing our Canadian dollars into Pesos at the beginning of our stay - at the end of our stay when we wanted to change the leftover Pesos back to dollars we were flatly refused. It would have been nice to have been told that this would be the case beforehand.

Secondly - For some reason the housekeeping staff didn't come by to do our room until 4:00 p.m. on most of the days, while on other days they were there before we left the room in the morning. We weren't sure what to make of that, but we presumed that it was staff rotation that was the reason.

The most irritating downers for us were all to do with different aspects of the restaurants. Two things are minor, but they made a difference in our enjoyment of our experience. First, there was no actual cream for our coffee - only little containers that look like regular coffee cream, but turned out to be a cream substitute and tasted like liquid coffee-mate - ick! Secondly, there was only unsalted margarine available to spread on toast and buns. It would be nice to have the choice of butter or salted margarine as well. And what's with the rationing out of bacon - is there a pork shortage in Mexico?

Our major beef has to do with the number of restaurants that are actually open in the evenings. For some reason only 2 out of 4 restaurants were available every evening. Surely Holiday Inn can afford to hire more staff to allow for some actual dining choices. We wound up at the beach front restaurant which offers differently themed buffets nightly which is okay, but nothing special. Also included is some so-so entertainment on a very tiny stage. Because of this policy of only having 2 restaurants open per evening, it meant long line-ups at whichever sit-down restaurant was open that evening.

So, back to why we love it here - the walkable nature of the town, it was easy to get to the town square with the church that was built in the 1700's and art galleries and some very nice souvenir shops. We walked everywhere and when we got tired we were always able to find a taxi at reasonable prices. The people are friendlier here than we've experienced in other tourist towns with fewer time-share hawkers.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the adult pool are great because they are in the shade in the afternoons. Being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amhdidsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

our party of 8 arrived at the hotel on Friday Feb. 28th.The first thing we encountered was the hotel clerk wanting to sell us an upgrade, and it was down hill from there. The place is very clean, the staff friendly, but the food when available is really awful! I have stayed at many all- inclusive hotels but never one that did't offer the buffet every night for dinner. Most nights the inside buffet was closed, one night when they were open you had to make a reservation to eat in the buffet restaurant and the wait was 3 hours! Every night they did have the outside buffet and show, but it filled up quickly and the food lines were long, and the food cold. They did offer the "Patio dining" which you were also required to have a "reservation" for. This means you have to line up about an hour or so before they open to be guaranteed a table before 9 pm. Again it is outside and the food which barely starts out warm is cold by the time you get it. They also made a mistake posting what days they were having what type of food. For instance it was supposed to be Italian on Wed, night but ended up being Oriental, for which I am allergic to, and most in our group do not like, We finally called domino's pizza and had them deliver pizza. We went to the concierge's desk to ask about a good place to eat lobster and steak as the 6th of March was the birthdays for two in our party. She recommended Habanero's just up the road. We went there and it too was not very good, cold and overpriced. But imagine our surprise when we returned to find the hotel itself had the indoor restaurant (which they told us on the first day was closed permanently) was not only open but they were serving steak & lobster! Sure they charge extra for i,t but it would have been less expensive than going elsewhere, and that wasn't very good. We are not picky people, but I have to say this was the worst food I have ever had, and to be forced to make a reservation for an all inclusive or wait in line for hours even in the outside buffet line, is not except-able! To top it all off shortly after eating our first meal there we were all sick with terrible flu like symptoms. We can not say for certain it was from what little food we did eat, or from the fact it was soaked in MSG, but it seems logical, since once we stopped eating the food, we all got better. I have never been so hungry at an all inclusive as i was here! Please be aware that the beautiful beach is useless. If you have kids or you like to swim in the ocean, this place is not for you. It has very dangerous riptides!

Room Tip: choose a different hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Rebecca S,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Los Cabos.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks and just came home. One can't say enough about the great service and friendly staff at the resort. It starts at the front desk with Raul, the front desk manager. He is very sympathetic to the needs and wants of the folks staying at the hotel. He seems to do everything in his power to accommodate. In general around the resort it is rare to hear the word no, or no we can't do this or that. It is almost always yes or lets go see someone else and see if it’s possible to accommodate everyone's needs. I have some disabilities and Raul was able to put us on the ground floor right beside the adult pool area very near the bar. It wasn’t far from any of the restaurants either. That is accept the Napa which was on the other side of the resort. We did eat there some times but found the other eating areas served us very well. I would say one of the best 30 odd rooms in the place. It was just perfect for us. A view of the ocean from our patio and shaded from the afternoon sun.
The ladies cleaning rooms were fantastic, very honest and trustworthy. Alma, the lady who was the primary bar keep at the adults bar was incredible. She has been at the resort for 32 years as have some of the other staff. Alma has been in this bar for seven of those years. My wife and I felt as though we got to know her as a person and not just as a bar keep. A warm and wonderful person. She can be all business when it’s busy around the bar but if she has a bit of time she loves to talk about her family.
The beds are a bit hard (I think one can ask for a topper to soften the beds), we didn’t and we managed fine. The food doesn’t knock your socks off but we were always able to find things we loved on the buffets. The salads and fresh fruit were fabulous, the soups were always good. There was always a good variety of hot food choices. Usually fish (always good), chicken (also always good) pork and beef. The desert table was always filled with cakes and sweets of all kinds, always good. My wife and I both gained weight while were staying here. In total I would say the resort is well worth the money. We had a great time there with the people we met as well as the staff. We didn’t go to Mexico for the food but we were quit pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews on the food. For all the other reasons we went to Mexico this resort knocked it out of the park for us.

Room Tip: This resort caters to families with smaller children. They have a whole pool as well as staff to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We just returned last night and I must say the staff is really nice, the food is good lots of choices. I had a steak one night which is a slight up charge and it was very tasty. We had a good time except for the couple 2 doors down from us would never leave us alone. Joanne and Jack. We could not sit on our little porch and read or just have coffee and relax without them coming over and talking NON Stop. Its nice to meet people and make conversation, but they took it to a whole new level. They never left us alone for the rest of the trip. Glad to be home for some peace and quiet. If you want a place that is reasonable, clean and close to the town this is a good choice. They have a kid pool, the adult party pool and a pool just for adults which is quiet and away from the louder pools.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mpustay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#21 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
18.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#59 of 115 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
17.5 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#18 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,257 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#36 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#13 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Address: Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a white sand beach and the Sierra de San Lazaro Mountains, Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos is truly "at one" with the environment. At or near the resort, you'll golf, play tennis, swim and ride horses while younger guests explore the Chiqui Kids Club. To expand your fun in the sun, Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo are minutes away. Two restaurants, one Buffet and one a la carte, room service, 6 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Cabos Hotel
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos Resort
Intercontinental San Jose Del Cabo
Los Cabos Presidente
Presidente Cabo
El Presidente Cabo
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing