We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I only have three complaints...the food, the internet, and the entertainment. The views are great, the beach is all you could want for the los cabos area, the pools were good, but the only good food is at breakfast. Unless you like hotdogs and hamburgers every day, the lunch choices suck. The evening buffet is the worst I've ever experienced. No dish was prepared well. Many left me scratching my head wondering what it was. Nothing tasted like it should. The buffet chef should be fired. I was disappointed every time I went to the buffet. And the entertainment was the same every night. 6 dancers dancing to canned music. The internet was intermittent and slow...inexcusable for this day and age. Unless they fix the evening buffet and change up the entertainment, I won't be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgz_400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear dgz_400,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 3,396 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

Having been to Mexico and Cabo many times, I have to say we were pleasantly surprised for the value we received at this resort. We normally stay at pricier resorts, but saw a fabulous price on this one and thought give it a try. ( half the cost of what we normally spend) We did not have high expectations so were not dissappointed. The reviews here are pretty right on, so I do not want to repeat things already covered. I would recommend that you upgrade to the lower floor that has a patio and hammock.Do not do this through your travel web site, ( they have upgrades for oceanview rooms and all the rooms are ocean view so that will not gaurantee you a ground floor) but rather contact the hotel directly and ask for the better room. It will cost more but well worth it. And one other thing to mention the rooms are large and clean but small bathrooms. the toilet right beside the shower . You can walk to San Jose via the bird sanctuary... you exit the hotel and turn right rather than left and you will find the path... great walk and you end up right in town.. 15 minutes. We were totally in awe of this location,fabulous if you like to walk the beach. there are not 4 restaurants, you really only have a choice of 2 for both breakfast and dinner. One at dinner always being an ala carte. The food is good, never had a bad meal, but it is not overly fancy as compared to other resorts. No need to dress up, most of the people just wore shorts. there is no need for reservations, but when you go to eat, there is always a 40 minute wait. Either go right at 6 when it opens or what I did was give them my room number and went to the outdoor buffett and had a salad or snack to kill the wait and then head back to the ala carte. There are swim up bars but no poolside service. You have to go to the bar and ask for your drinks. A little on the slow side at times as they seem to be understaffed.. just one guy tending the bars... so be patient. we always buy duty free on the way down and that way always have our own in the room. And a big heads up!!!! Do not exchange your money at the airport currency exchange. Big rip off, they gave me 9.2 and the hotel gave 12, so wait till you are at the resort to convert to pesos. It is amazing what a smile and a buenos dias will do, the staff all very friendly. Security very good too. I would definately recommend this resort for an inexpensive get away to the sun... if you are planning for months for a special trip I would advise that you stay at a higher end hotel.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms are the best.. buildings 1 or 7 are excellent for being right by the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear camoria,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience with us. We also appreciate the high scores for Cleanliness, Service, and Value as well as your kind comments for the staff.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at Royal Solaris in Feb 2013, and Holiday Inn in February 2014. Here's how they compare:

Check-in. Basically the same, and good. Wasn't a long delay, and they both added people working the desk when the lineup increased.

Grounds: Holiday Inn is ahead on this. The cactus plants add a nice touch. Both are clean and well maintained, but the Holiday Inn is more spacious and greener.

Pools: Holiday Inn is well ahead of Royal Solaris. There are distinct pool areas for kids, for partiers, and for adults who want it quiet. Probably 2.5 times as much total pool area at Holiday Inn. Royal Solaris is one big pool, crowded and loud. If you want to party, that's going to work for you. If not, it's going to be a drag. Never a problem finding deck chairs at Holiday Inn. Royal Solaris, you need to wake up early to get a chair, especially a group of chairs.

Food: Royal Solaris is ahead. Overall, Royal Solaris has better quality and much more variety. Breakfast at Holiday Inn is good. They have a more limited selection of buffet items at the Patio, and at Napa you can get eggs made-to-order. Never saw bacon at Holiday Inn, lots of bacon at Royal Solaris. Lunch and dinner buffets at Holiday Inn were bland, not much to choose from. We found things that were ok, but Royal Solairs does a much better buffet. The daytime snacks at Holiday Inn are fine, you can get hot dogs, burgers, and chips at the Caribean hut. Royal Solaris is a bit better in their variety for snacks, but they kids were fine with getting a quick snack at either. The tacos at the Patio restaurant at the Holiday Inn are very good, that was our preferred lunch. Made to order, lots of variety. Really pleased with that.

Biggest complaint about the Holiday Inn is eating at the a la cartes in the evening. They don't take reservations, and the waiting time was well over 1 hour on all nights. What makes that frustrating is that they had some of their restaurant space shut down and dark when it was obvious that there was a long lineup. Frustrating, but the a la carte food was very good on all occasions. If you don't mind the wait, it is miles ahead of the buffet food. Not even close.

Drinks: Much faster drink service at Holiday Inn. Much more space at the bars, and better staffing levels. At Royal Solaris, we found a big difference in the level of service depending on how much you tipped. At Holiday Inn, not a factor, and that was nice.

Location: Holiday Inn wins for their location right next to the estuary. It makes it a much nicer walk into downtown, you can walk about half the distance along the estuary and then cut across to Ave Mijares. Really pretty in there, much nicer than just walking along the road. Both hotels access the same beach, so no difference there. However, not nearly as many people selling things on the beach at Holiday Inn. Royal Solaris is in the middle of the hotel zone, so you have to go through a bunch of sellers to get to the beach. Not that they bother you once you politely decline, there's just more of them outside Royal Solaris.

Rooms: We liked Holiday Inn better. Better views, and the layout of the rooms is quieter, felt like better privacy between rooms. We really liked the architecture of the Holiday Inn, nothing exotic but lots of buildings with open air courtyards. Royal Solaris is fine, but basically a standard hotel.

Cleaning: Equal, can't say one was much better than the other. Royal Solaris did a better job of having someone come around the clean up drink glasses at the pools, but it's not like either was messy.

Service: Basically the same, but the need to give a tip to get the better service at Royal Solaris was obvious. Holiday Inn, we had very good service whether tipping or not. Very friendly people at either.

Timeshare hassles: None at Holiday Inn. Royal Solaris, they leave you alone once you show you're not interested.

Entertainment: Royal Solaris does a much better show, if that's your thing. Larger group of performers, better costumes.

Gym: Basically the same. Treadmills, weight machines, ellipticals.

Kids Club: While our kids didn't use either, we could see that Holiday Inn was much better. More organized activities and more staff interacting with the kids.

OVERALL: After some discussion, everyone in our group agreed that Holiday Inn gets the edge. The rooms are nicer, especially the views ... food isn't as good, but it got better once we learned the tricks (a la carte over buffet, tacos for lunch ahead of buffet). Overall, Royal Solaris does better on the food, BUT ... the big advantage to Holiday Inn is the pools. Nowhere near as crowded or as loud. Our kids want to spend a lot of their vacation in the pool, and there's no question that Holiday Inn comes out ahead here.

The atmosphere at both is quite mixed between families, partiers, and older people. For the week we spent at both, more of a party crowd at Royal Solaris, more of a family and older crowd at Holiday Inn. But not a crazy party atmosphere at either. if that's what you really want, you will probably be disappointed in either, and with San Jose Del Cabo. If you want to get crazy, you want to be in Cabo San Lucas.

Very good value for money, would have no reservations about coming back. Given the choice between Holiday Inn and Royal Solaris, we would take Holiday Inn. There's things to like about both, but Holiday Inn suits us better.

Room Tip: The rooms on the east side - facing the estuary - would be the quietest. They are long the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Vitamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a very nice resort.I was part of nineteen neighbor we had the time of your life's .Very thing about the was first class . Looking for a friendly,fun and beautiful resort go to Los Cabos Holiday Inn Resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio_Leon_Castillo, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Mr.William:

It's really gratifying to know you and your friends enjoyed their stay with us, because that's the reason for all of us who work in this wonderful hotel, make yours holidays something Wonderful.

We really hope to see you again at this your home The Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is an old review we were there just over a year ago, January 2013.

This was our first visit to Los Cabos, this hotel is not on San Lucas side but rather San Jose. This is something that was not mentioned. I was however fine with this.

Absolutely no swimming in the Ocean here. But the beach was very wide and there were a lot of vendor on the beach that could be quite aggressive, you really had to get your point across if you did not want to buy anything. You could also go horse back riding on the beach.

The hotel was OK but just OK. It had a lot of different building which I didn't really like.

Food was generally very good.

The time share people were so annoying, But the Staff were very Friendly. They didn't have entertainment every night, I am assuming because the hotel was not full.

It was nice that you could get out of the hotel and walk around the city, it felt very safe, that was my favorite part.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio_Leon_Castillo, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Kim,

As you mentioned, our hotel is located in San Jose del Cabo, a unique city, where you can enjoy the security, tranquility and nature like few other places in all Mexico, almost the entire beach corridor it's no swimmable due to the safety of our guests, however the extent of it allows you to enjoy the wales, turttles, sunrises, walks and other activities on the beach

A year after your stay with us we have worked on improved the approach that has the time share staff to avoid these drawbacks and the live entertainment

We would love to welcome you again in this your home the Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great location in San Jose and within easy walking distance of terrific restaurants and shopping. Lots of tourists walking around, so it felt very safe. We had a rental car (which, by the way, is not overly expensive or scary...) because we were driving around Baja. But if you only take a cab to the hotel, you will be fine walking around - everything is within a block or two. Hotel has Incredible beach access onto a large beach, so you will not feel crowded at all. You will see local vendors on the beach, but they remain in one area and will not pester too much. Plenty of pool space as well, with easy access to multiple bars. Food was ok, but the outdoor taco stand was the best, along with plenty of hamburgers for easy snacking.

The rooms were adequate, with terrific patios. We were on the first floor facing the beach, so we had a table and chairs and a hammock for outdoor lounging. We were able to watch the whales with our morning coffee - amazing! The staff was very friendly and accommodating, as were the other guests. There was a good mix of couples only, along with families, neither were overly annoying. For the price, it was a great deal and you won't be disappointed by the beach or location.

Room Tip: Ask for beachfront, ground floor for hammocks and easy access to beach and views. We were in room 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leggo_Mego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio_Leon_Castillo, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Leggo

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, as you mention this time of year our guests can enjoy agood cup of coffee and watch the whales from the terrace of your room.
We are pleassed to know you like our mexican tacos & our staff service

We hope to see you again in this home the Hotel Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Not fancy but pleasant. Closest to town of San Jose Del Cabo (waking distance)...excellent staff .

Several options for lounging...adult pool (quiet area) , family pool and entertainment pool. Plus a massive beach area!

All in all a good value for the money!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank nastrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio_Leon_Castillo, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Nastrum

It gives us great joy to know that our staff make the difference and that you enjoyed our three main pools and the wonderful beach

We hope to see you again at this your home the Hotel Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,803 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#21 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
5,879 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Address: Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $150 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a white sand beach and the Sierra de San Lazaro Mountains, Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos is truly "at one" with the environment. At or near the resort, you'll golf, play tennis, swim and ride horses while younger guests explore the Chiqui Kids Club. To expand your fun in the sun, Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo are minutes away. Two restaurants, one Buffet and one a la carte, room service, 6 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Cabos Hotel
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos Resort
Intercontinental San Jose Del Cabo
Los Cabos Presidente
Presidente Cabo
El Presidente Cabo
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing