We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$364
$308
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$311
$225
Bookit.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$375
$218
Bookit.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Posada Real Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$120
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Solaris Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$196
$167
Bookit.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$276
Hilton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cabo Azul Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Ganzo(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$247
$240
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$203
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One & Only Palmilla(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$1,420
$890
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,567)
Filter reviews
3,567 results
Traveler rating
1,200
1,323
625
273
146
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,200
1,323
625
273
146
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsactivities pooladult poolfamily poollanai roomsan joselos cabosthe cantinael patiobird sanctuarysnack bara la carte restaurantnachosthird floorbike tourmexican fiesta nightala carttennis courts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,471 - 1,476 of 3,567 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Right from the time of booking I was pleased with the service provided by the Holiday Inn Los Cabos resort staff. I contacted the front desk manager, Raul, to confirm some of our requests pre-travel and was met with a very energetic and accommodating response. We then stayed in contact in the months prior to travel and upon check in was greeted by the Front Desk rep Jorge, who upgraded us to a room with a hammock by the adult pool as per my request :) We were amazed and so thankful they were able to do that for us. Jorge and Raul remained a large part of our experience after that, ever helpful and always with a smile on their faces. My first impressions of the resort were based on those first experiences, so thank you to you both for making them great ones!

Staff: We were blown away by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Luis, the bartender at El Patio left a great impression. He really knows his drinks! Leaving the housekeeping staff a tip everyday also helps ensure that you are taken care of, although I suspect even without it we still would have enjoyed a very high cleanliness standard. We never once had a bad experience with any staff on resort and were never harassed by timeshare. We were taken after check in by someone for 5 minutes and explained some of the activities they offered, but it was so subtle that we did not realize until afterwards that it was actually a timeshare rep. After that we were not bothered.

Resort: The Holiday Inn is an older property but to be honest it doesn't affect the quality of experience in any way. We knew this going in and so knew what to expect. Our bathroom was re-done, which was very nice (room 2104). The grounds were immaculate and well-tended, there was no litter or garbage, no critters to be seen anywhere. I think we saw one gecko the entire time (could have been due to the time of year, Jan). The resort has a more authentic Mexican feel to it then your typical modern high rise type of resorts that are nearby, which we loved. The pools were crystal clear, there were chairs galore both at the pools and on the beach every day. The resort was at about 50% capacity, perhaps lower, and we preferred it that way. This is not a party resort by any means but they do play some music during the day at the activities pool and try to get people involved. You cannot swim in the ocean but there are other beaches further down where you can. The resort lies next to a bird estuary which is lovely to walk through. You are also a 5-7 minute walk from the small town of San Jose where there are a few modern shops and cafes, otherwise you are a 25 minute drive to Cabo San Lucas which is a lot bigger and busier.

Food and Drinks: We found the food plentiful and nice tasting. There are 3 a la carte restaurants which offer a menu which is also included on top of the nightly buffet, as well as more special dishes for an extra cost. We tried all three and were most impressed with the one with fruit and flowers painted above the door (sorry, I don't remember the name!). It was AMAZING authentic Mexican food. Too bad it was only open one night that we were there. Breakfast included scrambled eggs, pancakes, sausages (sometimes cut up hot dogs, other times real chorizo, other times breakfast sausages), soup, fresh fruit, an omlette bar, cakes and tarts and breakfast potatoes. We loved it. At the Cabina you could get hot dogs, burgers, french fries and all the toppings you could ask for (gauc, cheese, salsa etc). We created "Mexican Poutine" - french fries covered in hot cheese, guac, salsa and jalapenos. Yum!
We found the drinks were not watered down at all and that they could pretty much make anything you asked for. I was SO happy when I discovered that they made a pretty decent Caesar with real Clamato!

It's obvious that the Holiday Inn takes all their reviews very seriously and tries hard to improve guest experience. After reading the reviews I had zero qualms about what I was expecting and was only pleasantly surprised at every turn. 100% would book again!!!

Tips: Register for an IHG rewards card prior to travel. It's free and you get a special wrist band which affords you some extra perks on resort. Tip your housekeeping staff well. If you want, go to Mega which is a 20 minute walk away and buy a few jugs of bottled water but we found that housekeeping refreshed ours every day any way so maybe it was unnecessary. Bring your own cup with a lid and the bar staff will fill they instead of giving you the smaller cups that they use. Bring your own towel so you can have that in addition to the ones you get from the resort. If you choose to do an activity, try swimming with Whale Sharks and book through Cabo Expeditions and ask for Pablo as your guide. AMAZING ADVENTURE and totally worth the $145 it cost for the 8 hour excursion, lunch and gear included. This is not offered through the hotel, we found the office in Cabo San Lucas.

If you are a couple on a budget looking for some peace and quiet, look no further then the Holiday Inn Los Cabos. Ask to be by the adult pool and you won't have any problems.

Room Tip: Adult pool, hammock, room 2104. You have a partial ocean view and look out onto the bird estuary.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is nicely located, walking distance from San José de los Cabos, 20 min. from Los Cabos Airport and right on the beach. The buildings are older, but in excellent condition, with a nice layout that fronts onto a big beach. The beach was not swimable in December/January because of currents, but was lovely to sit on, walk on, or bathe in. A selection of pools provided some diversity, a reasonable number of restaurants, including a nice big open one with a stage, right on the beach. We don't normally do "all-inclusive" (maybe the second time in my life), but the selection was reasonable and the food and drink generally good. The price for the hotel was good value.

My main complaint was the room. It was clean and reasonably large, but was on the second floor (of three) and did no windows that could open, or balcony. The balconies on the upper floor were full and the terraced rooms on the ground floor were unreasonably more expensive. Next time, if in the same hotel, I would get a room on the third or ground floor.

San José de los cabos is quieter than Cabo San Lucas (a $50 taxi ride away), with a quaint colonial centre with lots of art shops. It generally closes at 10 pm. If you are after the party life, stay closer to San Lucas.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has windows that open when you book. Best is the third or ground floor, and not too close to the "activity pool" (with music or the loudspeaker of activity facilitators).
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwtropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear bwtropical,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. Please allow us to apologize you were not well satisfied with the room accommodations you had. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one week from Dec 16th to the 23rd. I was skeptical of staying at a Holiday Inn but booked this based on a great referral from our family members who stayed here last year and are returning again this year. What I noticed about this resort over others we have visited was the service. You could always find food at anytime of the day and there were always chairs available around the two large pools. The adult only pool was a great place to go and relax and had its own pool bar there as well. The washrooms around the pools were well maintained and just ask for something and it was there right away. There always seemed to be lots of staff available throughout resort. We had a superior partial ocean view room with a balcony. The 2nd floor doesn't have balconies. The rooms are spacious enough for the amount of time you spend in them. Overall it was a great relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Superior ocean view. Rooms on 3rd floor have balconies.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emptynest-freedom48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Lovely but not fancy.location is close to a small interesting, cute small downtown, do expecting it is a busy, shopping shopping downtown but it is very pleasant , relaxing to stroll around, 40 minutes from hotel on foot. half an hour taxi to Marina, the big downtown and busy place. very friendly and helpful staff who use their heart to serve you. food is basic but delicious. shower room is basic basic. Room is big and clean, bed is comfortable. show time is excellent, buffet dining and watch show at the same time, no need to rush and running around after or before dinning to watch shows, good show everynight, even has firework on New Year eve wow. swimming pools is very clean and relaxing. Beautiful beach but no swimming due to current. very good bar service, taxi service right outside hotel very very safe, prices are fixed and written on a board, no need to bargain, vans available for a bigger group. Not much dancing around, not enough for a party animal.








board, no need to bargain and no worries, big vans are there for a family for 6,7 people.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just came back from here and we had a great stay. We went with 4 teenagers and they loved it too! Service is great, especially Carlos, porter and Luis bartender. I agree food choices are limited, but quality is great. We stayed 2 weeks and didn't have a problem with the food at all. ( We also are not too fussy!) Beach is wonderful and grounds are well kept. Thanks to Jonathan and Gonzalo for being attentive waiters. Rooms were always cleaned and well stocked, of course a small daily tip goes a long way. Nice pools and we loved the estuary and walk to town. definitely would go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachsideMotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews