We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Still the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Orillia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was my third trip to Cabo, and have stayed at the Holiday Inn (Presidente) each time. My sole reason for going to Cabo is the fishing, and the staff, unlike at many of the other resorts, respect this and go out of their way to accomadate me. Wake up calls are punctual, cabs are always at the ready, even at 5am, and best of all, the hotel has no qualms about cooking the day,s catch for me. Our fresh tuna were cooked and artfully presented every time.
The meals are good and varied with something for everyone. Bar sevice is attentive and they remember you from day to day. Alma, at the adult pool bar is a real treat to talk to.
My review would not be complete without a special mention of Raul, the Manager. This gent has gone out of his way many times to ensure we have a good time. This latest trip, Sunwing managed to lose all my luggage for three days, and I am certain that without his intervention, I would still be without it.
I weill be returning to Cabo in a few months and would not even consider any other resort. I have stayed at various ones in Cuba, Dominican and PV, but The Holiday Inn is my go-to spot from now on.

Room Tip: Can't really add any tips regarding rooms. I've always left it to their descetion and never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrilliaEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    1,061
    504
    226
    122
See reviews for
752
1,099
32
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

At first glance this resort may get overlooked and I will admit that it is a bit tired. The food is not spectacular and the booze is certainly not top shelf. BUT....my wife and I were pleasantly surprised with this resort and throughout the week we stayed, we liked it a bit more everyday.

We were fortunate to come when it was not too busy. I am so tired of resorts where you have to get to the pool by 7am to grab a chair. After all its a vacation, and I want to sleep in a bit. No problem here...we never came out any earlier than 11am and had plenty of spots to choose from.

For the most part the other guests were great people and very friendly. One or two drunken idiots but that happens in an all inclusive. My wife and I met so many wonderful people throughout the week - some we will look forward to keeping in touch.

Lets be perfectly honest here. This is not a 5 star resort and to be fair, it does not claim to be. And, it does not charge 5 star prices either. It is a budget-friendly resort that seems to appeal to a lot of different types including families with young kids, baby boomers and empty-nesters. Its pretty quiet and San Jose del Cabo doesn't have much of a night life. College kids might hate it and would like Cabo better.

The absolute best thing about this resort is the staff. They are super friendly and have a "can do" attitude and will go out of their way to make the guest's stay more enjoyable. The work so hard and even though tips are very appreciated, at no time did any of them offer lesser service to non-tippers. A shout out to Luiz at the Delphin bar. Great personality and he kept the drinks coming with a smile.

We had a great time and will definitely consider coming back!

Room Tip: The lanai rooms on the ground floor have hammocks which are fun to relax in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were there Nov 11-15-2013. We have always stayed ocean view/lanai (Bldg #1 or # 7). This time our room was pool view/lanai (activities pool Bldg #4). We enjoyed being closer to all the activity vs. the outer areas where it is so quiet. Great place to stay if you are looking for a family orientated resort away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown area. Buffet breakfast great-buffet lunch and dinner good. A la carte dinner is usually 4 courses with 3 choices from each course. The resort is very clean and the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The rooms need to be updated!!!! Take some Pesos as some things are less expensive using pesos (cab to airport 250 p- $45 USD).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

There are some really great things about this hotel that completely make up for the very few negatives. But by far the biggest positive about the Holiday Inn is the fact that you get fantastic bang for your buck. Sure, it's not completely modernized, but the value of the hotel is enormous. The lanai rooms are great, especially next to the pool. Last year we came in the first week of December (apparently their slowest time of year), and had a room next to the adult pool. That block of rooms was being renovated this time (11/10-11/15), so we had a lanai room next to the activities pool--MUCH better choice. The activities pool was so fun! We played water volleyball, did the cocktail mixing, and did water aerobics. Rocio was so great. The hotel wasn't full, but there were more people than the last time we came, which made it better. Food at the hotel isn't 5-stars, but it's all-inclusive and there are some good things to eat (American night is pretty blah, but the Caribbean and Mexican nights are really good). Also, if you go fishing, the hotel will cook up your fish for free for you. One of the coolest things we did this year was releasing the baby turtles! OH MY GOSH! That was SO fun!!!

I'd say the only "negatives" about the hotel are that it's not super modern and the food isn't 5-stars. But the value you're getting really is fantastic. It's right next to the estuary, the beach is really long, it's the closest hotel to downtown San Jose (maybe a 15 minute walk), the pools are great, the staff is so friendly, and I could go on and on!

We definitely plan to come back here year after year. Such a great hotel!

Room Tip: Lanai room next to the activities pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were there from Nov 2-9 2012 and again 2-9 2013. Things we liked 1) location, beside the estuary (brought a bird book this time), LONG beach walks away from all the hotels. 2) wonderful staff, always pleasant and if you took the time to speak Spanish they were appreciative and helpful with learning new phrases. 3)bed were very comfortable (we like a firm bed but it had a bit of a soft top) slept like a baby. 4)cleanliness, room-great, patios, walkways and grounds very clean. 5)food was pretty good. Fantastic breakfast buffet, great lunches, good dinners. 6)location for dinner at Terazza great ambiance.
Things we weren't so crazy about 1)eating on the beach, and that's it.
We would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gabby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were there for a week all inclusive and really enjoyed our stay. As it was shoulder season the resort wasn't very full so no line ups for meals or rushing out in the morning to get a pool chair, which was lovely. The staff were wonderful and very friendly particularly Raul and Graciela at the front desk. The activity coordinators, Ocsar and Rosea, were fun! The food was great and the staff went out of their way to put on interesting events for the Day of the Dead (altars contest) a Mexcian dance show and a Latin show on the beach!! We enjoyed everything about this resort. The only thing I'd suggest is that someone show you to your room on arrival as it is a large resort with many buildings and its a little confusing till you get the lay of the land:-) Thanks Holiday Inn, we'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have a small balcony with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mar_mur1685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Holiday Inn in San Jose is ideally situated on the end of the hotel strip on the beach in beautiful San Jose. Despite the age of this property, it is well maintained, has gorgeous views, is in a beautiful location and has a really nice garden property! The room we had was great and had spectacular views (in building 4 at the top floor). During my stay the staff was excellent, the property, my room, the pools and the rest of the facility was exceptionally clean.
Unfortunately, due to prior experiences of food selections and buffet meals at all inclusive resorts I was a little disappointed. The hotel was almost empty but I still feel it could have been a little more exciting for us few guests. I understand why they couldn't have the selection but the quality and variety wasn't there either... Other then the food it was an outstanding property.

Room Tip: It's a beautiful beach! Top floor with a full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Luke W,

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to know you enjoyed the views and appreciate our convenient location. I was disappointed to read that you found the food selections that was served less than satisfactory, this is not the usual high standard of guest experience that we offer. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. I appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests and this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.3 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#20 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#17 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 4,816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos
#16 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,897 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#3 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Address: Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a white sand beach and the Sierra de San Lazaro Mountains, Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos is truly "at one" with the environment. At or near the resort, you'll golf, play tennis, swim and ride horses while younger guests explore the Chiqui Kids Club. To expand your fun in the sun, Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo are minutes away. Two restaurants, one Buffet and one a la carte, room service, 6 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Cabos Hotel
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos Resort
Intercontinental San Jose Del Cabo
Los Cabos Presidente
Presidente Cabo
El Presidente Cabo
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing