We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The service was so bad that my sister and I made a joke that it seemed like they fired all their staff the day before we arrived and hired all new untrained and apathetic staff. Not only was service beyond bad but also the staff did not care one bit. It ranged from long wait for check in, hour+ wait 4 reservation to their gross restaurants, to no silverware, napkins, drink service, wait staff unbelievably terrible. Food was inedible. Seriously, it was like bad institution food. My SIS and I booked all our excursions with Expedia located in the hotel on our first day there. It took at least an hour. Then 2 days later they told us that they booked us on our excursions on different days from each other and that transportation wad not included like he said it was. We canceled everything. They did not care or comp us. We checked out of hotel 4 days early and stayed at a different hotel rest of the time. This hotel, staff, Expedia and manager really made our vacation suck. Also, when we were in Cabo it was cold at night. Bring warm clothes. This vacation was so bad it was laughable because of the sheer unbelievableness of it all. Trust me, do not go to this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sommercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We sincerely apologize for the inconviences you encountered during your trip. We have a new Executive Chef team currently working on improving our food and beverage options. We will follow up with the food and beverage service staff and the Expedia Concierge so situations like these do not happen again in the future.

As for the weather, even though during the day it is bright and sunny, we are in a desert climate so it naturally cools down in the evenings. Thank you for recommending to future travelers bringing warm clothes for the nighttime.

Thank you again for your feedback. We continue working to increase the quality of our service, and we value constructive criticism like yours. We hope you can give us the opportunity to be your hosts once again so we can show you all the changes we are implementing.

Sincerely,

Santiago Silis
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,855 - 1,861 of 3,409 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

Sunquest called this a 4-star. On paper, this resort might qualify as 3.5 but it is 3 at best. I believe it is a management issue, rather than employee problem though. The staff is excellent, but this place doesn't function well as an all-inclusive.

The grounds are well maintained. The gardens feature lovely cactus assortments, paper mertal bushes, palm trees, and hibiscus beds. Groundskeepers work daily trimming, pruning, and watering.

We are on the second floor of the seventh building. Our room is comfortable and in good working order, but there is nothing grand about it. It is cleaned well every day, but the blinds, couch, and chairs are a little worse for wear. The windows in our building do not open, although I've noticed other buildings do have second floors with sliding windows.

We considered upgrading to get a floor level room off the adult pool (opposite side of resort as our current room), but we heard from others that the entertainment in the lobby at night is quite loud in these rooms. Our room stays quiet throughout the day.

The red flags are always present due to the undertow. We have played in bigger waves elsewhere. Beautiful, wide beach for walking though. Can't best the vista of surf, sand, and mountains of San Juan!

It is the food, the goofy a la carte reservations, the mediocre nightly entertainment, and the lack of premium drinks that disappointed us the most. The nightly buffets are served on the beach under the stars. Great atmosphere, but it is a real struggle for the staff to keep the food warm, nevermind hot (food safety!!). It also seems to be difficult for the staff to keep the food trays full. The lunch and breakfast buffet is better at both of these things because they are served at The Napa restaurant indoors, closer to food prep areas. Salad bars at all buffets have a good selection of fresh and cooked veggies, with usually one soup, and choices of breads.

We'd read online about the problem with reservations at the a la carte for dinner (only one available per night). The booking time isn't the problem. (it used to be 8AM, now 10). The problem is the availability and the limited menu selections. If you have any type of excursion planned, expect to eat the buffet that night. Hope for some food left! Expect it to be cold!

There is a snack bar available in the afternoon for munches. I found it hard to order, then some items not available. No guacamole for a whole week? French fries and onion rings though!

Drinks are well mixed (they even have clam for the Canadians!) and they make many blender drinks, but the juices aren't made from fresh fruit (OJ tastes like tang) and there is a very limited selection of labels. It's quite the thing to take a tequila tour in Mexico, learn what not to drink, then find that brand at your hotel!

Ana in the lounge at night for karaokee was great. She has a great voice, and is very crowd pleasing for all age and music types. She should put out a tip jar! The entertainers at the evening buffet were quite weak musically. Background music would be much more appealing.

We loved the area, and will be back to San Juan and Los cabos, but I will be looking for a different place to stay for our next visit.

Room Tip: Middle pool is where the daily activities occur, and music is played. Adult pool is quiet during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meegs_RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel, Holiday Inn Resort, for your last vacation.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Thank you for the compliments about our grounds. We are happy you enjoyed the musical entertainment at the Lobby Bar too.

We have recently tweaked our reservation system. Most of our guests commented that we started taking reservations too early, which is why we moved it up to 10 am. If any clients are going out for an excursion, they can advise the hostess and we can certainly assist them with their reservation. We have two a la carte restaurants open three or four nights a week and one a la carte only when we have the shows at the Esplanade. And reservations are open every half hour from 6 pm to 9:30 pm. So guests have plenty opportunities to enjoy our a la carte menu options.

Thank you once again for all your insights and we hope you can reconsider and give us another opportunity to be your hosts in the near future.

Sincerely,

Santiago Silis
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We just returned from holidays in San Jose del Cabo. Our first encounter was with the time share sharks, was very unpleasant as we were thrown into this fish tank with shark and piranhas and all they do is try to rip one off do they think we are stupid or what? Please be aware of them, as they are all over especially at the airport and they pretend to be your contact person for the hotel. We stayed at the Holiday Inn, the hotel is very clean, and well located. The food was good, the Italian night menu leaves a lot to be desired as well as the Chinese. They should leaves these to the experts. The entertainment put on by Buena Onda was really good. This couple really did their best to please everyone, and are an asset to this establishment. The Service was great, Elva our bartender was superb, very efficient, friendly and boy can she make drinks. She is the best bartender there. She is usually in the bars by the pool. Joana, Salvador, Kevin, Jesus, Luis, Sebastian provided us with top notch service. Thanks guys! over all it was a very good experience.

Room Tip: The Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirk5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your last holiday.

Thank you for your positive feedback about our location, food and beverage options, and especially about our staff. We will be sure to pass these comments along to our colleagues. Our Chefs are currently working to improve Italian and Oriental nights, we are always trying to improve the quality of our food.

We are very happy you had a very good overall experience and hope we can have the opportunity to be your hosts once again in the near future.

Best regards,

Santiago Silis
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Family recently vacationed there. Be aware of time share or as they call it "vacation package" reps. They are full of lies, particulaly Sal. Sold our family $10K in vacation weeks. Promised discounted flights, deals all over North American hotels. It was all lies, Nobody outside of Mexico has heard of "Club Grupo Presidente". These people are professional scammers that work for the hotel and target the elderly. I will never vacation here again, other than to pay Sal a visit!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel, Holiday Inn Resort, for your last family vacation.

One of the services we offer in the Hotel is a time share program. We do have representatives from this program in the Hotel. They are constantly offering their services to all of our guests, and as it is a voluntary program, our guests can choose to accept their proposal or simply walk away and continue enjoying their vacations. We can definitely help you sending their contact info if you are not satisfied with the package you purchased.

We hope you can give us the opportunity to be your hosts again in the future.

Best regards,

Santiago Silis
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Two adults, stayed a week in 1 studio. Firm king sized bed, non-smoking room, on adult pool or estuary side. Very quiet, clean and had everything we needed for a relaxing vacation. If you want more bottles of drinking water leave a note for the maid with a tip and everyday you'll receive what your interested in. Napa and El Patio very nice restaurants. Snack bar has nice light lunch if you like chicken quesadillas or fish tacos. The bellhop (Juan) will tell you where locals eat, if you want to leave the resort. The San Jose bike ride tour, daily at 9:30AM, is a great outing (2.5 hrs) but is only for adults. Try the Cowboy CoolAid at the adults pool bar for a nice refreshing drink (made by Alma). All timeshare people where black pants/skirts, stay away from them, unless you have hours to spare sitting in lectures! Great all inclusive for a 3.5 * Resort.

Room Tip: Ask to be on adults only poolside if you don't want to hear noise from family pool and lobby whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelSmarterJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your last visit to Cabos.

We are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our rooms, food and beverage options, and the entertainment activities available in the Hotel.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and hope we can be your hosts again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Santiago Silis
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I do not think I am a picky person. I have stayed in mexico at 4 star hotels, Blue Bay Esmerlda, Riu Palace and Barcelo Marina Palace. All very nice hotels priced right. So when I saw this was a 4 star, and the hotel pictures looked nice, I expected 4 star accomadation.
The hotel has time shares they are selling. As soon as you get to the hotel you are greeted by a swarm of people and although they work there, their job is to sell the time shares. If you decline you will be asked for the entire rest of your stay, to see the time shares.
It is a very old hotel. Short staffed, mold in between broken tiles, low lighting, unappealing. The pool was clean and well kept but again it was old. The grounds were not very well kept. The whole resort looked run down, almost forgotten about. The stafff were friendly but overworked. The rooms were clean but again broken tile, dripping faucet. No room safe and no mini bar! The beds were hard and terrible.
The food, they ran out of chicken at dinner at the buffet. Option 2, fish with a green sauce that smelled terrible. I feel badly writing this, its just that we spent 3000.00 for this vacation and we did not want to be there a moment longer.
I must say Sunwing was amazing and for 700.00 more, we moved hotels to Riu Palace. Amazing, wonderful, beautiful hotel. Not one thing to complain about. I loved the rest of my vacation at that place.
Please do not waste your money on the holiday inn resort. Even the sunwing rep questioned why would have booked it. They referred to it as a 3 star at best.
Thank you for reading my review!
Lawreen

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. As you mention, we have time share representatives on site who are offering their services. If one of our guests is not interested in their proposal, they can simply decline their offer and continue enjoying their vacations. The Hotel was built 30 years ago however we work very hard to maintain our property up to the highest standards, in order to offer a quality service to our patrons. And we are constantly working on our food and beverage options. We have a new kitchen team which is currently renewing our menus.

We value our guests' feedback, and we strive to offer the best service possible. Thank you for your constructive criticisim and we hope you can give us the opportunity to be your hosts once again so you can see all the things we are trying to improve.

Sincerely,

Santiago Silis
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We had a BLAST at this resort! The staff at this resort are so friendly, and will do what they can to make sure you have the best experience at their resort. Our bartenders for the trip, primarily Cruz and Elva, were very nice and attentive. I even discovered some new blended drinks that I like thanks to their recommendations! This resort is a great place for visitors who are looking for a quieter but entertaining atmosphere. There are nightly shows and performances, as well as music in the lobby during the night. We also had the opportunity to eat among the best breakfast meals I have ever had. The wait staff at the restaurants at the resort were courteous and helpful as well. I also liked that the staff gave me the opportunity to practice my Spanish, and even learn some new words.

Finally, my trip would not have been complete without the amazing activity staff. Ariel and Kevin were so entertaining, and lead a lot of activities at the resort. We did water aerobics, water and beach volleyball, Bingo, trivia, dancing lessons, biking tours...and more! My stay would undoubtedly not have been as enjoyable without them. I cannot wait to go back again soon for a fun and relaxing vacation! :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mallory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago S, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in our Hotel for your last stay.

We are very happy that you had a great time during your stay. Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our bartending staff, nightly entertainment, and restaurant servers. We will be sure to pass these along. And thank you for the compliments to our Activities' Team, they work hard every day to make sure our guests have the best time possible while they are here.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely hope we can be your hosts again in the near future.

Best regards,

Santiago Silis
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,823 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#21 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
5,911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive

Address: Blvd Mijares S/N | Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Presidente Los Cabos Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $152 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a white sand beach and the Sierra de San Lazaro Mountains, Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos is truly "at one" with the environment. At or near the resort, you'll golf, play tennis, swim and ride horses while younger guests explore the Chiqui Kids Club. To expand your fun in the sun, Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo are minutes away. Two restaurants, one Buffet and one a la carte, room service, 6 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Cabos Hotel
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos Resort
Intercontinental San Jose Del Cabo
Los Cabos Presidente
Presidente Cabo
El Presidente Cabo
Presidente Intercontinental Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing