We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Polite but non responsive management” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Polite but non responsive management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We booked a one week stay through hotwire which advertised this resort with free parking and free internet. When we arrived, we were told that internet is $15, parking is $10 per night. The free outside parking is first come first serve which was only available if you are lucky or come back to the resort before dark... We showed and forwarded the hotwire reservation information to the front desk twice. Two guys both promised to get back to us. We didn't hear a word since. When we called hotwire they said that this hotel used to have free parking/internet and it was changed after our booking. Hotwire is not responsible for the change. The Westin claims that they never offered free parking/internet. BUYER BE AWARE!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    307
    122
    62
    55
See reviews for
192
417
24
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our first trip to Baja California, and we will return for sure! Westin is located on the highway between San Jose del Cabos and Cabo San Lucas, only 1/2 hour from the airport. Our rooms had the best ocean view ever and the kids enjoyed all the pools, tennis court, mini-golf and the wonderful buffets. The service was impeccable. You can do some snorkeling right in front of your hotel while the waiter is getting you some refreshing margaritas and fresadas for the kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Save your money and don’t go to Los Cabos, go somewhere else. I don’t get Jenifer Aniston’s unhealthy obsession with this area – it’s not pretty AT ALL, no nature, no swimmable beaches, no historic sites. Great food and a lot of emerging chefs, but super expensive.Food is prices like at US top restaurants.

About Westine:

Pros: location, more or less is OK, but beach is not for swimming, architecture is interesting and unique, but if you have little kids who like to climb things, please stay away, since this hotel has a lot of stairs and drops, rooms are OK, nothing special.

Cons: Service is slow, they forget your order you have to remind them several times and at the end they will bring you someone else’s bill for more than you ordered, please check carefully before you pay. Everyone is looking at you as you are a cash cow, they trying to overcharge you at any given opportunity. Food at the hotel is super expensive and not good at all, our $75 breakfast was terrible. Parking is limited, if you decide to rent a car, beware there are only 16 spots available, and they are taken almost all the time, valet is not free of course.

I love Mexico, but I am not be coming back to Los Cabos.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raa1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beat_meier, General Manager at The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
On behalf of The Westin Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you for staying with us over Christmas and your compliments regarding our great food and great chefs on property. The prices are generally all the same in Los Cabos being a prestige destination. You can enjoy our Superfoods RX Breakfast Buffet at the Cascada Restaurant to a cost of 25 usd per person with a wide variety of warm and cold freshly prepared dishes. The parking lot is limited externally but we also have underground parking to an extra charge available.

We take comments of this nature very seriously as we pride ourselves on being an oasis of luxury with attentive service and genuine hospitality. If we can be of any assistance on your next return trip to Los Cabos, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Happy New Year and all the best for 2013,
Stay well,

Beat Meier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We're in the midst of an excellent stay that started off quite rocky. Despite numerous emails and notifications prior to our visit, my wife's birthday and our 1-year anniversary trip started off rough at check-in, with the room not ready, the front desk staff not quite polite and generally not the welcoming an SPG Plat would expect of a 5-star resort.

The rest of the staff has been fantastic and our breakfasts and happy hours have been quite fun in the Royal Beach Club lounge. The property is pretty nice and situated beautifully in paradise.

It's really hard to complain when you're sitting on the beach here, but the general layout requires a ton of walking and stairs, and the gym is not very good for a "Westin Workout" designation. The food is pretty good at the pool or the main restaurant, but definitely comes with the Westin price tag.

Overall, we may come back in the future, but we're planning in checking out the Sheraton or Hilton the next time we come to Cabo.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
662 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

we spent 3 nights here before going onto our timeshare exchange in san jose. a massive structure, however, very attractive. lovely pool area. great beach to walk on due to all the rock formations. good food around the pool. warmish pools. quiet. fantastic view from our room, although by even 9:00 the balcony was too hot to sit on. friendly, helpful staff. only negative is that to go anywhere one needs a cab or have a car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Awesome hotel and very convenient for families. A drawback is the distance of the hotel from the 2 cities making traveling difficult unless you rent a car. The hotel will also benefit by having a coffee shop on site. Food options are limited and pricey.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Overall - good place to stay. Very clean, great attentive staff, beautiful location, very good high-end restaurant on location, quiet setting, heavenly crib for our 18-month old, etc.

On the negative side - a beachfront you really cant swim in since the waves are almost always too strong, very average food buffet, far from anything else - so you need to spend good bucks on a taxi or rental to see anything outside resort, not too kid-friendly in that the floors are marble and lots of sharp edges etc...so if you have a tiny one - be prepared to hover over all the time!

But as noted - a solid 4 out of 5 stars. Would go again - especially once our little one grows up!

Room Tip: all rooms are good - all have water view - though some are partial view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTtraveldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.0 mi away
Club Regina Los Cabos
Club Regina Los Cabos
#23 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cabo Surf Hotel
Cabo Surf Hotel
#28 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#5 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Casa Costa Azul
Casa Costa Azul
#27 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Regina Los Cabos
Grand Regina Los Cabos
#2 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#3 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a magical setting overlooking the Sea of Cortez, The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas and Spa is an empowering escape from the ordinary. Seemingly intuitive service indulges the senses, while an abundance of amenities and activities energize and refresh. Scenic adventures await golfers, beach-lovers, and explorers. Whether your passion is golf, nature, or just the indulgence of a luxurious spa-the resort empowers you to immerse yourself in endless possibilities. Designed to provide the warmth of the Mexican culture with soothing colors, ocean views, oversized showers, private sitting areas on the balcony and an indoor sitting area, the rooms at The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas and Spa are an oasis that rejuvenate and replenish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Westin Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Westin San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Westin
Los Cabos Westin
Club Regina Los Cabos
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing