We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
172
164
22
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
164
22
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan josecoffee juicemexican hoteltown squareart galleriesla pazpool area isbeautiful poolswim up barmexicobajapacotilelandscapingpoolsidepesosservers
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 384 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We recently stayed in Cabo San Lucas, however, we made a day trip to San Jose del Cabo to visit the Tropicana Hotel. We previously stayed here (4 times) but had not been back in 10 years. It was like 'coming home' to an old favorite. We had breakfast on the front (street) patio and and, as always, thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance, people watching, relaxing, etc.. We toured the grounds and it brought back so many great memories! We always loved the peaceful serinity of this property. We came back for lunch the same day. DH always loved their hamburgers, so that is what he had. It was juicy and flavorful! He ate the whole thing, as the saying goes. I had the crab and shrimp enchiladas. Not sure what was off with the seafood in the enchiladas, it tasted a little on the old side. We were surprised because previously, we have never had a bad meal here. We are sure this was just a glitch. We fondly remembered the shrimp stuffed avocado from before (we always had at least one a day) and wish we would have 'had room' to try it again. Service was fantastic throughout. We asked for a table up on the balcony and were immediately seated there. What a great place to dine! The ice tea was fresh brewed and tasted so good and refreshing on a hot day! We are now planning on returning in April and staying at the Tropicana.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LasVegasPamela56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Wonderful place! all the plants and trees just make the place gorgeous! rooms are simple but nicely furnished/decorated. we stayed in just a standard room so didn't see the upgrades. Staff is very friendly. Location is perfect. Food is wonderful. Have absolutely nothing negative to stay. Felt like I was in an oasis! Would definitely book again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheryl092362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed a couple of days for a special event in July . The location is good as it is in the Plaza area and you can walk to lots of restaurants and shops & art galleries . I lived in San Jose del Cabo and the Plaza area was a favorite . The Tropicana Inn has a nice restaurant with good food and often live singers will pass through .
The Hotel is a smaller ,older style Hotel with rooms scattered along long corridors facing a pool and landscaped areas . there is a large gravel parking lot on the side of the hotel that is fenced.
Grounds are lush and well taken care of .
Special merit to the hotel is a very helpful and accommodating staff that really go out of their way to help and make you feel welcome . Nice off beach kind of place with a nice vibe.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dollarbilltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

(This review is of the restaurant, not the hotel. There seems to be only one entree for both in tripadvisor)

Classical-looking building, nicely air-conditioned (necessary in July!). The food is mainly Mexican but waiters speak a very decent English. We had an avocado filled with seafood as entree and then one seafood-filled chile relleno and the seafood fajitas. The food was not spectacular but very decent. What was a bit weird was that the water was offered was actually from Fiji (and correspondingly priced, over Pesos90.- for a bottle). But on our question was Mexicans drink the waiter brought Agua Minerale in a can, for 20.-

Personally we did not care for the roaming 5-piece Mexican band but that is just us (we managed to escape before they got to our table).

Not super-expensive but not super-cheap either: 1100.- for 3, with 4 drinks total. I was expecting less, particularly in the depth of the low season but it was certainly not unreasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ErnestFromBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I spent our 20th wedding anniversary at the Tropicana Inn in San Jose Del Cabo. This was a small, romantic, and a private get away for us..and exactly what we were looking for! It is in a great location and convenient for walking to shops, restaurants, and the art district. The staff and owner were friendly and attentive. The restaurants were impressive too. We stayed in the El Jacaranda Suite and it was a beautiful and spacious room with a private terrace...we definitely recommend it. Overall, we had a wonderful experience and highly recommend the Tropicana Inn to our family, friends and everyone!
Paula & Joe Papst

Room Tip: Please see our review
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews