We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
172
165
22
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
165
22
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san jose coffee juice mexican hotel town square art galleries la paz pool area is beautiful pool swim up bar mexico baja paco tile landscaping poolside pesos servers
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 385 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We went there for dinner just over a week ago with 5 adults and a little one. Food was fantastic and the kids menu was pretty good too. Will go back for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

What a wonderful week at the Tropicana Hotel. Breakfast included every morning but Sundays, with eggs, fresh fruit, super fresh orange juice, and great coffee got us off to a good start everyday. The people at the hotel were wonderful and very helpful. Erica, the front desk young lady went out of her way to make sure that we had whatever we needed. Carmen the person who helped us sign up for a tour was very informative and always available. Olivia the lady from housekeeping was fantastic with her skillful displays after leaving our room spotless. Benito one of the waiters was always cheerful and accessible.The garden and pool area appear to be a millionaire's paradise with traditional Mexican style.Although not on the beach, the location could not be better in the center of town within easily walking distance to the art district, zocalo, and excellent restaurants. The beach is only a short bus ride or a $7 cab ride away. Tropicana's main dining restaurant and bar are also a good bet with great food and reasonable prices. Top quality at a fair price. Mike

Room Tip: There are suites, and a honeymoon cottage avialabe
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MikeMcDChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

My husband and I spent two wonderful days enjoying quiet San Jose after five days in Cabo San Lucas. The hotel is located behind the Tropicana restaurant and is a pleasant oasis with a beautiful courtyard and pool. The mood is mellow and it's a wonderful place to relax. The morning breakfasts at the restaurant were delicious with a large plate of fresh fruit, eggs, potatoes, salsa, toast, coffee and juice. On Saturday we enjoyed the local organic market (with lots of art too) and it was only a short walk from the hotel. We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChiantiSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I had a wonderful surprised when step into my spa treatment to found a romantic ambience candle light with rose petals all over the place, glasses or champaigne with chocolate and strawberry plus a delicious and involving roses scent in the room. The ladies: rossy and liz were amazingly good. Nothing but the best, very attentive, sweet but surprisingly strong at the same time. They took care of every single detail and deliver a wonderful couple massage experience for Valentines Day. Highly recomended!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatitoAngelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We have been staying at this hotel for possibly 10 years now. We love the place. The rooms are nice and clean and nicely decorated with nice linens and Mexican tiled bathrooms. The staff is abundant and eager to please in every way. Over the years we have experienced poolside happy hours with a swim up bar and free continental breakfasts at poolside with several juices, fruits, cereals, rolls, coffee and tea, etc. Sorrily they no longer offer that poolside, my guess is because of the general economy and fewer tourists. Now they have the free breakfast in the outdoor adjoining sidewalk restaurant each morning, probably to stimulate restaurant business at the same time. But no complaints with the full fruit plate, eggs, potatoes, juice and coffee. Notice that many of the reviews under the heading for the hotel are actually for the restaurant only, which I agree is lacking in service. Good food, but not good service and value. Don't let that deter you from a stay at the hotel which is a surprise quiet garden/pool setting behind the hotel. Our rate over Thanksgiving was lowered because we stayed 5 nights and was $110 a night PLUS taxes and a daily service fee. All totaled it was $132 a night. Love that it is right in the heart of town close to everything AND it has a secure parking lot; important since we were on a driving trip. The only downside was that the pool is not heated and too chilly to really enjoy much; a big factor for us. (76F degrees)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovepalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews