We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood with a Mexican/fusion taste!”
Review of La Panga Antigua

La Panga Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $58
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Contemporary Mexican cuisine with a passion for Seafood In the heart of downtown San Jose del Cabo, a charming courtyard set in the oldest Mansion over 170 years of rich history, “La panga antigua” may be tucked away out of sight, but it won’t be out of your mind once you’ve tried our delightful food and superb hospitality! Organically grown local produce, daily supplied fresh seafood and fine cuts prepared with a combination of herbs and spices that makes a-one-of-a-kind culinary experience with a Mexican flair!A perfect location for Private Events from 6 to 180 people...
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood with a Mexican/fusion taste!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Easy to find near town square. Nice ambience in a courtyard. Service was excellent and we each had seafood in different preparations - all excellent. Cold Pacifico beer and guacamole/salsa started the meal in a wonderful direction!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank larryw696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    65
    23
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey,CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Secret Garden”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great location-across from the Mission.You feel like you're eating in the garden of a hacienda. Friendly service,fair prices,delicious seafood (which is what we always have)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank philsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Secret Hideaway”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

La Panga looks like an abandoned building from the outside, I am not sure how many times I walked past it and never went in. Boy was that a mistake! After you enter the dimly lit entry, the world opens up in front of your eyes. Cozy tables surrounded by a lush garden making your experience private and peaceful. The walls are old and some are paint washed lending that old mexico feeling. I went for lunch and everything was fresh and delicious. Ben there 3 times now for lunch, service is great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moved2Cabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited La Panga on April 23rd. The outdoor courtyard setting is very pleasant and attractive. The setting was quiet and relaxing. The wait staff was attentive and helpful. I had the catch of the day of enjoyed it. We thought the prices were reasonable. We will visit again on our next Cabo trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank feb1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
221 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Very romantic setting with fabulous upscale food”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our favorite place in San Jose for many years. Charming dining courtyard perfect for lunch or even better for a dinner under the stars. Try to get the table by the fountain...incredibly romantic. Best chicken fajitas in the Baja...wood grilled chicken and veggies with no sticky sauce. Freshly made tortillas. The seafood is also excellent. Today I tried the seared tuna salad...unlike any such dish I have ever had. The tuna was seasoned with some spices with a kick, and then blackened on the outside but still raw on the inside. The lettuce was fresh enough to have been just picked! We also love that this place offers non-Mexican dishes like Caesar salad and pasta, and they actually know how to prepare them! Give a try...not cheap, but a good value!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Panga Antigua also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to La Panga Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing