We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful vacation getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alegranza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alegranza
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful vacation getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our second year of spending the month of January at the Alegranza. We love the place! The staff are friendly and very helpful. The grounds and pools are well kept. We especially enjoyed the on-site gym. They have a poolside restaurant which has delicious, reasonably priced food. It is a short walk, approximately 10 - 15 minutes to the beach or the downtown area. We often take the bus into Cabo San Lucas for a day of exploring and trying different restaurants. We feel safe walking or taking the bus at night. We are already planning our return visit for January 2014. I would recommend the Alegranza for couples, friends and families.

Room Tip: We prefer to stay in building A. The view of the Sea of Cortez is beautiful. The higher you go the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbieandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    22
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
41
42
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We love many things about Alegranza. It is wonderfully appointed with great amenities. A highlight of course is the view. From Alegranza you can easily walk into San Jose or if you like, you can walk to the beach (a secret we have discovered is that if you get the tide schedules you can schedule your daily walk on the beach for low tide when the sand is firm and flat). Javier and his team are most accommodating. We love to cook and the kitchens are fully equipped. A terrific place all and all and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newfie-Traveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose Del Cabo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We choose Alegranza for a three month vacation. The sauna's haven't worked for months, the jacuzzis aren't always heated and the pools is cold. Overall the facility is good but the lack of heat in the above detracts from the whole experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bajapoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at Alegranza at the end of October. We had purchased a Groupon for a 2 bedroom suite but were given a three bedroom which was a nice surprise. The rooms are gorgeous!!!! We're used to beachfront resorts but it really didn't matter to us here. The balcony was so nice to go out and sit on and even if you're not on the water, you get a great view of the Sea of Cortez. The pool areas were kept clean and the staff was very friendly. We had an issue with one of the tour companies we had booked with before our arrival and they completely took care of the situation for us (even though it wasn't their booking).

It is a bit of a walk up hills to get to things but we didn't really mind. There is also only one cafe on site during the day so you need to plan to get to the grocery store as the selections at the cafe are limited. They do have a nice restaurant for dinner but it's pretty expensive so we didn't go. I'm sure it's worth it but we just couldn't do it. They also have a gym on site which works just fine for a basic workout.

Overall, we really loved our stay and can understand why so many people live there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrodx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We choose Alegranza for our two month vacation in 2012-it operates on nightly, weekly and monthly rates. As our third trip to San Jose del Cabo, we wanted to stay away from the all-inclusive resorts and Alegranza turned out to be the best idea and we would never stay elsewhere in the future. Relaxing, quiet, luxurious, safe and ideal for couples or families. Definitely five star.
We spent a little extra for the top floor condo which was more than worth it! Our condo, with two levels of balconies, had incredible, panoramic ocean views and looked over the golf course. The kitchen was very well equipped with granite counters, nice appliances and also a built in bbq, so we prepared most meals ourselves and enjoyed them on the balcony with the view. From the bed linens and towels to the double sink massive bathrooms, it was all luxury, including sky TV and wireless Internet.
On the property there are three beautiful pools and two hot tubs that are clean and well maintained, and very quiet. Nothing like a typical resort. The grounds were continuously groomed and nice to walk through with many tropical plants, palms and cactus throughout the expansive area.
There are great gym facilities and a well-lit tennis court as well as a small putting and pitching green for golf practice.
The location was great, close walking distance to the old town, the beach and groceries from either Mega or Walmart. Punts Sur golf course is a short walk away and with discounts from Alegranza, an afternoon round with cart and clubs was very reasonable.
All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful in all matters, accommodating any needs we had and the smiling 24-hour security at the front gate gave us a feeling of ease. For us, the fantastic concierge, Esther, helped make our time exceptional, arranging everything from reservations to excursions to rental cars.
The dining options on site were fantastic with fresh and unique menus- and very reasonable prices, quite surprising for such a high class place.
Our vacation and stay at Alegranza could not have been better and we would recommend it to anyone. A perfect choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This place has a great location, clean, friendly and cheaper than most hotels if traveling with a family of couples. Pictures at colormejulio.blogspot.com

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

My family and I stayed at Alegranza with my wife's parents for 8 days, 7 nights of pure heaven. This place is a beautiful, well kept high class condo complex that offers anything you could ask for on a dream vacation. The staff are very friendly, helpful and the 24 hour front gate security makes you feel safe at all times. My two young children had an amazing time by the 3 pools, 2 hot tubs and even played around at the golf chip and putting area. We ate several times at the pool side restaurant which offers affrodable, great food and friendly service. We were able to spend a day at Cabo Azul, booked through Alegranza, which offered us a day at another beautiful resort, right on the beach, which was fun for everyone. The location of Alegranza is perfect as it sits up high overlooking the sea of cortez (amazing sunrises and whale watching), a short walk to shopping in downtown San Jose, which offers too many delicious restaurants to mention and if your interested in golf just ask the concierge as they have contacts for good deals both in town and out. The unit we stayed in had a gourmet kitchen which led to several tasty meals. Every room had a comfortable bed, spacious closets, private bathroom with a large glass shower and a flat screen television with satelite service. Access to Wi-Fi was simple and easy. You never had to rush down to the pools as there were plenty of loungers and umbrellas for everyone. My wife and I took an afternoon and went on a motorized Rhino tour organized through Alegranza which was perhaps the best off resort outing we have ever done. Both my wife and I were able to drive a Yamaha rhino through the mountains of the baja desert and then out to the beach and ocean, absolutely amazing! What makes Alegranza perfect are the people who managed it and the staff that work there daily. They are all approachable and so helpful to make your stay the best it can be. If you are looking for a high class vacation spot, Alegranza is the place to stay and San Jose del Cabo is the town for you to visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#7 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,310 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,899 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#18 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,258 reviews
3.3 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#2 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegranza

Property: Alegranza
Address: Calle Paseo Las Misiones 927 | Colonia Club de Golf Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Specialty Lodging in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alegranza 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegranza Residential Resort is an exclusive community located on the serene residential golf course of San Jose del Cabo, one of the best places to vacation in Mexico, within walking distance to the beach and the historic downtown, where the best restaurants in Cabo and shopping can be found.From its hilltop location Alegranza dominates the entire San Jose Bay, from Punta Gorda to Palmilla, offering you magnificent unobstructed views to the Sea of Cortez, the best fairways and golf in Cabo, the estuary, the Puerto Los Cabos marina and the desert.Carefully designed by Carlos Herrera, the architect who built Las Ventanas villas, widely acclaimed for his tasteful Mexican touch, Alegranza is a celebration of splendid scenes, fresh sea breezes, incomparable location and architecture that will please your senses.This architectural masterpiece is the result of a detailed analysis of the most discerning clients’ needs, where comfort, open spaces, quality features and high-end finishes, perfectly harmonize with class, elegance and Mexican charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alegranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegranza Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Alegranza Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing