We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST-EAT-AT PLACE FOR FOODIES!”
Review of Casianos

Casianos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $100 - $120
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Paseo Malecon
Description: The Restaurant: Situated in Fonatur development, San Jose del Cabo, Casianos Restaurant offers an exceptional culinary experience. With an outstanding mix of products, contemporary techniques and Mexican flavors. Chef Casiano Reyes brings his style of "Spontaneous Cuisine" to Los Cabos. ECLECTIC, MINIMALIST, but yet COLORFUL Our Concept: No menu... No rules... Let "Casiano" surprise you or guide him with your favorite flavors. If you are looking for a complete experience, a five course menu will show you the best of Baja and a taste of what is the true essence of Mexican cuisine. Our Wines: No culinary experience will be complete with out its best partner... Wine. Casianos has a growing wine list that includes world wines along with some of the best Mexico has to offer. Designed to compliment the "spontaneous" style of cuisine the wine has been carefully chosen to fulfill this goal.
Melrose, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A MUST-EAT-AT PLACE FOR FOODIES!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here on Thanksgiving Day. First of all, we got SO lost trying to find it, we finally called. The owner very kindly had Marta come and find us, so we were able to follow her to the restaurant. We never would have found it otherwise! Trip Advisor had the wrong (old) address, and Mapquest was totally incorrect in its directions.

The restaurant is in a very upscale neighborhood, and has a commanding view with a lovely outdoor patio, where our table was. The tables were very nicely set, and there was a bar right behind us- very convenient!

As we had just discovered bluberry basil vodka Mojitos that afternoon, we had several of those to start. Yummy!

They started out be asking if we had any food allergies or things we do or don't like. We found the "no set menu" idea very refreshing and interesting, as I have many foods that I cannot eat. The waiter and chef were very accommodating about this. We started with an Amuse bouche- a Parmesan crouton with garlic and tomato with fresh herbs on top. It was excellent!

Our first course was Scallops and capers with a delicious sauce , and lobster and corn with a different sauce and herbs. We love lobster and don't eat scallops very often, but that turned out to be both of our favorite dishes of the night! Sweet, succulent, and all of the flavors and textures came together unbelievably well!

Our second courses were some Red snapper w/ baby potatoes (It's not my favorite fish, but it was good), and Chicken w/ mashed potatoes and another sauce. Very good.

The third course was Flank steak with mashed potatoes. I was surprised that the waiter never asked how we like our steaks done, and he brought them cooked medium. I sent mine back, as I like my steak rare. It was not a problem. Once I got it cooked to my taste- it was very good.

I had Chocolate fondant with sweetened fresh raspberries for dessert. My husband had the fondant, as well as a little pumpkin pie topped with a mascarpone topping, and a side of tequila ice cream.

The meal was excellent, in very elegant and beautiful surroundings. Great service. We might go back there again tonight, now that we know how to get there!

Very highly recommended for foodies and people with dietary issues!

To get there, call for directions. We got their card with a tiny map on it. it's on Paseo Mar de Cortes, between Paseo Finisterra and Paseo de las Misiones, close to the hotel zone , not far from the Mega store. Phone: 52-624-142-5928.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    12
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Foodie Restaurant in Cabo”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I'm partial to restaurants without menus, the kind where you rely on the chef to bring you his or her best like you were in their home. The night we tried finding Casianos, we were using an outdated travel book and came to learn they had changed locations. We called the restaurant for directions and one of the waiters actually offered to drive out to meet us (we were a mile away) to show us the way. It was incredibly kind gesture that added to the charm of Casianos. To be honest, we probably couldn't have found the restaurant without him!

Once we were there we had a pretty amazing five-course meal (which ended up being more like an 8-course meal) with delicious food. The plating stayed relatively the same for each course: square plate with two mounds of a different protein cooked differently. Every bite was exquisite and exciting and we left very full and happy.

Highly recommended for foodies in Cabo looking for something different.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the MOST amazing dining experiences ever!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you are in Cabo San Lucas, don't miss Casianos! It's a little difficult to find as it's in a residential area but it is so worth the effort. Street parking is available. This is not your typical restaurant or even Mexican food. Be prepared for a culinary journey!

We sat outside ont eh patio. The ambiance was relaxed, charming, simply perfect. We had the 5 course tasting menu with wines. I love that we never looked at a menu, the server asks if you have allergies or any other food likes or dislikes. The food presentation, taste, is simply superb.

Service is attentive, gracious, welcoming.. exactly on par for a restaurant of this caliber. When in Cabo, I highly recommend you check this place out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trishbella0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy little treats”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This place sent out some many yummy flavors, who needed a menu. Of course there isn't one anyway. You are in good hands. Come hungry, the plates may be small but there are lots of them.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A foodie's delight”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Staying at Esperanza Resort -- fabulous! -- more of that in another review.
Rented a car and drove to Casiano's among other gourmet jewels in this place.
An easy 25 min. Drive from our resort. Apparently Casiano's have been in their new place for a short time.
A nicely appointed small restaurant --- no menus , which is great as you get pleasantly surprised with what the chef has in store for you.
Waiter recommended a great mexican Cabarnet sauvignon -- PICCOLO that "opened up" in the space of a few minutes to our surprise! Already on a roll with a great wine -- came the amuse bouche - a seafood tomato compote with goat cheese on toast.
My wife opted for the three course dinner and i for the five course dinner.
First appetizer was a collection of perfectly pan fried scallops with a green puree, a chicken oxaca mole tamale and a lobster tail in its own sauce --- superb!! It went to even better with soft shell crab, filet of beef and on and on!! Dessert was equally delicious. Too long to detail all the delicious food here. Suffice it to say that each course was different in taste , texture and preparation from the other.
The food is not cheap -- approx. $200 for both of us. An equivalent experience in the US would easily have approached $ 400. We think it was money well spent. Incidentally the chef recently prepared his food for visiting heads of state at the recent G 20 summit in Cabo. We can see why!!
Service is meticulous and the servers know their food well.
For a special celebration or if you are looking for a true gourmet feast --- this place is not to be missed.
Four nights here and thus far we have hit bullseye with every restaurant we chose to dine at
esperanza
El farallon
Hacienda y cochina
Casianos
Cabo obviously has a pretty high standard of cuisine compared to cancun ( where we usually go ) which seems to have gotten stale and very expensive for the quality of food served -- that is our humble opinion.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pilipili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casianos also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Casianos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing