We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food in San Jose Cabo-Even for an SF food snob”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casianos

Casianos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $100 - $120
Cuisines: Mexican, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Paseo Malecon
Description: The Restaurant: Situated in Fonatur development, San Jose del Cabo, Casianos Restaurant offers an exceptional culinary experience. With an outstanding mix of products, contemporary techniques and Mexican flavors. Chef Casiano Reyes brings his style of "Spontaneous Cuisine" to Los Cabos. ECLECTIC, MINIMALIST, but yet COLORFUL Our Concept: No menu... No rules... Let "Casiano" surprise you or guide him with your favorite flavors. If you are looking for a complete experience, a five course menu will show you the best of Baja and a taste of what is the true essence of Mexican cuisine. Our Wines: No culinary experience will be complete with out its best partner... Wine. Casianos has a growing wine list that includes world wines along with some of the best Mexico has to offer. Designed to compliment the "spontaneous" style of cuisine the wine has been carefully chosen to fulfill this goal.
Monte Sereno, California, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in San Jose Cabo-Even for an SF food snob”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a delightful evening with great organic fresh food. My only regret was eating too much. One dish was better than the next. Being a food snob, I really appreciated the high quality food, service, and atmosphere. The restaurant is in a residential neighborhood which was quiet and serene. We had a surprisingly great Mexican wine. What a great experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShahramG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    12
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best restaurant experiences anywhere”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This restaurant is a must. It is expensive, but it should be viewed as a special experience. The food was outstanding -- fish, chicken and steak -- and creatively prepared. We choose the five course meal, with wine pairing and I am glad that I did. The food was perfectly matched with wines. The atmosphere was perfect -- the restaurant is in a quiet residential section of San Jose near the beach. Lastly, the service was perfect -- attentive and knowledgeable. We have eaten at restaurant all over the world and this is one of the best.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Refreshing and Professional”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

No menu, no mariachi band, no syrupy margarita. Just the chef's choice of market fresh food customized to our vegetarian preference.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Casianos is unusual in that it has no menu. You can choose between a three or a five course dinner and the chef prepares the food with market fresh ingredients. I chose the five course and my companion chose the three. Our waiter suggest a Pinot noir which was an excellent fit. Both meals were completely different and absolutely delicious. Service was impeccable. The dinning room was small and tastefully decorated in modern art.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pjacroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“For trendies”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The food was good but, because we never knew what was coming in the next course, it was an unsettling experience. Impossible to order a wine. Because my wife has some dietary restrictions, we both ended up with a limited palate of foods and flavors. I think green beans figured in 4 of the approximately 12 tastes we had. Location is blah, with little parking, although the interior is interesting. Service was good,

Upon leaving, I said "this place is meant for foodies." My wife replied, wisely, "It's for trendies."

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pugboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casianos also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Casianos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing