We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service, overcrowed and screaming loud!”

French Riviera Bistro & Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A hidden French treasure in the Historic Downtown and Art District of San Jose del Cabo, the best creations of French gastronomy, an eclectic mix of Mexican and international cuisine... highlight the beauty of the place, a romantic and chic mix, if you are looking for quality, French Riviera on the place!, a restaurant like few in Los Cabos, more than fifteen years of tradition distinguish us...
White Rock BC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slow service, overcrowed and screaming loud!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have been in this restaurant at least 4 times. The following items are common to all four visits.
The men's restroom is usually locked. The service is very slow. You have to ask for a napkin, milk and sugar. They never give you a refil of coffee unless you chase someone down. We asked 3 times for the bill and finally had to get up from the table and move toward the door before they would bring us the bill.
One night we dropped by for coffee and desert. The desert was expensive and tasted like cardboard.
Inside the fumes from the street busses waft over your food when you get it. The place is stifiling hot.
The last time we sat by the bakery window to get away from the street fumes. We saw one employee (baker) pull our his sharpening tools from his black bag, set the old dirty bag on the pastry table where they mechanically roll the dough, and then put it back on a cookie rack. The bag was dirty. That was enough for me. The food is over priced, and the tip is hidden in the bill. "So hence the poor service"
I mentioned to my husband that I will never go back there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronicaWhiteRockBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    109
    37
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA-USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good,but not great”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had not read any reviews about this cafe but decided to give it a try as we were in overload on mexican food by day five. First the service was alittle spotty but in all fairnest, they were pretty busy at lunchtime.
My wife and I both had different crepes(mine the french riviera) and they were good but not great.
Not nearly as tasty as I expected, but acceptable. However the bakery/dessert portion of our experience more than made up for the entrees. I would suggest trying any of their desserts, as we ate one each while we were there and took two different ones to go. Also my wife who is a baked goods NUT bought 4-5 items from the bakery for snacks, said later that they all excellent.
In all, we would give the French Riviera another try when we're in San Jose.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martingiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
738 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“went back three times.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

during the week we stayed at a timeshare in san jose, we bought bread here twice and stopped for a late morning treat. a surprise to find a large almost european-feel type bakery/cafe. excellent bread. attractive room. busy. will go back when we return another year.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful :)”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

the french bakery was awesome ... giada delaurantis recomended it also , the gelatao, bread , coffee rolls, wonderful...you can also have dinner there... it is in the piazza in san jose :) don't miss it

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CiaoCiao8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A great find in a sea of tourist restaurants”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were looking for a nice lunch spot - without touts at the door and blaring music - this was a total find.
European style - and great quality food and service. We will return before we leave.
Meals are average price for San Jose and yes the tip is included - but - with food and service this good you might be tempted to tip more!

Go and enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingCdns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Riviera Bistro & Bakery also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to French Riviera Bistro & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing