We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Under the Stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meson Del Angel - CLOSED

Meson Del Angel
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun Under the Stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had been to Angel's a few times on our last trip and made it a point to return this year. The tiny restaurant with an open air roof is friendly and flavorful. The mojitos and cocktails are the highlight with the personal table side preparation. The waiter will give you a lesson in how to make the drink and then top it off with his signature body shake that's just hysterical. The food is simple and flavorful. A fun night with live music too! Worth the trip

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RedShoesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    67
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“One of the 3 best in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Four of us went for dinner. Two of us have made 8 visits to San Jose, and this was our 4th visit to this restaurant. The most outstanding thing about this restaurant, I think, is the feeling of personal service. There were statues of angels and portraits of St. Michael at this "House of "On hull" as they pronounce "Angels." Alberto made our mojitos at tableside. When asked where he got the blueberries, he answered "Costco". Food began with chips and bean dip or salsa. Tortilla soup and calimari for appetizers; we liked both. We had chicken with mole sauce (good if you like chocolate), grilled flounder (excellent), and grilled marinated flank steak (outstanding). 2 tableside guitarists, one sang. A complementary slice of chocolate-strawberry cake to finish. They offered to call a taxi and hugged the ladies as we left. We visited with 2 other couples at 2 adjacent tables. Most of the restaurant was filled before we left at 8 p.m.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bugdr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seriously a place you can't miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The first time I came here was around 3 years ago when the experience was absolutely fantastic. My family and I loved the service, food, AND especially their B&Bs (Blueberry and Basil mojitos). They make it front of you and it's a fantastic experience.

My family and I went back to Cabo in early December and we again went to this place; seriously, it's one of our favorite places in San Jose del Cabo. Not only were we greeted by the owner who recognized us right as we were getting out of the cab, but our dining experience was fabulous, the food was always splendid, AND we got another exquisite demo of the coffee flambee by a man named Ulysses. The food here is amazing, the service is amazing, everyone here is super friendly and nice, and overall, the experience is always memorable.

Try a double portion of the squid appetizer as your entree. It's something you can't miss. And don't forget about their B&Bs. You won't ever forget it, even after years of not having gone back to San Jose.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Not what we expected!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We judge this restaurant by the great reviews and we woefully disappointed. This is not a " foodie" experience! A very sweet wait crew, but really, " blueberry Mojitos"? This was not even close to what my wife and I expected. We are from Ny and maybe our expectations we too high, but we did eat at several other places and we found the food to be much more authentic and inventive. It seems like there is a food scene going on in San Jose, just not at Meson Angel.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samuel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great if you are a large group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

There is plenty of room for a large group under the stars and the staff can handle a group well. Some of the meals in our large group were a little cool but they delivered them all at the same time. I love to drink white wine with dinner and chose a bottle of pinot grigio only to find they had one offer of pinot grigio and it was the more expensive bottle, and they refused to upgrade me. Considering we were a large group buying many drinks I thought it was a courtesy they should offer. We enjoyed outselves but we all agreed that although a good dinner, it was not our favorite in San Jose.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Del Angel also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing