We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meson Del Angel - CLOSED

Meson Del Angel
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
662 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

our last night in san jose and art walk night, so we made reservations. we were seated outside, under the stars, 3 tables already occupied. impeccable service. i had a delicious snapper, my husband's enchiladas were good but a bit too much sauce. the blueberry mijoto preparation was terrific. we declined dessert and were given a complimentary small slab of a delicious chocolate dessert. a marvellous dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    67
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VANCOUVER
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pleasant dinner experience in San Jose del Cabo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Charming Patron ,Headwaiter and staff.Simple but charming decor.Food good but not great.All in all a pleasant charming experience ,would definately return but would not be racing back.enjoy

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 10814BRNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very good food and good service in San Jose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I ate here a few weeks ago. Parking was a little difficult, but th owner was very helpful in solving that problem.

The decor and ambiance in the restaurant were very nice. It had the typical mariachi band that was pretty good, and not too annoying if you said "no."

We had great drinks- a new concoction for us that we just discovered here, and very highly recommend. It is the blueberry basil vodka Mojito. The drinks were made at the tableside, which made for a nice presentation. I must warn you- they are so good, you can't drink just one! We have even made them a few times since returning home, they were that good!

I got the lamb shank and my husband got the pollo con mole. Both were delicious. We both had enough left over for lunch the next day- huge portions! Highly recommend this place when in San Jose del Cabo!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Charming with interesting menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stopped here after a recent Gallery Walk (Thursday evenings in winter). We were treated very well by terrific staff. Not overly impressed with the cocktails prepared table side (you'll get tired of hearing the same spiel every time someone orders a drink). Guacamole is chunky and good. Skip the calamari. Fresh fish was good, mole was much too sweet for our taste. Try one of the old-fashioned specialties, like meat stuffed with all sorts of sweet and savory goodies and spices.
Not our favorite meal, but not our least favorite either. We liked the rustic indoor-outdoor set-up, and service was great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We loved everything about our visit to this restaurant. The atmosphere was wonderful, the staff and service 'over the top' and the food delicious. A true gem in San Jose! You have to try the blueberry mojito...I may have to go back to get another before I head home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bulldog1565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Del Angel also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing