We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Cabo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Worldmark Coral Baja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We just came back from our second time at this resort. The first was for 10 days in 2007 and this time we were there for 6 days over New Years. We had a great time both stays. The beach in San Jose is beautiful. Mama Mia's onsite is decent but not a tonne of choices - but I highly recommend the guacomole. Cabo in general is quite Americanized compared to other Mexican destinations. Prices are also on par with US and Canadian prices. Since 2007 a Walmart has been put in close to the resort with cheaper prices and better food safe santiation than the closer Mega mart.

The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable - go for the ocean view! All units have a dishwasher, blender, full kitchen and washer/dryer. Helps to save money.

There are nightly events at the restaurant but quite time is 10:00pm. Happy hour at the pool bar is 2-4 and 4-6 in the sports bar. Bar staff are quite friendly. Front staff are polite but slow.

Spend some time lying on the beach looking at the stars.

For nightlife and shopping head into Cabo San Lucas via taxi or a cheap bus ride. El Squid Roe is our favorite bar in town, and we also like Cabo Wabo.

For a bit more authenticity, rent a car and head to Todos Santos (art town with the Hotel California) and/or the capital of La Paz.

Room Tip: Ocean View 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccormack_hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 306 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2011

1) If vacationing in complex separated from "real" Mexico by a highway, but across the street from an Applebee's, Domino's and a Subway is your idea of a vacation, you might like this place.

2) As far as I could tell, most guests were interested in wading in the warmed pool with mixed tropical drinks for the large part of the day. The Coral Baja had a "DJ" who screamed out bingo numbers daily, followed by even louder water aerobics music. It made it difficult to read or even listen to your own tunes. On two nights, they had live music and a DJ that went until 10:00. The entertainment was a Rock and Roll cover band that sang in English and a DJ that played mostly dance music (to no one!). The music blared so loud that you couldn't even hear the waves.

3) The onsite restaurant is convenient, but terrible. We ate there twice and were disappointed both times. I heard the pizza was good, but during our week there, it was never available. You are better off going into San Jose or eating at the two Gringo owned places by the highway.

4) For kids, they have some sand toys, some pool toys, but no other activities. The pool is the only place they want to be anyhow. The surf in front of the hotel IS NOT for kids, although I had a blast in the head high swell. Zippers surf break is within walking distance.

5) The renovations were loud and typically finished around 6:00, not the 5:00 we were told. Also we were not told that renovations were going to be happening on our floor prior to our arrival. Upon stepping out of the elevator we had to walk over ceramic tile shards, dust and other construction debris. Our daytime quiet was ripped apart by jackhammering of concrete, hammering out of old sliding glass doors. Fantastic! For our trouble, we were given a $50 resort credit and told we could get a discount on our NEXT trip to Coral Baja. Joy.

6) On the plus side, the grounds on the beach side of the resort are very nice, plenty of palapas and chairs. The workout facilities are also nice, with two recumbent bikes, two ellipticals, three treadmills and free weights. Staff is nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I just returned from my 4th stay at this property. It always delivers the same experience - a good one! First - the staff. Courteous, all locals with terrific language skills and never pushy trying to sell more points and Worldmark add-ons. Front desk bank gives a good exchange rate off dollars or credit cards. When Mom needed medical assistance for a viral infection she caught on the plane down to Cabo, they had a doctor visit her in the condo and then called every day to check on her health. The medicines cost more than the personal doctor visit, very reasonable for a house call.

Our first year we stayed in a ground floor one bedroom condo with a Murphy bed in building 3. Very nice but the next year we upgraded to a 2 bedroom unit to have more space, and on the 2nd floor of building 2. The master bedroom is very large with a king bed, a private bath with big shower and plenty of counter space. The 2nd bedroom has 2 twin beds, a 2nd bathroom with a good size shower and generous counter space.

The kitchen is well appointed, plenty of pots and pans, colander, utensils and even a mixer. Seasoning packets, coffee, tea, creamer and sugar are waiting for you and available at the front desk to replenish. Toaster, microwave, tea pot, more than enough glassware and plastic pool cups. Dishwasher and fridge with ice machine. My only complaint is with the knives - good steak size, but the chef knives are poor. Good quality towels in kitchen and bathrooms. Washer and dryer. A Murphy bed too, so that allows up to 6 in this unit. Ceiling fans in the bedrooms and main room, one climate control panel for the entire condo.

Dining table seats 4, big sofa and two large end chairs with a coffee table. Flat screen TVs will soon be in all the units, though not in 228 during our stay last week. DVD and CD player. The deck is the entire width of the condo, with another table for 4 under a shade roof, that extends out for a sunny morning experience. Sliding doors off the master bedroom and the main room to the deck.

We like building 2 because it faces the pool and the ocean, and gets a bit more morning sun time because there are fewer trees in front of it. The groundskeepers are busy in the morning scrubbing and trimming, everything is always neat as a golf course and just as green.

The maids do it all - change the beds, do dishes, scrub baths and floors, take out the garbage, and restock everything from papertowels to laundry soap. We always tip the maid, they work for pennies and a 50 peso bill means a lot to them.

There's a lending library for DVDs and book exchange, good computer center, and WiFi service in the unit available for less than $5 a day. I've seen the workout room, but never walked into it. There are unisex bathrooms on the ground floor in the main buildings nearest the pool.

There is one restaurant, a swim up bar, and activities that start at noon. The activity director keeps it fun with games for drinks, water aerobics, and pool volleyball. On most evenings, local craft vendors set up tables and we have bought many things over the years. There's one artist that makes lovely jewelry from sea glass. Another in metal art, leather masks, and of course a good selection of things ranging from vanilla to ID bracelets. Live music during the dining hours - usually 60's and 70's soft rock, or very pleasant local acoustical arrangements.

There are two little stores and two restaurants in a two minute walk. For a $7 cab ride go to the Mega Market and stock up on everything you might need - it's a full service department store with a pharmacy, meat and seafood counter, wonderful bakery, full liquor and wine department, clothes and hardware, and even electronics. The public bus stop is close by, though we've never used it. If you want a USA dining experience, there are several within walking distance, just across the main road. We recommend the small restaurant that's by the resort taxi stand - it's run by an Oregonian cooking both traditional and American cuisine for a very reasonable price.

The property is closer to the San Jose Del Cabo end of the corridor, which we like. We never go into Cabo San Lucas, which is a $35+ cab ride one way. To go to San Jose it's only $8.00 and there is plenty of low stress shopping, a good selection of restaurants and a piazza that has live entertainment on the weekends. You can arrange for paid shuttle service to and from the airport and resort.

The beach is wide, broad, very clean and perfectly safe to wander day or night. The ocean is not swimable. At the far end (about a 15 minute walk) there is a break and you'll see surfers on a modest wave. Very few beach vendors, and all low pressure; they are not allowed on the property.

I always get plenty of sleep, sun, and relaxation when I visit the resort. A perfect vacation for me!

Room Tip: We like building two, and get up off the ground floor, for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank trvlfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Me and my partner traveled to this beautiful location as first time owner's and had a wonderful time. Aside from the renovations currently underway (GREAT for owners and members of Worldmark), our stay was a memorable one. Weather was gorgeous, resort is clean, staff is friendly and very helpful. Resort restaurant (Mama Mia's) has a nice selection of entree's at a reasonable price and the restaurant within a short walk (Sardinia's) has also a GREAT selection for a fair price. Since our room and most rooms at the resort have full kitchen's we walked to MEGA for groceries and food. Got a weeks worth of alcohol and food for about $85.USD. Use your credit card to get the BEST exchange rate.

Resort pool was clean and pool deck was washed down daily...swim up bar 2 for 1 happy hour is fabulous all the while your meeting delightful people up and down the west coast enjoying fun in the sun and pool volleyball.

One of the BEST things we did was buy alcohol 2 for 1 on our way down from Seattle at the Duty-Free store. That by far was the BEST deal for alcohol on our trip. MEGA and the local stores have a small selection but will ding you for resort prices and convenience.

Be sure to head into San Jose de Cabo on sundays . They have a roof-top bar called SHOOTER's where you can dine on cheap beers and food while watching all the football you desire. A guys heaven while the ladies shop the small local stores and sample tequila from local vendors.

We will return to this resort.....talked to a lot of owner's and they really enjoyed there stays here. If you haven't been, put it on your list....

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jazzygrl206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We only stayed here one night (stayed with relatives who are members). We really liked it. fun pool and beach. Friendly staff and walkable to the edge of town for groceries/etc.

Great resort!

Room Tip: if you get a ground floor room you'll be able to have members of your party go back and forth fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boskone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I are owners and visited for the first time to celebrate his birthday. We were in a 1 bedroom with a wonderful view of the ocean. We were not impressed with the on-site restaurant (overpriced for mediocre Mexican food) but we did enjoy the band they had one night. The Mega is just a short bus ride away and is very convenient to stock up on groceries. The pool was big enough and stayed open late. The resort is very clean and all of the employees were friendly and helpful. The only negative is the ocean in front of the resort is not swimmable. Overall, we enjoyed our trip and the resort, but we prefer to stay closer to Cabo San Lucas for our next trip.

Room Tip: Building 1 faces the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeahBelle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The service was phenomenal. The decor simple, but very clean. Nothing was fancy about this place, but that is how I like to travel - simple, low-key, accessible, friendly. Everything was at the resort that I would need, even activities and spa services. I left to take a snorkel tour they offered, which was wonderful, and to walk into San Jose del Cabo a couple times, which was a sweet little town, walkable with shopping and restaurants, pleasantly not touristy. I look forward very much to going back and taking my family.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
1.2 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,824 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
4,546 reviews
2 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#25 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
353 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
4,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worldmark Coral Baja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldmark Coral Baja

Address: Km 29.4, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in San Jose del Cabo
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Worldmark Coral Baja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark Coral Baja Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Worldmark Coral Baja Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing