We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Hilton/Club Casa Dorada!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose del Cabo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2009

This is a fabulous resort! We spent the last week of October here and did not want to leave. We debated about staying in Cabo and are so glad we didn't. If you like to relax and swim in the ocean this is the place. We loved the pool, beach, pelicans, view, happy hour, pizza, and service. The room was a little dated but clean. We had a studio so the kitchen was limited but worked well for breakfast and a few dinners.

The only negative is the high cost of food and drinks. As a timeshare guest (we traded through II) you will receive 20% off , deli and happy hour excluded, which helps. A tip is to take the bus to the Mega in San Jose for groceries and return in a cab.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank alavio15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 95 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2009

We just returned from an almost perfect week in Cabo.

It's the Hilton with All the Perks

On the first day we settled in to our nice one bedroom unit. Like the other posts say, Club Casa Dorada IS the Hilton Los Cabos. It's a different wing of the hotel, but you would never know it unless someone told you. The check in was done at the same reception desk that the hotel guests use and all of the same amenities are available to the timeshare folks like roomservice, bell service, spa, daily maid service including turndown, kids club, pools, gym, etc.

20% Discount

Timeshare people - even those who trade in through II - get a 20% discount card to use at the hotel. We thought that these services were outstanding for a timeshare as we're used to more limited cleanings and fewer amenities at the other timeshares we've stayed at. The service level was even better than at the Marriott Vacation Club places we've traded into.

Unusual Couch

The counters and the floors are marble. There is a round table that seats four people next to the sliding window. There's also an interesting bed/couch that slides out in a way I've never seen. The bed part is seperate from the couch headboard and it slides out to create a full bed. The back half of the mattress is concealed under the kitchen counter. This is a nice design because it's a regular mattress that is more comfortable than a folding sofa with the springs and hard metal frame.

Luxurious Bath

The bedroom had a large comfortable king bed, a marble table and an armoir with TV. The bath had a huge jacuzzi tub and giant shower. There are also two closets. There was wireless internet for $10 a day that I used several times.

The Hurricane

After settling in on the first day, we were chatting with the timeshare activity coordinator and she casually mentioned that a hurricane was coming into town the next day. Uh Oh!! We knew that was a possibility during hurricane season, but were surprised since it wasn't in any forecast we had seen the previous day. She told us to stay put and not to worry. But the next day, we found a note on our bed from the Hilton management suggesting that all guests try to get out of town as soon as possible.

We called our airlines, but were unable to reschedule.

Kudos are due to the Hilton staff. We watched as they methodically prepared for the hurricane by boarding up windows and setting up barriers. They closed the restaurants and pool and all guests were told not to go outside.

Then they set up a buffet in a windowless banquet room. It was as nice as a wedding and we got to meet other guests. I felt like one of those first class passengers in the movie "Titanic" who lives it up while the boat is about to sink. They also set up a banquet room for kids with movies and games and another banquet room became the bar and lounge.

So with the wind howling outside and the rain pouring, we ate and drank and mingled. The lights briefly fizzled out but then the generator kicked in and the merriment continued.

The next day, we learned that the hurricane was reclassified from a 4 to a 3 and was headed in the other direction. Whew! Again an army of hotel workers quickly and efficiently removed the boards, replaced all the pool furniture and by 4pm everything was back to normal. We were truly impressed by the efficiency and professionalism of this crew.

Casa Dorada is Being Phased Out

We were blown away by the quality of this place and I was interested in buying until I learned that this timeshare is being phased out. I was told that the Hilton people don't want Casa Dorada anymore. I imagine that they want to set up a Hilton Vacation Club there?

Therefore the current CD owners are being offered incentives to sell and move to another CD property. We were told that there are currently only 36 Casa Dorada rooms left.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank divekaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

For those that have trouble finding information on this property, it is the Hilton Los Cabos. For some reason Interval Internatl. and others won't advertise it that way. Club Casa Dorada is one wing (completely attached) of the Hilton resort that is timeshare units as opposed to hotel rooms an suites. All services, including check-in, are handled by the Hilton, although they won't provide HiltonHonors points for all the dollars spent on the property if you're staying in a timeshare unit.
The pool areas, beach and overall property are beautiful. The lounge chairs by the pool and beach were wonderfully comfortable mattresses on reclining wood frames, in addition to a few large beds set up with canopies. The outdoor areas had an attentive wait staff assisting with towels, drinks and food.
All food we ordered was excellent and the staff at El Meson prepared a special 20th anniversary dinner the day after the Hurricane Jimena threat. The resort staff responded very well to the threat, communicated frequently with guests and did their best to assure us we'd be safe. After the threat, they quickly had operations running smoothly again.
Our critiques are the following. The Club Casa Dorada suites have very small living room areas and the couch was worn, torn and completely uncomfortable - even for sitting and watching TV. If guests are planning to sleep on that couch, I can't imagine it would make for a good night sleep.
While the restaurant and pool wait staff were very attentive and responsive, I contacted Casa Dorada guest services and others at the front desk five times regarding a strong odor in our suite, resembling a sewage problem. No one responded to my requests except for someone spraying air freshener once. One front desk person indicated we couldn't be moved yet the resort was at about 25% occupancy (or less as reported by one staff person). The complaints were made immediately upon check in and continued for the next 24 hours, well before the Hurricane threat began so that couldn't be used as an excuse.
The other critique for us is that the resort does not offer a shuttle service into Cabo or San Jose. A one-way cab ride to Cabo is $25 and $20 to San Jose. We started feeling a bit locked-in due to the additional expense of getting off the property. While the bus is an option (during day light only) some folks reported waiting more than 45 minutes for one to arrive.
Since it was challenging/expensive to get to grocery stores, we'd have preferred a larger selection, at more reasonable prices, at the deli store on-site.
Overall, we would recommend this resort, if someone was going to Cabo. Having been to Cancun and Playa del Carmen multiple times, we truly prefer that area over Cabo. The time share sellers and street/beach vendors in Cabo are extremely aggressive and overwhelmingly annoying. They come at you in hoards and won't leave you alone, which really detracts from the overall vacation experience. While there is some of that in Cancun and Playa, it's far less intrusive and frequent. We also believe it's less expensive than Cabo. We own a timeshare at the Royal Islander in Cancun and believe the Royal Resorts truly set the standard for service and amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graheks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

After much searching, we finally discovered that the Club Casa Dorada Spa and Golf Resort IS the Hilton Los Cabos Beach and Golf Resort! Unfortunately, Interval International does not provide that information. In an attempt to find pictures of this resort (timeshares), we finally discovered that they are one and the same and NOT Dreams (which kept coming up when we searched for Club Casa. Confusing.

Hotel: The Hilton at Cabo San Lucas/Club Casa Dorada is gorgeous. It is, actually, in San Jose de Cabos - north of Cabo. And, it is definitely worth the stay. We stayed in a timeshare via an II exchange. The hotel rooms are very nice but are the same size as rooms in most hotels which might be confining for a week. The timeshares are much larger though not as nicely decorated as the hotel rooms. The hotel has all of the amenities of a five-star hotel. The service is wonderful and the wait staff is most accommodating. They are "at your beck and call" and make it their job to take good care of you.

Rooms: The timeshare rooms are fine - large but in need of some decorating touches. Some reviews said they were "tired-looking;" however, we found them to be fine. With just a little bit of decorating - just a little bit - they would be improved quite a bit. Despite that, the floors and bathrooms were all marble, and the counters were granite. We had two full bathrooms with all of the amenities, and the master bath had a jacuzzi tub. There was a kitchen with a refrigerator and stove - no oven. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The maids cleaned the room three times a day - always replentishing the towels. There was turn-down service at night and really clever towel "art." The bed was very comfortable. No complaints at all except that the room could have stood some decorating. We had a gorgeous view of the smaller pool area and the ocean. All timeshares have a balcony with chairs and small tables. And, all timeshares are exactly alike.

Golf: The golf course here and the courses elsewhere are beautiful; however they are expensive. Plan on at least $120 for 18 holes unless you can find some kind of special.

Food: We found the food to be very good. There is a wonderful sushi bar down by the smaller pool. (There is, also, a larger infinity pool.) The breakfast buffet is delicious, and the staff was more than willing to charge a smaller fee for a continental breakfast if you didn't take hot foods. The staff was very accommodating and made an effort to know what your likes and habits were such as coffee and a newspaper first thing in the morning. We did venture into Cabo one evening for dinner. That was fun, but plan on spending at least $25 each way when you take a cab from the Hilton (or any locations in San Jose) down to Cabo. Try to time that with a tour that you might be taking so that you can be dropped off downtown; then you only have to pay for a cab back.

Bars: Very nice bars with great drinks. There is Happy Hour every afternoon, and there are two swim-up bars, one at each pool. Very nice touch.

Swimming: Swimming in the ocean isn't recommended there. The water is very rough and there is a serious undertow. Walking on the beach and venturing in just a bit is okay. One young person had to be rescued from the ocean while we were there. It's rocky and rough; use the pools. There are at least three.

Spa: Great spa with extras included in the prices. You won't find Mexico prices for the spa treatments but there are extra touches that come with the treatments that aren't mentioned in the descriptions, making them a bit more reasonable.

Overall, this was a wonderful place. It is first class with service to match. Our only criticism, and it really wasn't so much a criticism as a suggestion to the Hilton, was that the timeshare rooms needed just a little bit of decorating to make them much more attractive. This is a quieter hotel, and it's away from the college crowd or younger crowd that hangs out down at Cabo.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tarilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We just got back from our Cabo trip. We stayed at the Club Casa Dorada time shares which are part of this Hilton Hotel in the Corridor between San Jose Del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas. The property is lovely with very good beach access, just a short walk down some stairs and you're on the beach. The kids club (Vacation Station) is terrific, Imelda (the kids club employee) arranged different crafts each day plus afternoon movies.

The food was excellent at all the restaurants. Club Casa Dorada guests get 20% off on all food. Go for the breakfast buffet at El Meson, it's delicious and a great value, particulary for the kids (free for our 4 yr old, $9 for the 8 yr old)

If they hit you up for the time share presentation, you can kindly decline and they won't hound you.

Bring your own blowdryer, the ones in the room are ancient and don't work well.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed in the 1 bedroom timeshare unit. The resort is Hilton plus timeshares. The room was fabulous overlooking the pool and the infinity pool is so awsome! The poolside suishi is excellent. Housekeeping did an excellent job making decorations out of the towels every day. We took the local bus for $1.70 US per person to the Mega market to buy groceries. The only thing was it was off the beaten path for walking into town. Either taxi, rental car or bus transportation required. I book the horseback riding on the beach, through the conceige; great ride! They picked me up at the resort and brought me back. The resort was only 20%occupied because the swine flu scare. Fabuolous resort, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Club Casa Dorada Spa & Golf Resort is the Hilton Los Cabos Beach and Golf Resort. I guess they merge. It is beautiful, quiet, and relaxing. The weather was great in the mid 90's. The restaurants are okay. The Sushi bar by the smaller pool is great. We had the shrimp tempura rolls, no name rolls and the cabo spicy rolls. Excellent!!!! Had it three times. The decor is okay - mattress are soft didn't get use to it until the 4th day. The people at the resort are very friendly and helpful. If you are a timeshare owner you will get 20% discounts except for the Deli. We tried other restaurants in Cabo itself. The Lorenzillo's was overated. Romero and Julieta (Italian) was great. a little off the beaten path. The Office was great, nice atmosphere and great shrimp and loster omelette. Things to do - La Princesa - great sunset cruise see the arch, lover's beach, seal colony and the cabo night life. The best thing we did was the Swimming with the Dolphins at Cabo Dolphins. Money will spent, not too expensive, interact with dolphins and pics are great unfortunately you have to paid for them. Be careful of the taxi fare. Gets very expensive. Before you go to Cabo get transportation from the airport to hotel. At the airport you will be dealing with people asking to take you to the hotel or timeshare places. don't use them because they might take you to another timeshare place for a presentation. In all had a great time in Cabo. Recommend the hotel and place.

Stayed: October 2008
3  Thank primetime53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
4,550 reviews
6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,824 reviews
8.3 mi away
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
4,442 reviews
11.4 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 19.5, San Jose del Cabo 23447, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $186 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is one of the many Casa Dorada in Los Cabos area. Please note we are "Casa Dorada Spa & Golf Resort" located between both towns (San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas) at the area known as the Tourist Corridor within the Cabo Real area at KM 19.5. The Home Resort will allow you the access to their common areas such as the beach, two pools, spa, restaurants and bars. This resort is an European Plan, meaning that there is no All-Inclusive or Mean Plan Package available and food & beverages will be subject to an extra charge. All rooms are considered as Ocean View and the assignment of the rooms will be based on availability. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Casa Dorada Spa & Golf Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Club Casa Dorada Spa And Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing