We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be a better place, and a lot quieter.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Calif
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Used to be a better place, and a lot quieter.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is the third time we've stayed here in the past five years. We loved it before, as it was quiet, peaceful and restful. That's mostly why we come to Los Cabos- to rest and relax, quietly.

This time was a huge disappointment. The hotel, which is connected, booked a large group from MasterCard, which, on Thursday, not only took over our pool area (so that they could set up for an event), but had a huge, loud party with loud music under our windows until midnight. The group activities continued through the weekend, with bursts of loud music throughout Friday and Saturday. Why they could not have the party on the hotel side is unknown to me, but it appears the hotel would like to get rid of the timeshare part of the property. Though the resort called to confirm our reservation several times in the weeks leading up to our vacation, never once did anyone mention that there might be an inconvenience such as this during the time we would be there.

Of course the hotel is certainly free to adapt their business model, and go after the business of larger groups. However, to annoy and inconvenience an entire segment of their business seem to me to be a bad decision. Our decision is that we most likely will not be back.

Oh, and whatever happened to the WiFi that used to be free for timeshare guests? Now it's $10 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank berkfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    24
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
41
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Club Casa Dorada is part of the Hilton Hotel in Cabo. As a guest in Casa Dorada you get 20% off restaurtants and drinks at the Hilton, including the bars and food on the pool which are swin up bars. I loved the place and can't wait to come back. You can horse back ride on the beach, rent jet skies etc. but these activities are not affiliated with the hotel. The ocean in Cabo overall is not like the caribbean at all so you have to be very careful as it can be rough depending on where you stay. Here there is an area that you can swim but not too far in. The water is cold but not too bad. I love the warm water of the caribbean as I always go there but I love Cabo as well. The rooms were very comfortable, modern and super clean. The service was the best and the people who work there are the first class. Great or better yet excellent service from the guys at the pool like Miguel, Hernan and Jorge. Jorge calls himself "George of the Jungle" and comes around with books and popsicles every day. He is great and can book activities for you etc. The staff is first class. I travel a lot and I've been too many places but one thing for sure is that this place exceed my expectations. Guess who was there having breakfast next to me, Vicky from the show the The housewives of Orange County and her boyfriend on the show! What can I say, love this place and will definetely try to come again! Abril took care of us in Casa Dorada and she was great as well.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor. I think all the room have a view at Casa Dorada. The higher the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaElena24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California, USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed as Time Share guests last October and had a wonderful time. The hotel has lots of little touches we really appreciated. Both sets of pools were excellent, and nice lunches and drinks were available at the pools. There was a nice deli we could use for a light breakfast. Car rental was available on the premises, and the Concierge was really helpful in suggesting tours, commenting on restaurants, etc. And on the day we left we were able to shower and change into traveling gear at the spa for no extra charge. Three tips. First, when you arrive at the airport, go all the way through and ignore all offers till you reach the exit, where you will find a simple bus with no strings attached to take you to the hotel. That way you avoid all Time Share offers; no one bothered us once we arrived at the hotel. Second, the snorkeling tour to the National park north of Cabo is really excellent; it included swimming with sea lions and four snorkeling sites. Third, we used Trip Advisor to find restaurants in the area; all recommendations were useful.

Room Tip: Time Share rooms probably a bit more dated than other hotel rooms, but quite adequate for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet/George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Another amazing two weeks at the Hilton Club Casa Dorada in Los Cabos! This is the best resort hotel in Cabo! From the time you arrive until the time you leave, the service is impeccable. The hotel and its grounds are gorgeous and well maintained with attention to detail. Tim Booth, the general manager is always accessible and highly supportive of his staff.

The beach at the Hilton is one of the only swimmable beaches in Los Cabos where snorkeling, horseback riding, kayaks, boats, jet-skies and more are all available right at the beach. Cabo Real, one of the first and most famous golf courses in Cabo is literally across the hotel.

However, I want to specifically express in this review of the Hilton Los Cabos a point of view regarding the cost of the food at its restaurants, the only point of contention for some of the guests of the hotel, which otherwise would rate it a 5 out of 5.

I rate the hotel 5 all the way for the above reasons but also because, while I agree that the food is pricey, all of the restaurants in this hotel offer outstanding dishes with fresh, qualify ingredients, beautifully presented, using linen napkins and tablecloths and delivered by a highly professional, knowledgeable, and very attentive staff. The fish is local and fresh, the vegetables and fruits are organically grown in the area between La Paz and San Jose, all pastries and breads are baked at the hotel.

Bringing food into Cabo from mainland Mexico, using locally grown, organic foods are all expensive propositions. Yet, Mauricio Lopez, the Executive Chef of the Hilton restaurants, does not spare expense in the quality of the food he serves. The breakfast buffet exemplifies everything I am saying here. It is an amazing array of foods, all fresh and tasting as if made to order in a small quality kitchen. All that goes into the upkeep of the beautifully appointed facilities at the Hilton and its restaurants and the on-going training of its high quality staff is also costly.

The hotel also offers cheaper alternatives to the main restaurants such as the Deli, which serves fresh salads, sandwiches and other beverages. The poolside restaurants – La Barca and Madero, have pizza, sandwiches, sushi and other less costly meals.

I give the award-wining Hilton Los Cabos hotel and its restaurants a rating of 5 in all categories including its 5 star restaurants. They are the best that Cabo has to offer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was the first time at this resort and will not be the last. The staff is what makes the resort . They really are the best. I was told that the rooms are being refurbished and they appeared to be in needed of a makeover some years ago. With no oven just hot plates that worked most of the time. The kitchen is well stocked and have to say the rooms were very large and the beds were nice to sleep in.

Room Tip: higher floors are nice but stay away from the first and second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doc662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A wonderful start to our "chick" week with 5 friends in Cabo. We were greeted at the hotel with delicious icy margaritas. OUr rooms were ready when we arrived. We had booked two - one bedroom units on the 6th floor. They were not connecting as we wanted two kitchens and four bathrooms - the perks with 6 women.
We all walked into the first room to be greeted by multi baloons on the bed with happy birthday in rocks, a delicious birthday cake AND a bottle of champagne. A very special thanks to Dulcea (customer service) as it was a beautiful gift and very much appreciated.
The hotel has two large swimmping pools . All of the "timeshare" units overlook the lazy river which is a much quieter pool, with a swim up bar and more cabanas (free) available than the large infinity pool.
The hotel has some really great amenities by the pool. Each afternoon homemade popsicles are brought by, earlier they offer eucalyptus scented cold towels and suncreen. At the infinity pool they offer complimentary 5 minute back massages (recommend you tip as it's very nice) about 2 00 each afternoon. Both pools have swim up bars and limited menus for lunch.
Our hotel room had two full bathrooms, one with tub and separate shower and one with just a shower, huge amount of closet space. Living room with a very , very bad futon couch. We requested a cot instead and it worked out better for anyone staying up late or waking up early.
A full kitchen with basic amenities, but do have a toaster, blender and full size fridge so worked out perfect for breakfasts only. Note, that they do not have any condiments, paper towel or sharp knives so bring your own. Bedroom has king sized bed and room had two tv's that we never used.
We ate in all of the restaurants once only. Sushi at the lazy river swim up bar was delicious. Cocktails at the infinity pool were sublime. The Mexican Restaurant was lovely but so dark we couldn't see our menus without flashlights and quite overpriced for the amount of food.
The absolute highlight was dinner on the beach catered by the Italian restaurant in the hotel. We had our own private waiter that took care of every need . The meal was amazing and if you would like to do something special for someone I really do recommend it as the whole ambience is very special.
All in all the "timeshare" side of the property could do with a little upgrades especially the futon in the living room but the property itself is stunning , the beach is rough but swimmable for some although not this prairie girl. The best is that you can walk for miles unlike other Cabo hotels. Bus stops in front of the hotel for a 10 min ride to costco. We cabbed back (yes, they have taxi stands at costco) and it worked great. Went for dinner in both CAbo and San Jose del Cabo and it was 30.00 each way based on 6 of us in the van. A little pricey but really only 5.00 per person. Mia Casa restaurant in San Jose -mmm !!(see review).
If you are looking at a "time share" vacation I would REALLY, REALLY recommend this hotel. I was a travel agent for 25 years so I have had my share of "dud" hotels and this hotel is lovely.
Yoga on the beach 3 mornings a week is beautiful and the teacher is wonderful. (also complimentary) . Massages on the beach were lovely although try to go very early in the morning or at dusk as it is hot down there. (Not complimentary)
Okay, okay I've said enough. Go enjoy yourselves.

Room Tip: 6th floor had a great view of the ocean and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I came here in the summer with 5 other friends and was dropped off in the front entrance where we were welcomed to a Mediterranean/Spanish style restaurant that looked out to the infinity pool and ocean.
We had two rooms connected to each other. The larger of the rooms had a one bedroom with a connected bathroom, couch, dining table, fair sized kitchen and a huge bathroom. The smaller of the room had 2 queen size bed, a mini kitchenette and big bathroom as well. I thought for 6 people sharing the 2 rooms was perfect. If you're looking for a newly remodeled, modern timeshare this isn't the place. I was happy to see it was very clean and the place centrally air conditioned.

Outside of the rooms, the infinity pool is awesome but so crowded we found ourselves hanging out in the secondary pool for more privacy...this pool is narrow and nothing special about it but there is a swim up bar which served sushi and pizzas was pretty awesome...pricey but still really tasty...note the swim up bar closes early.

I really appreciated the privacy this place gave, we didn't see peddlers of merchants, neither were we bothered by the locals at the beach. The hotel is about 20 minutes away from town and there's a shuttle you can take for 6 pesos one way.
If you're looking for peace and quiet with no big families and loud kids its worth being away from town. During a pick up for an excursion we had to stop by hotels closer to town and it was crazy and chaotic.

There is a breakfast buffet and personally I thought it was pretty good. If you have to choose between a plated breakfast or buffet I would definitely take the buffet option because I saw the servers basically plating the same food and charging $2 less (versus all you can eat--fruit, omelet bar, tons of pastries, exotic and tasty juice bar, etc, etc). If you can eat out in town versus staying at the hotel for dinner--from what i recall there's 3 different price tiers of dining options (buffet was cheapest) and for our last night we ate at the middle option and it wasn't very good.
If the purpose of your trip is to have a peaceful, quiet time to just relax by the pool and soak in some sun stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank place-name-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.4 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,818 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradisus Los Cabos
Paradisus Los Cabos
#10 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosew...
#2 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,033 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa
Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa
#18 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 19.5, San Jose del Cabo 23447, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Specialty Lodging in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is one of the many Casa Dorada in Los Cabos area. Please note we are "Casa Dorada Spa & Golf Resort" located between both towns (San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas) at the area known as the Tourist Corridor within the Cabo Real area at KM 19.5. The Home Resort will allow you the access to their common areas such as the beach, two pools, spa, restaurants and bars. This resort is an European Plan, meaning that there is no All-Inclusive or Mean Plan Package available and food & beverages will be subject to an extra charge. All rooms are considered as Ocean View and the assignment of the rooms will be based on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Casa Dorada Spa And Golf Resort
Club Casa Dorada Spa & Golf Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing