We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming atmosphere but disappointing food”
Review of Voila Bistro - CLOSED

Voila Bistro
Price range: $25 - $65
Cuisines: French, Mexican, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Voila is now permanently closed, thank you for your patronage over the last several years.
Tarrytown, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Charming atmosphere but disappointing food”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Quaint place that had live jazz music but the service was spotty at best. They seem to cater to certain tables but not all. We went without reservations but were seated within 1/2 hour. Then it took us 10 minutes just to get menus. Food took well over an hour to be served after ordering it. Waiter was not knowledgable about the food since we specifically asked if onions were in the house special lobster burrito and he said no. However when it finally arrived there were raw onions chopped up. Food was average.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lymac2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    26
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in charming San Jose del Cabo”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

A nice find. Atmosphere very nice, romantic. We sat outside. Very quaint. Waiter was very nice. Helpful, knowledgeable, and really provided excellent service. The food was excellent as well. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Cuisine in San José's art district.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were a party of ten for dinner and there was not a single complaint about the food, service or ambiance. Speaking for myself and three others who enjoyed the Pacific Halibut - it was superb. Cooked to perfection and presented beautifully, the halibut was amazing and 'repeat worthy'. Highly recommend Voila!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonathanEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lunch on an off day?”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our visit to Voila Bistro was for lunch on a day when there was no art walk. The place almost seemed abandoned, with a couple of customers and no staff. It took five or so minutes to be noticed and then seated. And the attentiveness during the visit was similarly spotty. The food was generally good though only average overall. My tortilla soup was tasty. But too many tortilla pieces overwhelmed the soup. It would have been better with a third as much. I had the chicken chimichanga which I did not find on menus in other places we tried in Los Cabos. Its primary attribute was that it provided plenty to take home, which we did not do. My wife was ready for something different, and ordered the burger which she said was very good. Overall a bit of a disappointment as we chose it because of the Trip Advisor reviews, but I suspect we would have found it more fun at a busier time.

burger

tortilla soup

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank batesczsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant in arts district”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We've eaten at about a dozen restaurants in San Jose del Cabo in the past month, and this is a definite favorite. I had the most delicious sea bass encrusted with pistachios and macadamia nuts served on a bed of risotto. The courtyard is lovely, the sax music a delight (we even got in a couple of dances). This is a great place to dine on Arts Walk evenings--but be sure to reserve ahead.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadameCanard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voila Bistro also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing