We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Surprised...In a Good Way!!!!”

Tropicana Inn Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Surprised...In a Good Way!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife were going to venture outside the resort for the day into town and asked the concierge a good place for lunch, he recommended Tropicana. On the drive over, we checked Trip Advisor (which we have found to be very consistent with our actual experiences at restuarants and resorts) and discovered that several of the reviews seemed to indicate that the food was "so-so". We got a little worried and thought about trying someplace else, but you only live one, so we ended up doing the Tropicana. Tropicana is an "old school" Mexican style Restuarant (very formal on the inside) buy the patio was veery casual and the great weather made it a fun experience. The service was very good and prompt, and my wife ordered the Sea Bass special that day, and I had the spicy shrimp and we both had some ice cold Pacificos. The sea bass and shrimp were fresh and we remarked to the table next to us how good the food was, and the portions were decent as well. Although we realize others have had mixed reviews for dinners, this place was excellent for Lunch and we will do it again when we are back in Cabo.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kjpooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicana Bar G, Marketing Assistant at Tropicana Inn Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
*You said it all! Thank you for your high recommendations and beautiful description of your experience with us,

....and yes in your next travel to Los cabos we will be here to give you our best services.


Attentively
Hotel Tropicana Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    249
    73
    28
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The selections we made were awesome loved the shrimp and the catch of the day was amazing. It was a little bit spendy but was a lovely atmosphere for celebrating a special occasion. The wine suggested and the service were equally good, would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicana Bar G, Marketing Assistant at Tropicana Inn Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased with

your high criterion about the hotel,we work hard to provide you with our best

service and guarantee your visit each year.



Thanks again and of course we look forward to your visit soon of new.

Attentively
Hotel Tropicana Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Overpriced and not that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Went for the music which was good. But the food was just ok for the price. Coconut shrimp were cold and soggy. Tortilla soup was good but we had better food at less spendy places.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicana Bar G, Marketing Assistant at Tropicana Inn Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. your opinions are very important to us and we will take appropriate measures to give a better service.


Thank you for choosing the Tropicana Hotel and we hope you will visit us again to give you the better service with the best price.



Attentively
Hotel Tropicana Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old School with Musical Flair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spend an evening at Tropicana whenever we're in Los Cabos. I always order my favorite - Molcajete, with plenty of beer to wash it down. It's hard to say which we enjoy more - the food or the nightly entertainment. But the combination of both is a real treat.

Be sure to get there early enough to enjoy a leisurely meal and nail down a choice table for listening to the music, which generally starts around 7:30.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicana Bar G, Marketing Assistant at Tropicana Inn Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
*You said it all! Thank you for your high recommendations and beautiful description of your experience with us, We look forward to seeing you soon.


Attentively
Hotel Tropicana Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great music, beautiful restaurant, okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The restaurant was lovely. The blueberry mojito was awesome! Entertainment was extremely loud but talented. Service was attentive with decent food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicana Bar G, Marketing Assistant at Tropicana Inn Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We work hard to provide you with our best service and guarantee your visit each year.



Thanks again and look forward to your visit soon of new.

Attentively
Hotel Tropicana Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicana Inn Bar & Grill also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Tropicana Inn Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing