We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly a paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Nido at Hacienda Escondida
Ranked #4 of 28 Cabo San Lucas B&B and Inns
Lewiston, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

We are still basking in our wonderful memories of this place. From the time you arrive and step through the weathered wooden gate nestled under vines, you feel like you've entered a hidden garden of eden. There are trickling fountains everywhere, lovely multi-colored birds chirping in their cages, and so many little places to explore and appreciate. The furniture they've used throughout the courtyards and bedrooms is so beautiful, all lending to the feel of old-world Mexican charm. In the evening, it transforms into this cozy, romantic setting, with candles everywhere and soft lighting througout.

My husband and I traveled here with two other couples, and spent two wonderful days and nights here before moving on to spend another week at one of the cabo resorts. Our friends stayed in the palapa rooms, which were absolutely gorgeous. My husband and I stayed in one of the enclosed rooms, and it was also soo very lovely and peaceful. The beds were VERY comfortable, which was quite a shock to us having stayed on many of the harder beds in Mexico in past years. Our friends who stayed in the palapa rooms did comment on some rooster noise, but I don't think that ended up mattering too much at all. We also enjoyed the use of the rooftop garden. We used the rooftop jacuzi on both nights of our stay, relaxing with drinks and sharing stories of the day. And in the morning the ladies would put on our lush bathrobes (courtesy of El Nido), go get our tea or coffee, and sit up in the morning sun, enjoying the feel of it all while waiting for our breakfast call. And the breakfasts, oh my... I never expected such wonderful, made-to-order food. I regret that I only stayed there to enjoy two of the choices on Sochi's menu... they were all so wonderful!!!!

I think I could write another 10 pages on this place and the folks who run it. It was just too wonderful for words, and I can honestly say I've never been treated better in any other place I have vacationed. Sochi (I apoligize if I've misspelled your name), Gary and Jose, we just can't thank you enough for your hospitality and for all of the little things you did to make us feel at home. You 3 are such WONDERFUL people who really treated us like family. And of COURSE thank you for sharing your new little Ruso with us; for us dog lovers, he was a little slice of heaven!

This is a very VERY special place, and I would highly recommend it for anyone who wants to experience some real Mexican charm and beauty.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishstyx430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

My wife and I were recently planning a winter holiday to Cabo San Lucas, and during our research we found El Nido at Hacienda Escondida. This was the exactly the kind of place we were looking for, having stayed in B&Bs on our honeymoon in England. After reading over 40 reviews and not finding one negative comment, we decided to book our stay there.

All I can say is OMG! What a wonderful, wonderful place to stay! The hosts, Gary, Sotchie, and Jose are super, super friendly and make you feel right at home. Their 3 month old puppy Russo is adorable, and the breakfasts Sotchie and her assistant Lily prepared for us each morning are to die for, not to mention enjoying them in a beautiful courtyard with the serenading of budgies in the background!

This truly is an oasis in the desert! No phones, no TV, no internet - paradise if you want to get away from it all.

We are already looking forward to coming back next winter.

Here's a short video of the courtyard area:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dfTZthWqRc

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpg_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

Sochi, Gary and Jose have turned this quiet nieghborhood lot in to a slice of paradise. It would be enough to enjoy the beautiful room and common spaces but their hospitality makes it a cut above. You are truly made to feel you are part of the family. Sochi's breakfasts were the best food in town. Our room was spacious, beautifully appointed and had all the comforts of home. We chose the air conditioned room because we're very citified people. The palapas rooms were amazing and would be just the ticket for a romantic getaway. If you want to experience Cabo's culture, this is where you should stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citizenoftheworld55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

We spent only one night at El Nido but would recommend staying here longer if you plan on spending some time in Cabo and don't want to stay with hundreds of people on the beaches. This little place was an amazing surprise for us. The grounds were once a gravel parking lot that the owners built into this beautiful bed and breakfast. You feel as if it's been there for years wiith plants and trees growing everywhere! There is amazing tile work in the rooms, comfortable beds and the hosts are amazing!
We were greeted with cold Coronas and shown around the courtyard and to our room. We chose the more inexpensive route and got a bottom floor room. We were not disappointed. It was so quiet that we felt like we were the only ones there but found a few others at breakfast the next morning - which was totally traditional and delicious. I could see where renting this entire place for a group vacation would be ideal.
If you want to stay somewhere unique, away from the crowds with real character El Nido is where you want to be! If we go back to Cabo we won't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneMamaLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

While I was there I had this entire dissertation in written my head about all the amazing qualities of this place; but I just can’t put it all into words. The family who runs El Nido are the nicest people I have ever met… They sincerely care about your. The grounds and room are beyond charming and romantic. If you are into enjoying the true rustic beauty and charm of Mexico then without a question, this is the place for you. If you are into mega resorts with Olympic pools or high rise 400 room hotels where no one knows your name, then this is not a place for your. Two thumbs up and on a scale of 1-10 this place is a 12.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

Took three palapas rooms for our extended family and it was like staying in heaven! Gary & Sochi are amazing hosts! It's kind of like staying in a hacienda with a wonderful open-air courtyard filled with birds and flowers! Breakfasts to order every morning were homemade, authentic mexican breakfasts and out-of-this world delicious! Chicita, the dog, stays outside and welcomes you every time you come and go! Ruso, their inside dog, is a beautiful golden retriever that we got to see a few times, too. It felt like home, but with the beauty of Mexico. My only suggestions are not to come at the hottest time of year, like we did!! And be open to potentially hearing roosters in the morning! We rented a car to get to all surfing, ziplines, bungee jumping, etc. but you can walk to town from the hotel. Love this place and HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DogLover019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

My hubby and I just came back from staying a week at Hacienda Escondida in Cabo San Lucas and we had a GREAT time!! I didn't want our vacation to end. I was so sad to leave I almost cry :'( This B&B is like an oasis in the middle of the dessert, literally!! The place is beautifully decorated and feels like home, no wait, better than home!! Our hosts Xochy, Jose and Gary were wonderful and very helpful even before getting there, answering to all our questions about the area and what to do while in town. The breakfasts were awesome, Xochy is a great cook!! And the mangos.......oh the mangos!!!!! so many! We also did some BBQ in their grill, that was cool. We first stayed in a regular room, very beautiful, big and clean and then decided to move to a palapa with our own jaccuzzi. We loved it!! The palapas are all very private and sooooo romantic!! I would have stayed another whole week!! If you like cozy, homy and friendly environment this is the place for you to stay while in Cabo! We'll love to come back one day!! you can check a short video of the place here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VGJsDxiSVFg

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PalomaKia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#5 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.3 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nido at Hacienda Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido at Hacienda Escondida

Property: El Nido at Hacienda Escondida
Address: Road towards Sunset Beach | Blvd. Miguel Angel Herrera & Callejon el Dorado, Cabo San Lucas 2350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Nido at Hacienda Escondida 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed & Breakfast is located on a quiet cul-de-sac in old town Cabo San Lucas, three blocks away from the original town square and five blocks away from the Cabo marina. This authentically Mexican bed & breakfast has a total of six uniquely decorated rooms, as well as a restaurant and cantina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Nido at Hacienda Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nido At Hacienda Escondida Hotel Cabo San Lucas
El Nido At Hacienda Escondida Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing